Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

V for Vectory: Maximum Overquill Edition

by quill18 - Compo Entry

NOTE: Some people with non-updated Unity Web Player plugins may not see the UI. Update your Web Player or download a standalone version.

---

V for Vectory: Maximum Overquill Edition
Can you defend your base from the evil Vectrix Empire?

V for Vectory is a fast-paced arcady shmup-inspired defense game. Earn upgrade points by defeating enemies and use them to power up so you can kill the progressively stronger waves of enemies.

---

Controls:

WASD or Arrows for Movement
Mouse for aiming, left-click shoots.
Spacebar opens the upgrade menu.
1-5 activates special defensive buildings.

---

Made in Unity 4.6, using the built-in 2D and UI toolsets.
Sound: AudioTool.com, BFXR, and Audacity
Graphics: Photoshop
Entertainment/Aggravation: Twitch.tv chat.

Made before a livestreamed audience!

---

http://youtube.com/quill18creates -- Unity Programming Tutorials
http://youtube.com/quill18 -- Gaming Videos
http://twitter.com/quill18 -- Pointless chatter
http://twitch.tv/quill18 -- Awkward Facecam Gaming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Fun3.88
#55Overall3.88
#166Audio3.41
#260Graphics3.57
#272Mood3.27
#311Theme3.80
#658Humor2.35
#685Innovation2.95
#2251Coolness14%

Comments

LIESard says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47am

I'm running the Linux/GNU build and it crashes whenever I tried to change the keybindings.
I played with the default ones anyways, just to see how it was.
The idea is incredibly simplistic. It's basically just an arcade game. The only reason it fit the theme is because simplistic arcade games were always on only one theme. Try harder next time.

swampie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58am

V for Vectory provides a very simple, yet hectically fun experience

for a game created in such a small time, it's a fantastic result; with a little more polish i'd be willing to pay some amount of money for it

my only complaint is that there isn't more game to play

Riften32 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great job Quill!, amazing game design and it plays awesomely. Keep up the good work!!!!

devin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59am

I love this game very well done. I personally didn't find a reason to change the keybinds as they were well optimized. Very hard but, very fun

geartech0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05am

I had fun playing it (which is what a game is for). Its quick and reminds me of geometry wars.
That being said, its pretty easy. Missiles are OP and turrets are more OP. I basically die when i feel like dieing. But end the end i did enjoy it. Its fun to see how far you can go.
When it comes to the theme, i honestly think it was a cop-out. It wasn't that innovative.
In conclusion, the game was really fun with a few little things i didnt like here and there. The hitting on the theme was a cop-out, but it did succeed with the theme. So, good job. I like it

sportsquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:10am

Lots of fun, love the glow of the graphics, I like how it is a combination of dota and a space shooter

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:14am

Really fun!

BellofRadford says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15am

Got to wave 52 with cheats, dem squids are hard

FraserK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16am

This game performs well, is simple learn and play, and feels robust. Could have a little bit more of a polish hear and there but overall it is a well executed game.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45am

looks good. I like the graphics and the the way it looks. I am having a hard time with the controls.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57am

This is great. A little hard to get used to control.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great Game Quill18, Good job!

gamedevBear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very fun game, though the sounds of the missile explosions get annoying very quickly

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

Awesome Game. I love the combination of tower defense / shooting. Very polished for LD :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

It’s a good game a nice upgrade from the one screen games that I use play. When they were all one screen. It’s a step learning curve to keep up with the AI upgrades I like that.

rask_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great game you can the time put into it really reflects how good the game is and it plays very well. I think it is simple yet fun to play.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Amazing as usual, Quill. Really love the genre blending. If I had one gripe, it would be that the shape of the ship sort of contradicts with the way it moves, which is kinda confusing. I feel that the earlier design that did not have a clear front better reflected the way the ship moved. But that's only as minor gripe for an otherwise fantastic entry .

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43am

Very cool game. Solid execution of the theme. I really enjoyed it.

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Extremely fun, simple and addicting. Just like a game should be!

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

A bit difficult, but pretty fun

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Great stuff, and the music didn't make me sneeze or anything (point for humor!). As usual you've gone into some depth, so I'll have to revisit to figure out all the upgrades etc.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

too hard for me xD

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

First impression... too much, coming way too fast at me (I'm old)... but I think I can see where this is going, and I like it.
I think what this needs is a lot more attention than I have right now coming off the LD weekend. Coming back to this one later..

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

great! love the getting hurt effect. not much to improve!

graebor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48am

There's a cool game in here, the parts I didn't like were all non-gameplay related: UI is pretty cluttered, and the tutorial at the start is a pretty huge raw info dump, etc. Obviously it's a bit silly to look for polish in a jam game though, so good work!

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42am

Pretty fun shooter! Nothing super crazy but it was done pretty well! Tons of upgrades!

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41am

A nice mashup of different genres, I like it.

cmayhem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

Has a bit of a learning curve even with all the help. Great fun!

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44am

This is just a very very good game. It's fast pace, challenging and really fun. The audio is very good and the game overall feels so polished.

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53am

Two thumbs up :) nothing bad to say about this little gem. Awesome fun, great weapon upgrades, easy learning curve, intense action.Lots of explosions and an awesome Nuke effect.
All this done in under 48 hours, Quill18 is a GOD.

r-dc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Great game, but same as @LIESard, it breaks when trying to change the keybindings on native Mac app.
Otherwise, it's a simple but great idea !

Cruion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Excellent game! The art style and gameplay is excellent.

