Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the Credits

by badlydrawnrod - Compo Entry

This game takes place entirely in the credits screen of a video game.

Backstory:

Mr Stickman was happy as he had finished collecting all of the stars in his game. Unfortunately, just as the credits started rolling he dropped them all. Being a capable sort of chap, he jumped in and went to collect them all over again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Humor3.81
#341Theme3.77
#353Innovation3.41
#424Fun3.22
#519Audio2.78
#607Overall3.15
#706Mood2.76
#1069Graphics2.22

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

what a good game!!!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Loved how you take on the theme ! Nice simple game, well done !

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36am

Hahahaha, nice concept :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48am

Pretty clever. Staying on the right is much easier than the left. Good job!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great interpretation of theme, fun simple game. Well done.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I liked it. Controls could have been tighter though.

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

hahaha, very well fit to the theme!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Ahh, I'm running on Safari and it doesn't except input, making the game un-runnable for me I guess.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very nice. Good interpretation of the theme, nice and simple. I liked it! And great music too.

sprawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Simple gameplay but great idea !

Sure took a lot of people to come up with that ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Very funny !

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Its fun! :)

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06pm

It's fun!
But, it would be nice if it show a retry button when you lose.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

All right that's clever. Pretty fun, but very funny.

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Those names. Those beautiful, awful Simpsons prank call names. Had to complete it to groan at them all. Got 54.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

I couldn't make it to the bottom - I kept losing by reading all of the names. It might not be everyone's kind of humor, but it's definitely my kind :)

Fun game overall, good job!

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

Had to try that a few times to win. Kept dying reading the names...lol. Fun game, I really enjoyed it, great job :)

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very nice and innovative game - good work, man :D!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44am

Cheeky, and I love the punny names.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44am

I recently discovered that you can look up games by their creator's username; the moment I figured this out, I immediately searched for your game after fond memories of "Coal Not Dole."

I was not disappointed! The core concept is simple enough, but the real reason to play this name is to see one hundred awful/hilarious name puns in one minute. (Somewhere in heaven, Tom Magliozzi is laughing much too hard.) It's a really great central concept if you ever want to expand this into a full game, too-- there's a lot you could do with a game that takes place exclusively within the credits of a video game.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Please release a Linux version. Unity Web Player doesn't work on Linux.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Funny and clever approach :D And it plays pretty well. The jump could be improved so that you have control over the height, but other than that good job :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@Thingo Studios ha ha - glad you liked it. I've been saving some of those up for years. Being from the UK I hadn't heard of Tom Magliozzi before but I did a bit of research and found some of his puns. Excellent stuff!

@xgeovanni I've released a Linux build. I don't have a way of testing it, so please let me know if it works.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Super! Not really variety gameplay but looks funny :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Loooooove the idea! The execution is, well, good enough, but I feel like I want a little bit more from the gag :)

But a good one nonetheless on creative :)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46pm

You got some pretty cool music there! :)
Was nice to play!^^

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Very clever idea! I think you should take the idea and expand it into a polished game :) maybe it could be more arcade-y!
Anyway, great job ;D!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Hilarious game, I had to keep playing just to get to see all the punny names. Brilliant.

This could be better if you could better control your jump, but this was really solid entry regardless.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Really funny. The mechanics of this game are really similar to mine :).

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:40am

Very fun game. Not much gameplay but it is just fun to read the names. Maybe some characters animations would help the feels. Other than that, pretty creative.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very original!Kept playing for a while!Good job!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:47pm

The game was a little bit hard because I kept getting distracted trying to read the names. The best was "Richard Head".

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:03pm

@xgeovanni thanks for trying it. Glad the Linux build works.

My dad claims that he went to school with Richard Head. Maybe it didn't mean the same back then.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Haha, this is really delightful. Good fun simple gameplay with a really funny concept - loved the names!

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Really funny use of the theme, even if the game can be infuriatingly hard. Nicely done. :D

Audio could use some work though.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Fun and simple. I wish you had made some animations. Also it's pretty easy.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Brilliant idea! Wasn't paying much attention to the names at first, but Lance Boyle caught my eye haha.
Some stick guy animations would have been neat.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

jeje, very challenging, it seems easy at first, but it isn't ... :D ... i kept losing over and over ... where did you get that infinite credits list ? :D good job ... high rated on innovation and fun

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Great use of the theme. Controls were smooth and easy to use. Good job!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great idea! :D
Gameplay is fun and actually quite challenging at times since you're not allowed to go off-screen. Simple mechanics but great fun!

If you're a fan of puns this game will be an even bigger challenge since you'll be playing while trying to read all the names :P

dunin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:06pm

What a staff on this game!
funny idea.

garygreen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Some good puns in there. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]