Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beat Bop Delicious

by Kitch - Compo Entry

Do you know what those people working on the sound board are really doing? Neither do I, but I'm pretty sure this game is a spot on accurate simulation. :)

Beat Bop Delicious! is a frantic little button pushing, knob spinning, switch switching game.

Watch for the blinking lights, and react accordingly. It may take a couple plays to get how each of the controls work.

Thanks for playing!

Programmed in Haxe, using HaxeFlixel.
Graphics via Photoshop
Sounds/Music via FL Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Audio3.92
#130Fun3.66
#137Innovation3.84
#153Overall3.67
#248Humor3.00
#256Theme3.86
#364Mood3.15
#500Graphics3.17

Comments

bugninja says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This is a great idea. I wasn't exactly sure what I was supposed to do in the second section. Click the one that was bright red, or click the one under the yellow arrow?

Germain says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:33pm

lol, i've made almost the same gameplay! The yellow thing to indicate what to do is clever, i should have done that too :D
I will submit my game in the JAM
(French...)

Kitch says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:41pm

@bugninja Yeah, it's not my best design. If you click on any of the red buttons it "cycles" It's based of an old analog control I ran across once. (Needs smaller yellow lights to be more clear, and I do have a couple hours left) Thanks!

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05am

@Germain Ha! Thanks! Seems to be a trend with me. Last LD I was in, two of us gave our games the same obscure name :) Cant wait to see your take on it!

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05am

This game is INCREDIBLE. I am BOPPING MY HEAD LIKE AN IDIOT
Best Time 02:30 and I dare you to even come close to that.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great game! I love how each control makes a change to the track playing.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

This was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the audio feedback from my actions. Felt like a DJ for 2 min 04 secs :)

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

Nice idea, but very difficult, and it was annoying to have to start again from the top every time. It also would have been nice had the switches turned off to the beat, rather than on off beats. Still, those are quibbles, and the actual game was pretty awesome, I have top admit.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10am

I loved this. And I'm horrible at multitasking. I can't even get all the elements...

1:07!

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

Haha very nice! I was only making it into the 1:10 range. A lot of times I would get a double jump for only one click on the switches. So I'd overshoot the light that I wanted.

Great concept and execution. Really enjoyed it!

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Yeah, I agree with @bugninja, at first I don't get what to do. But just for a second :)
By the way, cool game, I like it!

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

i like it, the toggle switch hitbox threw me off often tho.

Lawls says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

Addicting!

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47am

@Raptor85... It's pretty much the definition of pixel perfect for me in chrome, IE and Fireforx... curious about your setup.. let me know.. and I'll do my damndest.. Thanks!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Aaaah, too complicated)) Multitasking madness)) But I love the beat))

Lolwned says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice addicting game, hard but not too much. The music is very cool.
Keyboard controls would have been easier but maybe it wasn't the goal.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:39am

Haha neat! Great work on your simulation. I wont give up my day job to be a sound designer just yet! =D

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Cool! Love the use of the theme!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29am

So hard, with a catchy beat, I guess a hardcore drop is to be expected XD
Yeah I never got beyond the 1:05-1:10 range... Nice entry!

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Very nice music game! Loved it! Way better than my music game haha!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Great idea, It was fun playing it!

ruerob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very nice entry. It was really fun playing with all these controls but really hard for a sleepthursty mind. I should give it another try later to master all controlls. 01:08 is my record so far.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56am

Nice, I think I figured it out

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09am

Pretty cool idea for the theme provided :P

Couldn't get past the third section :( Loved the little shake effect on the FlxTexts :P

Demy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57am

That was fun! Thanks. You did something unique and enjoyable. Now i understand sound-controller-guys from concerts. Something's going on, we need to fix it!

jfreax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26am

Very nice. Good music. Simple and intuitive gameplay. Overall I like it. Well done.

Sestren says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Great concept and the multitasking element was fun.

tonypai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:33pm

My reaction is not quite good, so...

Your graphic design is very neat, and I also love pixel art! :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Best time: 1:15 only. This game will be so much more fun on a touch screen. Hope you keep working on this and maybe some day release it on tablets. Good luck and great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Fan freaking tastic bro!

Really cool. Although I'd love to see another version with keyboard shortcuts so you can feel like your composing some kind of symphony haha.

