Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Place in Space

by lokijki - Compo Entry

A game in a place in space. Walk through the place and kill aliens and stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#15Fun4.07
#17Overall4.08
#43Theme4.33
#55Mood3.75
#58Audio3.79
#83Graphics4.00
#333Innovation3.44
#433Humor2.67

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48am

A crazy cool idea. Great music too. Got a bit too shaky when shooting a lot, but maybe that is the point. I thought it was a nice touch. Also power ups were hard to see the first few times I played.

AndreasL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02am

There is nothing about this I dislike. Great work!
Love the graphics, the "room reveal" is a smart circumvention to the "one screen" rule while still having multiple (infinite?) rooms.
I hope you keep working on it cause I could easily see myself spending many hours playing it.

ViliX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very neat idea! Nice job :)

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

You did quite alot with the theme. Awesome!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really cool. I dug the hell outta the graphics and visual effects. VERY cool. Concept was cool as well. A bit of explanation as to the nature of the different collectibles might have been nice. Seriously good job.

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

Kept freezing when I died, otherwise this has been my favorite entry.

stevehb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

Great concept for the theme, and the music is great.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

Simply amazing. I love every single aspect of the game. What's with the source code though? How do you open .capx files?

lokijki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

@karol - The game was created with Construct 2, so you have to open it with that. :P

Just Tom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

Legit brill, I'm mega digging the graphics and camera-shake-chromatic effect. The whole thing is just super slick, clever and addictive, only nitpicks I can think of is the camera shake is a little too heavy but that just forces you to think where your firing. It's an interesting balance!

This is my favourite dare game so far, genuinely brilliant piece!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

Love the CGA style graphics, and harsh screen effects - satisfying controls and combat, great take on the realtime death dungeon.

JFern says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19am

Love the take on the theme! The differently generated rooms each time I played and the graphics were nice except for the camera shake needs some tweaking. Overall fun!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

Great game! Super fun and addicting. Fascinating use of the theme!

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Incredible.
I played this 10 times maybe? i couldn't stop. i kept going again and again. I love every little screenshake and visual distortion and i love how you never leave the same screen, feels like the game is sneakily moving elements around in the darkness.

DaniDK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35am

Wow, Super addicting! Love it.

funkysquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10am

Love it!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14am

Very well done! I love the graphics and the whole style, the music is nice too. The only thing a little bit difficult is to control the aim without a mouse (I used the touchpad) but... not your fault of course haha. Nice!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Great controls and feel of the gameplay. Very good feeling of exploration also, with the dividing of the rooms and the strange creatures.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really cool art style. Enjoyable game, perhaps a bit too hard. Would be cool to see what other weapons and enemies there are.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Looks and plays amazing, but, as someone wrote, it freezes when you lose (didn't realize I lost the three first times). Great job with the theme and all.

lokijki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59pm

For those who get a freeze on death - what browser and OS are you using? Not sure what's causing that.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

It is a shame that there is no category for controls, because you absolutely nailed it on this one. The game, despite its lo-fi look, is polished and is a clever interpretation of the theme. The attention to detail is very good, from the screen shake to the spent cartridges.

My wife, who normally hates this kind of game, really enjoyed playing it.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It is a shame that there is no category for controls, because you absolutely nailed it on this one. The game, despite its lo-fi look, is polished and is a clever interpretation of the theme. The attention to detail is very good, from the screen shake to the spent cartridges.

My wife, who normally hates this kind of game, really enjoyed playing it. She added it to her "Mum plays..." series here: http://youtu.be/MWYF-TuJ2Lk

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Great use of the theme, and great gameplay, art and music all in one. This is really good!

voidqk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

pretty damn fun!

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:28am

Sweet! :D

Goutye says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

What a graphic style! Nice one, I like the way the character lives (Move, etc.). Infinity level? I liked the 2th weapon o/

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice. The colour bleed effect and screen shake make the shooting feel really solid. Great twist on the theme as well, endless rooms in a single screen.

