Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Witchcraft

by Ellian - Compo Entry

In Witchcraft, you fight monsters to get colored potions, which are then mixed together to create new potions.

Use those potions to buff your fighter, fulfill the villager's orders, or just store them for later use!


Tips for playing:
(thanks everyone for your comment)
- Start the game by hitting the pause button.
- Spam clicks in the window to make the hero attack faster. Click attacks and auto attacks are two different stats!
- When you mix two potions, click on the lower part of the paper to either keep the potion, buff your hero, or fulfil an order.
- Reading the order (especially its name) will give you hints for which colored potion you need!
- Try mixing different potions to get tier 2 and tier 3 colors!
- When you over the mouse on a tier 2/3 potion, the ingredients to make it will be slightly highlighted.



CREDIT:
This lovely font is pixel-love:
http://www.dafont.com/pixel-love.font?text=Witchcraft

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#6Graphics4.59
#166Audio3.41
#286Mood3.26
#331Overall3.42
#345Innovation3.42
#372Theme3.74
#433Humor2.67
#768Fun2.86

Comments

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I found it a very hard time to understand how interface works:
- First I haven't realized that "start" is not a button but a tip to click unpause.
- Also I had no clue that keep potion/feed hero/fulfill order are clickable. Found this randomly.
- Finally no idea how orders and potion correlate. I wish I understood what do people want from me, and which order do I fulfull when giving away the portion.

Otherwise, idea is solid, just frustrating to play. I always like you graphics as well. If you fix this issues in future, I'll gladly give it another try.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Same here, the interface is hard to understand, It took me a while to get how to make potion too. Apart from that mixing time management & fight mechanics is a good idea. And the game is beautiful !

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Also couldn't quite figure out the interface. Nice idea and style though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

It is realy takes time to understand how to play. Good game anyway)

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

First, I love the pixel art !
But the interface is really hard to understand ! Same for me, I didn't understand the start button.
Also, when I craft a potion a paper appears and I have no idea how to close it. Plus, I have no idea how to use/sell a potion.
So, it seems to be a really great idea, but too hard to take in hand

Tonasz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I got the same problems with understanding interface as Phoenix. Orders system needs rebuild in my opinion. But the rest.... Beautiful graphics and great music. Gameplay idea is worth enhancing, because I like these coordination between fighting and making potions which you must learn by the time and decide if it's better to use them or sell.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Interface is really hard to follow.
Font really hard to read.
Never had any idea what potions I was creating or what they did.
Took me a while to figure out that clicking START isnt how you start the game?

Ellian quality graphics as per usual. 5 star graphics amigo. <3

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

very nice game, cool graphics, but took me awhile to understand how to play.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very frustrating gameplay. I tried mixing different potions, but i got nothing useful (or it seemed like that). Super neat art though. And the music is ok.

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Cool idea, lovely art, and nicely done, but agreed that the interface was initially a bit tough to get to grips with, and it would be nice if there was a reminder of what ingredients to combine for specific potions after you make them (or failing that, maybe don't lose both ingredients in the potions that don't work).

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Man I wish I just added an arrow next to the start button ahah...

I'll add some comments to the descriptions to make up for the messy interface. Sorry everyone. :(

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

The interface is a bit confusing. The graphics are awesome though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very nice graphics. Took me a little while to work out what to do

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27am

That was really great! I love the art and music and the theme fit really well. The multitasking kept things interesting and choosing to fulfill orders or keep fighting slimes was a challenging balance. I really enjoyed this, good job!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

Very original idea, I love it! I also like a lot your pixel art, very effective to set "fantasy mood". The game itself is nice to play, although it gets a bit repetitive to click on the monster to get potion at the beginning, but I like the concept a lot!

NB: Thanks for the updated description, it helped me decipher how the game is played :)

zanenga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Love the art style! Looks very nice! I hit some mobs, got some potions and mixed 'em up... No idea what I was doing, but it was nice.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

Really cool game, nice mechanics and excellent art. You might want to change the tutorial/pause screen, as it's a bit confusing. Great game :P

Maybe you could change the clicking monster part with some sort of different challenge, as it's a bit boring.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Was hard to get into the game, but I like the concept and the art is amazing!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Fun! Kept me playing for a while. I really like the concept and the music.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Super fun game!

It took me quite awhile to figure out exactly what I was doing. What really got me is it took me like 2 game overs before I realized I could mix the same color! Haha then I had a ton of fun! I ended up making 49 orders before losing!

I wish there was some kind of progression and levels. That would add a lot!

The game looks amazing. Great job on it!

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Good Work ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice work, would love to see this with some polish.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great graphics, one of the best looking entries I've seen so far, but had the same issue as already mentioned that it did get a bit confusing how the interface works. Did have fun seeing what random potions I could make by mixing stuff together and was able to fulfill some orders. Would be nice to see this further polished because the graphics are great.

Frump says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very good. The only issue I see is that there's a lack of pressing objective. Even if I didn't fill out the orders it took a long time to game over, and the hero never seemed to be in trouble either.

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21pm

This was reaaaally cool, I like the concept of the hero and the witch a lot. It seems like a deep game that would require a bit more instructions in the beginning as well as a cook book of all the recipes you have already figured out later on or some type of guide for the player. Not that we need hand holding but for a game that has a timer and asks us to figure things out quickly, some direction as to where to start would be ideal.

Quikding says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32pm

memorizing recipes not fun to me. good production values, has premise.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Nice concept, awesome pixel art, cool music and nice difficulty curve. I love this entry :)

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice idea, but its implementation could be better.
I think it lacks some sort of highlighting when it comes to reading orders. A lot of text but most of it is vague. It also doesn't help when time passes while you are reading said orders... and there is no indication of what potion you should make for them.
Also, I found a bug when restarting, the music is played twice!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Loved this game man! It was rather fun :) and the graphics, are stellar!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:40am

That was really fun once I got going! (Spent forever trying to find the pause button on my keyboard. >.<)

My one complaint: too much clicking! This is the second game I've played today that had "keep clicking forever" as a primary mechanic and I can feel the repetitive stress injury forming in my old-person arm.

Had a great time experimenting with the potions, though, and the little flavor bits explaining why each person needed their potion made were pretty cute. Also, fantastic job on the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]