Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Egyptian Labyrinth

by Logun - Compo Entry

~~ EGYPTIAN LABYRINTH ~~

EDIT : Post Compo with better controls (just change EDSF for classic arrows move, don't listen to the splash screen saying it is old silly EDSF keys) + Souces fixed.
EDIT² : .capx added.

TL;DR ?
Start with "A", move with "EDSF" (stupid choice, dunno why I did that), open doors with spacebar and put a torch on the floor with "J", restart by clicking on the stone panel.

~~ Description :
You have to escape from this Egyptian Labyrinth, before you get out of air (5min). Your only chance : find the Golden Key which will reveal and open the only exit door.

But you are lost in a shapeless labyrinth, a constiniously changing maze. How could you open that chest if you can't find it anymore when you finally get the key ?

Only the light of your torches can fix them. Put torches on the ground and continue to move. But there is not a lot of them in those ancients ruins...

~~ Pro tips :
1) Walk carefully in the corridors, pits are everywhere !

2) When you find a chest or the Golden Key, put a torch on the floor, and try to keep that light alive.

3) If you are out of torches, you will use your lighter. Not very efficient, but better that nothing. Try to find new torches on the ground ! (can't carry more than 10)

~~ Details :
- I don't know if the game is pretty easy or very hard. It could be very different from one game to another. Didn't have many times to tweak it. Give me feed bacxk I will enhance it in post compo.

- Sometimes the game bug when you die and restart, click in the center of the splash screen must help. Temporaly fix. Better is too reload your web page.

- I designed a logo and a proper splash screen, but hadn't proper time to put it in the game, so there is a very ugly starting text at the beginning.

-Some items appears twice. Will fix it in post compo too, you can stillf inish the game, just a bit easier ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#371Audio3.00
#371Mood3.14
#533Innovation3.16
#599Overall3.16
#685Graphics2.88
#692Fun2.95
#802Theme3.40

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

nice game!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

I like the mechanics of the game. Found the control a bit "harsh", as I died many time just by getting *near* a pit. Overall a nice little game you have here !

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

i liked the concept, but found that the music was a bit jarring as it sounded more Latin than Egyptian.

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

The only thing i don't like about this game is the odd controls. i died many times going to a pit while i want to go left.
Other than that, great job!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23am

This is the first game here that I played for so long.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice, but very hard. Single mistake and you're done.
Also, looks like I found a bug: I managed to find the key and the door, but the key disappeared from my inventory when I tried to open it.
And another thing: You can't use that shout sound if you didn't make it. It's against the rules.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36am

I really like this one! Kept me playing a while.

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54am

@HolyBlackCat : It is a classic from sound fx : the wilhelm shout, totaly free and it was jut for the wink.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05am

Controls were odd, especially since you insist on having us press A to start, I often lost immediately just because my fingers automatically went in the wrong keys. If you want it to be AZERTY proof, give the option to use the arrow keys next time, especially since you don't use the mouse.

Otherwise the game is simple, solid and fun.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31am

I love the scream XD Nice game. Very nice on lighting.

P.D: Sorry. I've made op-out the ratings of my game by error :-( You can vote it now

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Great work in such a short space of time. =) I feel this would work even better in a grid format, this would also solve harsh control issues mentioned by others.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:35pm

This entry unfortunately suffers from the controls. More often than not, I found myself hunting for the proper keys, and after 2 fail-and-retries, the game wouldn't allow me to start it again. The concept is really good and mechanically its a solid entry. Well done!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Great game! I liked the idea of using torches to prevent rooms from being randomised, and the Egyptian aesthetic works really well with the concept of a shifting dungeon.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Cool game, loved the random room mechanic, really well made.

Sundry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice game! But the torch aren't really useful, are they?

Marcellus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

What you did in 48 hours is very impressive. the general mood of the game is very solid as the music perfectly fits the shadowy gameplay.

