Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Communications Control

by PapyPilgrim - Compo Entry

Welcome on board of the Lady-McBeth! Here is your post: I do the flying, and you will be my eyes and ears.
Ready? Let's roll


------------------------
What Kind of game is it?
------------------------
Paper Please meets Battlestar Galactica
You are the communications officier of a ship. No piloting, no laser shooting, no shield activating, no full throttling (is that even a word?)... Those are not part of your job.
Today's assignment is a standard patrol anyway.


--------------
Known problems
--------------
[Fixed] Forgot to disable the +/-/0 bindings that let you control the audio (those keys are used in the game). I might update my compo to fix that one

Lack of freedom : Since the testers felt completly lost, I felt it was necessary to progressivly unlock the features of the game. It gives the impression that the game is very railroaded (which can iritate some players) and it is true: this compo is nothing more than a tutorial. The post-compo version doesn't suffer from this, but that is not what you are supposed to rate, sadly ;)



------------------------------------------------
I-spent-most-of-my-time-on-it technical feature
------------------------------------------------
- Input parsing and contextual autocompletion (yes indeed, I wrote a mini language during the LD. Not the brightest idea)


-----------
Tools Used
-----------
Haxe and HaxeFlixel
Ash (Entity Component framework for haxe)
SFXR - audacity - KORG SP-280

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Theme4.37
#55Innovation4.08
#74Mood3.68
#233Overall3.54
#299Audio3.13
#515Fun3.12
#601Graphics3.02

Comments

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27am

very clever take on the theme

shasharala says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Ooo, I love it! Especially the parser! Gotta love tab auto-completion.

Awesome job.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

Ah so nice, 5/5 on the theme, really unique

Raxsus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Pretty interesting, but I didn't find it very fun.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38pm

cool, very solid gameplay, well done

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Solid gameplay, the story and gameplay were really well made! Fit the theme well and was fun. Could've had a deeper story, though I understand that you had the timelimit that hindered you. Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:45am

Clever interpretation, and a real neat little simulation, elegant and quite user-friendly with that TAB key. I quite like it!

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:52pm

This was fantastic - the only thing I really felt lacking was content, but the concept is really really good. With a little more content (and perhaps a little more control over things like going back to the galactica, it would be nice to do that sort of thing yourself rather than letting the game autoplay), you could definitely make something sellable. The audio is subtle, which enhances the mood greatly. The graphics were simple, but beautiful. The story was neat, there were a couple of typos, but it felt very polished. Good job.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Yes, really cool thing to use an actual DRADIS screen ;-)

Being a command line junkie myself, this was much to my taste!

Good work!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Can't seem to play either version of web (http://d.pr/i/15vgc)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Excellent use of the theme! I'm very interested in seeing where this could go! Good luck in your post-jam work!

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice, but really slow.

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice, but really slow. Anyway 5/5.

AMS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Awesome, I like the innovative gameplay, well done!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nicely done!
Took me a while to figure out what to do, but i really like the console style input!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:55am

Dude I love this game, I just played the compo version but now I'm gonna go through the most recent. I really liked the way the game didn't handhold which commands you used, it added a little mystery and trial and error. good work.

eforen says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:23am

I really like your implementation of the theme and your Parser Dat tab-completion man! Good job!

Shampop says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:45am

Really loved it ! Didn't hunderstand everything inmediatly, but after a bunch of time it became clear and it was really cool to play. Great job !

Valeour says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Very interesting idea, way outside the kinds of genres I like to play normally which may be the reason which whilst I found it pretty engaging I just didn't find it all that fun, certainly one of the most novel games I've played of this jam.

feiss says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:02pm

This is cool!! more complex than mine indeed, but similar in some way :D I love the mood, the sounds, and the polished gameplay of it. Great work!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Really neat game, the concept is cool and the graphics and sound are fantastic. I wish it didn't take as long to get into though. Also I'm having a weird issue with typing input not working everytime I press keys using Chrome and Mac. It may be something with my machine though.

Well done overall! It's certainly unique.

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Great take on the theme! The TAB key didn't work for me sadly, but I enjoyed the compo version to the end anyway :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:03am

It's a shame this is woefully short because it got me wanting more after the first mission. Definitely an entry that deserves to be worked on even further (heck if this comes out on Steam I'll buy it since I enjoyed Papers Please).

rjhunter says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:11am

Very interesting! I'm pleased you kept working on this, I want to see where the story goes.