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:28pm

A fun but difficult game! The aestethics are a bit all over the place, but still a great entry.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Too difficult for me.

rallebauz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Awesome game, I especially like the graphics, similar to geometry wars. It was fun trying to figure out the best way to start out (missiles are definitely the best). I would imagine it to be even better with a joystick or controller

Dutrius says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I can't play the game because the links to your site seem to be broken for me. Looked good from the livestream though.

Wevel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Some of the upgrades seemed a bit pointless because they where not as good as others. Otherwise, A good game.

Dutrius says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Ok, was just a glitch with my internet.

This game is great. Difficult, but great.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Fun, fast paced, full of awesome.
Upgrade system works magically.
Fantastic balance.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Probably the largest, most complete game I've seen yet. I like the wide variety of upgrades available. This feels like a proper tower defense game. Also, nice juice.

I like the "boss" squid things. That's a cool idea. It add a secondary goal (to eliminate them).

I'm not really a fan of this sort of movement scheme: free aim (mouse) but movement locked along two axes (WASD / arrow keys). Very few games can pull it off, and even then only barely. It makes fighting feel tedious, such that I'd rather focus on the larger scale stuff, like placing mines and ice.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Awsomely fun! Got to wave 49, killed 5847 enemies, and got a score of 567668 points before I lost. Just pure bullet hell fun!

vortex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Very nice Game, good graphics, nice effects, lots of content, but HARD!

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I only believe this was made in 48 hours because I watched livestream a little bit. Epic Game. (a little too difficult without any cheats i would say)

recursor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Pretty hard game but very well done. Even the music is good.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Thanks, I did really enjoy your stream as well! Good game flow and mechanics, it was hard and yet simple (arcade).

psychomonster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59pm

The Difficulty is very hight :D But it is fun. Like the upgrade system. Good job

tomdeal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very nice game. It has a ton of features for only 48 hours. Obviously you distracted us other developers by streaming the whole time ;-)

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

It's amazing for only a 48 hour game. I follow your video on youtube and that was to be expected but still. Great.

Thermite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Really nice concept, and nice graphics. If the controls were a little smoother it would be great. Good job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

You created a very fun and addictive game. I love the music its not obtrusive and it blends very will with the game play. I can agree the difficulty is a little high, but once you know what your options are it is manageable. Speaking of options, I have to say you do give the player many of them and this is a good thing. Rather than setting the player down a predetermined path you let the player craft his/her own experience. All in all it was a fun and pleasurable experience.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

Haha, I got my ass beat, but you did a great job with the game. I dug the visuals and vibe.

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

Awesome GL mate

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

Overall, the game felt quite nice. It fit the theme well. The default controls worked fine for me.

The design is simple, but it works. It was fun to play, however it felt imbalanced in some areas. The rocket weapon seemed to work much better than the others. Though, as time progressed, you couldn't afford to make mistakes, which makes sense.

The graphics were very simplistic, reminiscent of old arcade games. Audio fit, but wasn't particularly outstanding.

The game could use some work in areas, but I found it enjoyable in any case.

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58am

Fun to play!

vairse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

Starting weapon seems a bit useless, but other than that a stellar game jam game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39am

I really like the idea of an arcade tower defense. The graphical effects really add to the game. Nice work.

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

Quill, I love the effort you put into little details such as the screen shaking every wave, it's what makes the game a whole lot better.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25am

Interesting game. A little overwhelming at the start, but it grown on you. Smooth gameplay; nice work!

vogon101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

Love the game

dcolgan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Very juicy! Love the effects and pretty good music too.

Aske says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Quick and replayable. i like it!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

-Decent action tower defense gameplay :)
-Good replayability :)
-Missiles are OP ;)
-The game I have played the most yet :D

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Absolutely loved it. It was extremely fun, and games like this are the kind that I aspire to make in my future Ludum Dares.

court says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Amazing game!

rcantb says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36am

Great game! Tons of fun

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:40am

Fun game, all around well done. Nice job. :)

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:22am

This is amazing

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38am

very cool game, but too hard.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09am

Solid gameplay and quite fun! I think this game has potential, great effort!

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:00am

This is Awesome and very enjoyable, i really like the style and overall game design

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38am

awesome as always quill18 :)

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Cool game! Enjoyed the gameplay

Wakka says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great game, looks really polished and complete.

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Really well made and a ton of fun, but damn it gets you hard at the beginning! I get overwhelmed before I get decent upgrades or buildings going on :)

T3DSquid says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great Game as always Quill, IMO its the best you've ever made. Better than most payed games nowadays got to wave 33 score 98828 with no cheats and i'm gonna keep going thanks for making it.

coderitual says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I had a lot of fun with this game. Thanks!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Awesome game! Your YouTube channel is awesome too!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice presentation and smooth gameplay, but losing points on upgrades or weapon switches is frustrating. I think it could still be fun if the switches were free after initially purchasing the weapons.

Also, the music and sound effects were a little annoying.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:06pm

This is one of my favorite games so far for this LD. Excellent job!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Kinda nice but i dont really like the controls they should shift as you rotate

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:24am

Good job, Quill! Awesome work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:20am

Great defence game with lots of depth and side mechanics to keep things interesting.

ianatherton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Simple, entertaining, and hard

Ping78 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Very good game. If only I could see and hear the development of it.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:26pm

great game as usual, quill
sometimes it felt a bit laggy
also, rockers are OP at the start :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

really hard game - but has lots of replayability - great job

Hendri says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

It's a hard game and because of that I like it.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]