I thought the game was very hard at first, but once you understand you have to walk carefully, it's pretty easy.
It's an egyptian temple afterall, not a kindergarden !

rob1221 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

The torches didn't seem too useful to me. Maybe they don't last long enough.

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26am

Cool game! I really like the concept, but controls was a bit wierd.. :p

kts_kettek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

Ahh, very neat mechanics. Physics were a bit too stiff for my liking - audio did not work on Safari 5.1.10 for some reason.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice graphics, cool innovation. Good job overall!

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

nice thought

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05am

Fun game! The controls could be improved though, I often ended falling in a pit when entering a new room

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

Cool.

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

"EDSF"? Seriously?
Instead of that, Nice Game!

peejaygee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

Nice idea, I kept dying so dang quickly though.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

I like the searching aspect, and the continual randomness. I wish motion wasn't maintained between doors, but otherwise pretty cool.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

I like your game. The darkness effect is neat. The controls are a bit strange but I don't think its a big deal. I really don't like the scream. Its funny but I find that I don't want to hear it. It would be cool if it just went all dark or something :) The music is nice and soothing for Egyptian labyrinth exploration.

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice theme and graphics! But I do not like the controls very much

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

Controls were a bit funky at the start, but after that game became great. Great idea!

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

the shout when you pass a door too quickly his really fun. you have to walk carefully nice concept.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

When you enter a door sometimes you run immediately into a pit. The game could be a bit more forgiving there. Other than that, nice job.

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Neat concept, I like the randomness of the rooms if you don't have a light! For some reason I didn't hear any music though...

Rogerup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

Excellent game. ESDF is the best choice. http://use-esdf.org/

max_peabody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Definitely liked the concept, but I agree that it's a bit too easy to fall into a bottomless pit. Maybe it'd work better if you were unable to step past the edge instead.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

controls are a little funky, using esdf my hands ended up moving many times while moving and i ended up going left when meaning to move down. collision is a bit off too, kept falling in pits i was clearly not in.

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Pretty fun, i got really frustrated after getting both gems and then losing it on a tiny hole. also all you get for winning is a retry screen =/

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59am

First of all, I really enjoed the music. Seemed oriental enough to go with the mood. Graphics were minimalist but nice looking. I didn't like the controls, movement was harsh and I died a lot in a dumb way... Otherwise nice atmosphere and puzzle :)

Aisland says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

Brilliant idea! The game has fun, controls, adventure. I really like it.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

Good game.

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59am

The wilhelm scream was not made in the 48hrs. I'll remind you all assets must be made in the 48hrs.

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:02am

Nice game. I like the idea of walking around in the dark avoiding pitfalls.

freenek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Sources doesnt work properly, please fix that! Im extremely curious how you made it and i may find answer i was seeking for a long time (about level generation based on few "floors")

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I really like the mood of this game, as well as the main concept.

The torch\maze mechanic is really clever and interesting, adding a lot of fun to the game

It's a hard title, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. A little difficult to grasp at first, maybe even because of "uncommon" controls.

Has some minor bugs, such as: the game still runs on background sometimes, after you die and go back to the "intro\help popup".

Night says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Nice idea, but controls are not very handy. (EDSF? Why?)

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I like the shifting rooms, cool concept. I liked it, good job :)

freenek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Is it possible to share .capx? I thought you sent it when you meant sources. :P

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I quite enjoyed this! As many people commented, the controls are a bit iffy, but the game is fun and pretty solid.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice!

freenek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Thanks!

yuoruddo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:48pm

To be honest, I didn't enjoy it. Super weird button choices, literally doesn't do what it should. Putting torches down doesn't stop them from changing? I put torches in two rooms and after a while, the lit rooms changed as I moved through other rooms. Half the time, items appear on thin air. Got the golden key and it would disappear from my inventory when I left the room. Along with the extreme difficulty of avoiding the pits (momentum from the previous room will usually carry you into a pit), needs a lot of work.

LabOne says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:24pm

why not WASD?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]