I sometimes felt a bit railroaded (commands not working when I wanted them to, or they worked but interrupted the story). I'd prefer feedback like "command temporarily unavailable" than either of these outcomes.

Keep up the good work!

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:43am

Overall this was really great, I hope to see an expanded version of this. It could be quite interesting. I was surprised that even though it was through text your co-pilot felt like a friend. I'm so lonely. Good work!

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:46am

Pretty neat take on the theme. I see a lot of potential with this, depending on where you take it.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:29pm

As a command line lover, I just have to love this game! Very good atmosphere with really nice music. Definitely a different game! Very well done and I just got my feet wet by rescuing FRET-4 :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:16am

The Compo version is...not really much, to be honest. I was only following directions, and it didn't give me any freedom or leeway.

Frankly, I'm conflicted with it. It's an interactive fiction that uses commands to provide that technological feel, but the fact that every command is locked doesn't give me much interesting decisions or discover new, unimportant facts about the universe we live in. I'm fine with the interface as it is, but not so fine with the lack of control I have.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:38am

@rjhunter @omiya_games

First of all, thanks for the feedback: props to you for saying something more than "oh i like XX and YY ! good job"

I agree with both of you : The game is very low content-wise. I am actually quiet disapointed with what the compo turned up to be, but I didn't wanted to push rushed-and-broken features in... hence the post-compo version :)

As for the railroad part... Yes it is absolutly true. I felt it was necessary though. I had time to playtest it during the compo and every single tester felt overwhelmed and lost... I had to take them by the hand. Sadly this took a lot of time and I couldn't

So yes, the compo version is nothing more than a long tutorial and is very railroaded because of it. It was a deliberate choice on my part, and the mission I added in the post-compo version doesn't suffer from it since the way you react to a given situation is handled (you can totally disobey orders, and I handle it).

You can try other "command line" compos (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=38819 or http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=16086) for an exemple of the problem I was trying to solve: those compos are great, but only once you figured what you are supposed to do

alfadur says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:52am

This plays quite nicely, if a bit slow, I would definitely like to see more of it! Though it desperately needs a log if players are to make sense of what's happening in longer scenarios.

While not really compo-related, I played the new version for a bit, and it felt like there's room for putting the command line to more extensive use. For example, instead of scanning a ship's engine automatically, there could be a two step process: first scan the ship to discover its parts, then scan a specific part to discover its state.

Also, it won't let you run "INTERCEPT MC-BETH". :)

panda says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Very nice! And you even have tab completion, much nicer than my own text game! I like it, only wish that there was more content, and more to the story - I want to know what happens next! It would also be nice if it were less linear.

dunin says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:01pm

just played the compo version yet, nice idea (and so better with tab-key completion). I hope we are more free in the post-compo version (no time to test today)...

hexagore says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Original take on the theme. It does feel like there could be something to this if you continued developing, too. Parser seems to work really well.

One bit of constructive criticism might be that asking us to hide various ships... well we don't know which ships it's safe to hide. We don't know what we're supposed to be interested in or not. Probably better to start with only a few ships and get us to show things based on class of ships. "Show all the civilian ships" etc?

Otherwise very interesting.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Excellent game, I was stuck quite early though, is there a walkthrough somewhere ?

Backterria says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very well done!love it!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Really creative and fun game!! 5/5! Can't wait for the "commercial" game

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great one :D I felt really immersed for a text-based. Also, original take on the theme! TAB was a cool 'cherry-on-top'. I know this type of games isn't for everyone to enjoy, but it definitely caught me :) Cheers!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great concept! I can definitely see this turning into something really fun.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Really good idea that was definitely stymied by time. I'm pretty positive this will go far once you've built up on it more. I'm going to check out the post-compo entry later, but I wanted to make sure that I reviewed it.

Things were a little unclear as far as the commands go. You introduced the first few and that was nice. Hopefully in the future you'll have a mission that forces the player to utilize all of them as a tutorial of sorts.

Obviously that's not something I expected you to have done in such a short time frame and what you did accomplish was really cool. Thanks for entering and showing this off and thank you very much for checking out Natquik and commenting.

Take care!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]