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45am

More fun than it looked. I liked that the controls weren't obvious at first, so it was frantically clicking to make something work :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05am

Nice music, original. I liked it, good job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:47am

First off, it's not too far off of the franticness of us soundboard people's jobs haha!
Secondly, great game! Simple yet so complex and the audio being effected by the toggles is a beautiful feedback element

(Also, thanks for the comment on my game! And yes, I will be making a post-Compo version really soon, but not just because you said so :P )

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56am

Reminding me almost of a single person game of Spaceteam. I liked it :-)

JFern says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really liked the slight audio feedback for when a toggle has to be switched! Cool music and sounds and a really interesting idea!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12am

Ahah, totally awesome game ! Really fun :)

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36am

Guh. I don't think I've rated a game higher than this so far. It's got everything right. Wow!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42am

Awesome ahaha, I love how the music sounds strange if the buttons are in their right position, I had a score of 1:08 ahaha. The game had a nice pace to it!Nice entry

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10pm

OMG, I think it's too early for playing this kind of games!! Loved it! Great work!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really nice game! good work!

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Love the concept. Made me think of Space Team. Good work!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Really awesome game. It reminds me a lot of Spaceteam. Really nice job. I really enjoyed it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:25pm

1:15, is that bad? :) Love this game, very polished, and it's great how bits of the music disappear every time a light starts flashing. I also enjoyed the random encouragements popping up.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I really like this game. It's perfect for those addicted to multi-tasking. Sometimes the hit (click?) boxes on some of these controls are unfair. The slider and flick-switch in particular were difficult to work with.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:51pm

This is a lovely game. When you get all the musical parts playing together, it's incredibly satisfying. It sort of plays like multiple WarioWare minigames all happening at once, which is really smart given the single-screen theme of this LD. Great job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:05am

Cool idea, and quite fun. Also great for training hand-eye coordination! Solid art and music too, very consistent. Job well done!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:46am

Definitely gave me the feeling of being a DJ and just sort of mixing on the fly. I made it to about 1:30 my second time in. Everything is laid out well and the difference between each section is nice.

Saw your note on Natquik, but was a little confused. Natquik is the name of the game and the towns are on the right. Hopefully you get a chance to try it again, but you should be able to get to Orangebrook before it's over. Thanks again for playing and for sharing this. :) Congrats!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:36am

This is fun. It's tough, but not too punishing. Nice take on a simon-esque game. Not as repetitive as simon. I like it.

Jacic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:12am

Very nice game! Quite unique too.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:08pm

wow, it turns confusing, nice rhythm game, well done

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:44pm

It's very hard to pay attention to all of the queues at once. But overall it definitely kept you interacting with the game to stay alive.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I love this game. Really interesting project. May be improved by some features and another design, but it's good enough. One of my favorites. Thank you for this gift ++

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I tried just hitting the first button to the music, got a perfect, then was able to figure it out from there. Got a 33 second, would like to see other players score, but for a game made in a couple of days, great game. I would play it again.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:56pm

I lost because I lost attention because I laughed due to the message "Snowman!".
What a fantastic game! It was really fun, no polishing needed, sfx where nice, graphics are simple.
Great work!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Awesome game! Lots of replayability. The audio is spot on! Well done!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice game! Smart theme usage in a simple way.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:45pm

T'was a blast

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Well, that's a very different take on the theme, but it works well. I like it. It does get rather frantic, but that's part of its charm.

whilefun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Pretty cool idea, and I love those pixels. I think it would be better perhaps to call out "round over" a bit more clearly. Also, perhaps randomize the controls that need help a little more. It felt sequential to me. Neat idea, good take on the theme. I like the variety of controls. Nice work.

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Fun stuff! This is however exactly what should go on touch but not so much for a mouse :)

I love the charm it has, it's like a step back from SpaceTeam, but still great fun. The indicators are great, I just wished there were maybe one more level of imminence so you're not so clueless as to why you lost. Does it have "hit on the beat" detection? That would be a great thing to have, to make it feel more musical :)

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Excellent game! Love the graphics, music, and mechanic! I'm not a big fan of the rotating text but I guess that's a matter of taste. It may be better if it only came as a response to my clicks.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This game is rigged! In the three times I played, I lost at 1:17.

In all seriousness, this is a great game. The pacing is good, the controls are each wonderfully unique, and the gameplay fits in well the theming of the game (music mastering).

recursor says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Pretty nice clicky rhythm game.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:48am

Pretty good, but hard to play with a touchpad. That's my fault though.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:51am

This is cool. I liked the varied controls you got working.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:55am

A bit similar to our game, though yours has a nice sense of progression.

