Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nap Quest

by sanojian - Compo Entry

This adventurer is tired of quests, dungeons, and loot. He just wants his own comfy bed. Can you help him find it?

Arrow keys to move, space to jump. I spent a lot of time on the 2d tile lighting effect and maybe not enough on the gameplay.

An HTML5 game written using Craftyjs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#25Humor3.92
#166Audio3.41
#255Mood3.29
#277Graphics3.54
#314Overall3.44
#458Fun3.18
#498Theme3.64
#553Innovation3.13

Comments

DavidLv says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Very interesting, but the role is too small.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:33am

Very nice idea, laughed all the time after i got my first quest!

funkysquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35am

My house has rats.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

I had trouble loading it the first time I tried (was a problem connecting to dropbox). But it seems to work fine now. Overall Cool game, enjoyed the audio as well as the lighting effect.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

The light/shadow effect is awesome!
Sometimes the text is broken.

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Love the soundtrack. Very funny concept!

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

I love the lighting and audio. Not really sure how to progress because the first person I meet kills me (sort of, text displays improperly in Chrome so I wasnt' able to read it). Is there's a way to kill him - I didn't find it.

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

@dekart - you are supposed to avoid everyone. They want to give you quests but you just want to go to bed.

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33am

The anti-quest idea was good - I didnt realise it at first, then the name NapQuest and I was like, oohhh I see.

Yeah probably time spent on the lighting effect could have been better focused on gameplay mechanics, though it came out looking quite nice (if running a little bit slow). That will be useful code you can use elsewhere.

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07am

Niiice :D. The game had a good concept and sense of humor :)
It works a bit slow on firefox.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:33am

Very amusing and nicely lit. Everything is very small, but it works very well indeed. Great game, even if it's a bit easy to win once you figure it out.

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of this: http://youtu.be/UplHVoRycAU

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Fun game, but the Space Bar makes the game view move in Chrome.

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Fun game. I like the anti-rpg element to it. Replayed it a few times just to see what the villagers said...lol. Nicely done :)

pandamicro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice work ! The idea of the hero need a nap is very funny

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I like the shadows of the environment and the use of the fog.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Awesome lighting effect, funny dialog. Nice and short, great!

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Short but enjoyable! I really had a laugh with some of the lines.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Liked the idea of being harassed by quest givers and the lines were funny, too bad the actual scope was so small.

Also the music felt a bit misfit.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

The game was too tall and every time I pressed the up or down arrow to move the browser would scroll. Also I never had to jump, so I'm not sure why that was a thing.

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Interesting idea. Cool music!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Very fun idea, I liked it a lot! The lighting was a nice touch also! :)

pancakecity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Hahaha "My house has rats!" I love this game!

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Save the princess? It's a whore!! Rats. I hate rats!! Ancient Sword? It's rusty!! Easy kill? What's this? CoD?

Fuck that shit, I'm going to bed!

Hahahaha Cool entry :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:42pm

lol funny and very creative idea, the audio and graphics are awesome, well done :D

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Lighting was really nice!

Was a little confused as to what to do though!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:45pm

The texts get cut off some times, including the smaller label on the loss screen, so I couldn't actually read what I presume was a notification of the game being over, but that was easy enough to understand, as each time I was caught, the game started over, so not a problem!

Once I realised what the goal of the game was, I laughed, so that's a bunch of humour stars for you!

Neat music and the graphics did what they were supposed to, besides text rendering. c; Dynamic shadows was a nice touch and the limited range of sight made for a nice challenge without breaking the game – I always felt like I had time to react when new NPC's appeared even tho 'twas a fast-paced game.

I liked this entry a lot!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Poor hero. I Included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3dnkCRJktbw

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]