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

My favorite entry that I've played yet. Perfect use of the theme, really responsive controls, nice "feel" with the screen shake/ weird rgb things happening on impact. The music is great! No downs for me on this one, well done!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:32am

Very nice entry! I like the changing rooms
Reminds me a lot of teleglitch

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Good use of the theme, this game was very fun. The laser was my favorite weapon, and I really dug the visual style, though it started bothering my eyes after a bit (that might have just been my crazy bright monitor though). A text popup or something when getting a powerup to explain what it is would have gone a long way. I had my audio turned up, and didn't expect it to start playing when I opend the page, that startled me... ^_^
Overall, great job!

Integershift says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32am

Great game reminded me a lot of the binding of isaac a bunch of fun good work only thing is sometimes there are too many mobs in a small area and it is pretty hard to survive.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

I liked how the ammo and gun types could be combined to form different weapons. My spreader laser was awesome until it ran out of ammo. The machine gun actually killed me on room 17. I would have preferred the regular gun to it. Live and learn!

I do think that the screen shake and graphical glitch on firing and hitting was too much. I could only play it twice because it was too visually distracting. That might just be me though.

radmars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34am

Awesome! Really fun, great use of theme, visual style is cool and great audio too. My only criticism is that it gets a little too visually busy when there are a lot of bodies on the ground (despite how that looks awesome :D) Nice work!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:35am

Love the use of the theme. Nice job.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:43am

Great game!
It plays and feels very good!
graphics and sound are very good too

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44am

really good work nice effect and retro grphics

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49am

Damn! I wish my game was this good :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50am

Great controls, cool use of the theme, amazing graphics and sound - absolutely nailed that retro feel!

ixron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:02am

I love it. Great job.

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very inspiring and varied.

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11am

The way the weapon types combine is especially entertaining.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

Amazing! =D

srakowski says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great retro graphics/audio. The aliens look a bit like little pigs! I likes the controls. I like the circular level use to go with the theme. Quite awesome is this game!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21am

Very fun, kept me playing for a quite a while.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:02am

Wow, weird but interesting! The retro-ish pixel presentation is cool, but the graphical effects are amazing! The gameplay is pretty good. I like the whole mood of the game, it goes back to the days where a lack of detail in games just made them more mysterious. My one complaint is that the controls seemed off sometimes; like I would walk across the room, then I'd try to get to a door and my character would continue walking in the same direction...Still, though, good work!

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:11am

Loved it for so many reasons. One of the games I've liked most. The whole retro look and sound was well mastered.

wavertron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:30am

Awesome job. Just the screen shaking when firing a lot was a bit of an eye-strainer. But otherwise, really cool

psychonull says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I'm amazed by how polished this game is. Good job!

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18pm

reminded me of bindings of isaac! :), very nice gfx, simple yet convincing

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:38am

Great concept, perfectly executed. Awesome compo entry! Soundtrack adds a nice touch.

Knighty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:06am

Fun game, although I would have liked the health pickups to be a little more common.
I love the triple flamethrower :)
The game seemed to freeze whenever I died, so I had to refresh the page to retry.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Really cool shooting animation! That's really fun!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I love this game. The graphics are utterly unique and look great. Rooms changing each time you step through a door is a super creative take on the theme. Amazing job!

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:03pm

graphics feel good. congrats.
well polished and juiced controls.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:20pm

You combined very well a clever use of the theme, a very special atmosphere and an enjoyable gameplay. Good job ! As a programmer, I salute you.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:40am

I love the music! Clever take on the theme, too

goblin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Awesome! i cant stop playing it

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great game! I like everything about it, especially the mood created by the game. How polished.
The theme: Deep space? Generation? EGOOS? You did it all!
Really great job.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:45pm

wow so stylish, I love the feelings of the guns ! Love the visuals too. Too bad it crashed when I died :/

Sot says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I really enjoyed this game, reminds me of crazy mutant camels! :)

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Cool idea! I had something similiar in mind at first, but in the end I did something different in my game!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

Really cool and fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]