Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

'Hoff Time Shuffle

by MurrayL - Jam Entry

By Murray Lewis (@GameDevIdeas) & David Blake (@GameDevDave)

IMPORTANT NOTE:

This is the Jam build of the game, representing only a few hours work. It's very much unfinished, but we hope you enjoy playing what's available. The full game will be released as a post-Jam version within a few days, featuring a time-travelling storyline and 100% more David Hasselhoff.

For now, enjoy playing with the time machine, such as it is. You can pull up a list of dates using the '?' button on the right-hand side of the time machine interface.

I suggest you try to complete the 1648 scenario for a good taste of what's in store. Can you defeat the marauding (yet eloquent) Royalist soldier?

CLUE: Remember you have a time machine. Think laterally.

* * *

DESCRIPTION:

In this game, you play as Dorian - a scientist who has invented a time machine. The entire game is 'in one screen' as, due to technical restrictions and general time-travel weirdness, Dorian can never leave the confines of the room the time machine is in.

While he originally intended to use it for good, the machinations of his neighbour, the postman, and David Hasselhoff push him over the edge. He decides on a new plan to RULE THE WORLD.

Using the time machine, he will travel to 'temporal resonance points,' where his actions will have catastrophic and far-reaching effects on the space-time continuum. He might even miss lunch.

You start the game knowing four of these temporal resonance points, which are viewable by clicking the '?' button within the time machine control panel. Tap the number into the time circuits, and hit the big red button to go!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#56Humor(Jam)3.84
#173Mood(Jam)3.55
#192Fun(Jam)3.48
#276Graphics(Jam)3.73
#308Overall(Jam)3.44
#509Innovation(Jam)3.03
#867Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

MurrayL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Sorry we couldn't get this finished on time, but rest assured there will be a fully-featured post-jam version coming very soon if you want to play more!

aeveis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

I like the art and the writing! I was able to pick up things in the 1648 scenario, was there anymore than that? Looks good so far!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

I like it! Alas, I'm terrible at point and clicks, so it took me a while to figure things out! I like the idea of being able to type in significant dates from history and having them appear with a mission to do, nice aspect for a game with constant updates! 'Twas a little annoying to be locked out of my inventory every time the Royalist spoke, though, and I would say you should Opt out of being voted for audio, as (correct me if I'm wrong) I'm pretty sure that's Mcleod's music? Like the game nonetheless!

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25am

Aeveis - Yes, you can 'complete' the 1648 scenario by getting rid of the Royalist soldier. Thoroughly examine the room - it requires a bit of lateral thinking, and remember you have a time machine...

Pickens Inc. - Yes, sorry about the Royalist interrupting gameplay. I'll fix that in the post-jam version.
The full game will also feature a tonne of historic dates as easter eggs - I'm rather looking forward to adding them all in!

Quite right, about the audio category, too; I missed that during submission! Opted out now.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Wow. Very interesting and fun game.

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Awesome, retro point & click! I just foolowed you on twitter to check for updates on this sweet project. :3
Oh, my only complaint is music - it's too.. loud and lively for a point & click. For my taste ofc. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Beautiful art, I like the writing too! Good job you guys!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Well done! Loved the music and the graphics style.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51am

I really, really, really like the point and click genre, this brought me back to my youth, playing with my fathers old dos machine. good memories

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:53am

nice.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice! Another adventure game, I dig it! I see you've used AGS for this. Did you like using AGS? Check out my game! I also made an adventure game, but in Unity. Tell me what you think.

I think your artstyle is pretty neat. The critique I have is that you could probably make the characters in the game a tad small. They were quite big, but that's just my opinion. Nice game anyway, good luck with your post-ld "release"!

max_peabody says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I think I figured out a solution, but for whatever reason I couldn't use the costume once I had it... nonetheless, what there was seems pretty fun. I look forward to the finished product.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20pm

SinistraGames - Thanks! It's always good to see other people making adventure games. I've used AGS for lots of projects (including two previous Ludum Dares), so I'm very comfortable with it as a tool. It has a lot of idiosyncrasies and annoyances, but it's good at what it does and it makes it very quick to get a new project up and running.
I agree with you about the characters, too. I actually drew the backgrounds to the wrong scale, and had to tell the engine to draw the characters at 150% to compensate. If you look carefully, you can see the pixels on them are slightly bigger than the pixels in the backgrounds!

max_peabody - Yes, sorry we ran out of time before I could add scripting to the final parts of that puzzle! Glad you found it, though.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Good Work ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Haha, this was cute. Nice job!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:08am

Having to manually reenter dates every time I wanted to travel somewhere was really annoying, especially since I could only scroll through the numbers one way. I was also disappointed by how little I could use or interact with things. Some objects couldn't be tried at all, for whatever reason--the cannonball, crayons and bucket. Blank canvases? Why can't I try and use the crayons on them? I just saw too many "I don't think they want that"s and "Are you mad?"s on things that seemed totally reasonable, like using the tie on yourself (to wear it, of course!).

But I can see that a lot of work was put in here, and I enjoyed the concept of what you have so far. The graphics are adorable.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:12pm

hissssssssss - Thanks for the feedback! I'll make sure to add a two-way scroll to the digits in the post-jam version.

The lack of interactions was just a consequence of running out of time, sadly. I like to make sure almost everything has a unique interaction in an adventure game, and I'll be doing the same thing here with the full version.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Any chance of Linux build? (Contact me on Twitter @ViliX64 if yes)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:00pm

The artwork is fantastic :D good job

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Great graphics,great writing,great overall!Bravo!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Nice to see a point-n-click adventure on LD! Funny dialogues, pleasant music. I would like to play full version of this game))) Good luck with it!

Hell Byte says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Great Game. I like the Machine that stands in place every frame.

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Looks like a solid game. Very SCUMM-ish, I like that! Nice music and writing.
It would be nice if you could click on the time points, so the date is entered automatically. Or the option to decrease a number in the time machine. Otherwise I do a lot of clicking that feels unnecessary.
How do I open the inventory?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]