Nice entry, well done. :)

cmdr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:04am

Fun little game! I would have liked a little more progression with the music though (maybe I'm just not good enough to get to that part!). Regardless, it was polished and funny and I enjoyed it :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:44am

Nice twist on the rhythm game genre.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:49am

Very nice music game! But hard, yes - my best so far is 1:14 =)

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:49am

Pretty fun, would be more enjoyable with some sort of indicator showing how much time left. Also, not so fun having to start from the beginning every death since it starts so slow.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:29am

Quite an inventive version of a plate-spinning game, with a great build-up of elements.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Fun addictive entry. Music worked so well and loved all the different buttons. Did get a bit confused with the third panel though, hadn't realised you needed to click on the actual lever to use it.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Cool idea! Fun to play and the encouraging lines made me smile. I like that the audio's different between playtroughs. It get's a bit too hard to fast IMO. I failed right after the bottom-center controls was introduced on all of my ~4-5 playtroughs.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow your idea is great!
I really like the way you make music change based on the status of the console!
Well done!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very nice idea! Cool mechanic! I like how you control the music!

fil00dl says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34pm

really good concept in accordance with the theme

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Nice game. :) Simple, fun, and skilly. :)

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The intro (15" of button) is a little boring... But simple and fun game. With the old look, I wonder if keyboard controls might not be well...
(1'36")

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Love the theme, and it's darned fun.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:19am

Very cool little game about trying to keep everyone happy. Feeling like middle management was never so much fun! The different elements were each enjoyable in their own ways to deal with, and I like how each of the later elements built upon previous mechanics. The final element was a good way to keep the player busy in between managing other knobs. The way that the gameplay tied in with the music also added a lot to making this game enjoyable since you wanted to keep the song playing at full capacity as much as possible. I feel like you could have been a little more lax on the clickable areas of the switches and the text popping up to disrupt your concentration didn't seem to make the game any better. It just became extra noise, which is something you probably don't want in a music game (unless of course you do something incorrect). Overall, really cool game that tests your apm and accuracy! Thanks for letting me play it!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:13am

Ha, pretty sweet.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:29am

Haha very good entry! Made my day :D

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I've never seen such a great game concept and I think this can be an awesome game on mobile.

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Very funny and original concept!
You have to be quick if you don't want to lose :-)
I like the idea of finding out by oneself how the different controls work.
Nice job!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I tried it quite a few times and only ever got to 1:15, which is basically just a little bit after the 6th console unlocks.

I like how it has the cook, serve, delicious vibe, however would prefer keyboard controls, simply because mouse accuracy is an issue.

VDZ says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Mouse controls prevent this game from being as good as it could be. You're struggling too much with the controls itself (moving the mouse pointer from point A to point B) that it eclipses the real challenge (noticing things need attention and responding to that). A more direct control scheme like keyboard controls could ease this somewhat. The other big control issue is that as everything's controlled by mouse clicks, manipulating sliders and other variable state controls takes unreasonably long; it would feel more logical if you could twist knobs and drag sliders instead of clicking often enough to get them all the way to the right position (often first going in the opposite direction).

I think this game would be amazing to play with touch controls, for example on a tablet. It would make all controls feel much more natural and remove the artificial delay caused by having to move the cursor from point A to point B.

Otherwise, very nice game. I would definitely play more if moving the mouse around all the time wasn't so tedious.

(High score: 1:53)

Lythom says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Fun game, not too easy neither too hard.
The sense of rythm seams optional, having more rythmic could be a plus for a music game.
Still a good job there, thanks for the game !

OttersDen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Its a simple but fun game. I like the progression of music, that was a nice detail. I merely made it to 1:14 on my first try though.

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Wow, that was brilliant! I had some problems with controls (I didn't know how to press some of them or the sliders could be on drag not click) but it is a game that needs an external controller. DJ-hero? Pfff, please, this should be a game :D
It might be a good stuff for iPad, whoah... I really like this, good job :)

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Cool idea! very fun :D great work :D

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:52pm

This is actually a very good game. That's when all the controls are enabled that it starts to be hard. I don't keep mode than 10 seconds with all widgets.

schizokoa says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:10am

That is some GOOD FUN!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Instead of just game over, have a real consequence like a nuclear reactor explode, even if it's just in the text.
Well done, fun and a little bit addictive even.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Love the beat! I Included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yuPvpTdD-O8

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:42pm

this is basically "space team" single player...

It's a shame the randomnes of the challenge makes this game so unfair: I feel it's litterally impossible to go through every control when everything start blinking at the same time...

radmars says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Cool concept! Having the hitboxes move around is pretty annoying though, and I wish it let you revel in having the whole song work for a little longer :P Nice work.

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Very nice idea!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

lol kind of haphazardly annoying and fun at the same time. Frustrating and cool because the switches were cool. frustrating because i lose if i miss! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]