Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Life of a Geek

by Tommyno222 - Compo Entry

Life of a Geek simulator. Can you discover all the possibilities?

Use arrow keys to move and [F] or [ENTER] to interact with environment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Humor3.92
#43Graphics4.20
#53Audio3.83
#152Mood3.47
#202Theme3.92
#386Overall3.36
#516Innovation3.18
#850Fun2.77

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48am

Great work. I particularly liked the reference to the number of games one has to play =D

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26am

I should buy a kitten.

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Nice :D I LOL'ed with the pissing sounds!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Neat game! There seems to be a fair bit in common between your game and mine :D

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The setting and connection to the theme are brilliant, just like the graphics and sound effects (amazingly polished for a compo entry). It's just waiting for some objectives to complement the interaction with the environment to become a great game.

Keep up the good work, this looks awesome!

Xaychru says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Nice game, it would have been cool to have a story rather than just trying to interact with everything.
(The shower was really funny!)

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I don't see a cursor on OS X in Firefox, Chrome and Safari. Will try on PC once i find one.

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

AWESOME GAME! BEST RATING! (HOPEFULLY)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Clever. Four stars in Humor

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

It's not just an entire game on one screen, it's an entire life on one screen! Fun game.

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice graphics and audio. The apartment looks way to "normal" for the average geek, though ;)

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Tell me you went around your house with a microphone and recorded all these sounds yourself? This is good, silly fun! Can't think of too many games where the sound effects literally stop the gameplay. Nice use of implied action!

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10pm

nice concept really but a small objective will be possible.
What is the goal of a geek ?

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

lol. that's basically it. you got it right :D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Excellent work here. "actually I would love to read" killed me :) great stuff. Shows how good use of audio adds so much life to a game.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

100% real life simulator! "What button do i need to press, to hack someone" :DDDDD

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06pm

You guys are awesome, I really appreciate your feedback! :) I wanted to create player needs and a possibility to fulfill them however I didn't manage to do it in 48 hours. And regarding the sounds, I am really surprised myself... I always hated creating sounds when I was working on some game, and it's enough to just take a phone and record everything around :D

Ulydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Interesting concept. But does it have a real goal ?

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I am a magical wizard who can jump through walls to take showers! Pretty mellow atmosphere, I liked it. I got a real Sims vibe playing this. The humor was well done also.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

Now i have a sense of cloustrophobia...Nice art!

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39am

REALLY compelling. Something about the snug little apartment on one screen drew me in. Nice art and humor especially!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09am

Nice one, I like graphics, audio and your take on the theme.

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Those SFX are really something! :D

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Ha, even in a game I instinctively move towards the coffee maker.Great idea, made me laugh a lot. Hope you win the humour cat.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Hilarious ! Great job :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Great concept, nice graphics, funny sounds. If I had a "story" or a quest it would be perfect...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Lovely art :) I really like these simulator games where you do something quite ordinary :P

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very nice. This feels like the great basis for some interactive fiction.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Wonderful little game :D The one-screen-sims ... played it not long enough to see what happens if you forget to eat :D But this game is one of the best till now

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31am

Nice little computer people... Very good work.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

Not bad. A tiny bit inaccurate but not bad.

Silii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I didn't see : Create a LudumDare Compo in Computer Choice, i'm a noob ? I have to work and play hard to unlock this possibility ? :D

Nice game, like the graphics. Simple but good. i want create similar thing for the next LD. Hope the theme was good for.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Quite cute, could use with a little more to do, but still very nice!

barkergames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice job.
Love the art and sounds.
I did have a hard time reading the geek void bubbles. Too fast!

Demy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:31am

Hehe, I don't like when people write something like "I have a game too, watch it!", but actually I have something the same but inside his computer =)

Graphics and music are cool and this could be a good starter for making just a sandbox or the big quest. It looks and feels nice.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:05am

fun to interact with the environment - not much of a game here tho - nice job

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I love the mood of the game, and the music/sounds. It needs a bit more... "game" though, there isn't much to do. But well, I guess that's just how a life of a geek is :P

apiotrw says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very solid artstyle

Madball says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:52pm

The first experience was great. I liked walking that guy around and guessing what does he want to do now. But eventually, I did everything I could. And that's all. It's a game with prospects. This is not a lot of things to do on one screen, you can add much more! A storyline, for example.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Cool environment. I especially love the artwork and sound effects.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Haha, nice one. I love these comments/thoughts. Just taken from real life (of geeks). I wished you had made some "rate Ludum Dare games"-meta-jokes here.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

The real geek simulator XD Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]