Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dudley Digger Diamond Driller

by bigbazwa - Compo Entry

Dudley Digger must collect all the diamonds from each level! Drill into blocks to loosen the diamonds, then drill the diamonds to break them into smaller chunks to collect them. Watch out for bats and other hazards.

Each diamond you collect or bat you kill will increase your combo meter. This will reset after falling down the bottom of the screen.

You may receive an extra life at 100000, 200000 and 300000 points.

There are 10 levels in total.


Controls:
Left/Right or A/D - Move Left and Right
Spacebar - Start

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#181Fun3.55
#240Overall3.53
#281Audio3.16
#345Graphics3.41
#428Innovation3.29
#438Mood3.06
#508Humor2.55
#571Theme3.59

Comments

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11am

It's a very nice and funny game! But when I got to level 4 I couldn't move the dude anymore - he just stayed in mid air where he started. Great work anyway.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for playing! You've run into a hopefully rare bug that has happened to me a couple times, but have not been able to reproduce.

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Cool original idea! I loved the particles and sound effects too. I'm wondering if it the movement could be a little faster, but pretty good overall

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:45pm

very addictive, nice graphics, sounds and the music giving a great mood! nice

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Love the graphics. Suits the theme very well. My only negative feedback would be that near the end of each level it gets a bit boring because your chasing a single tiny crystal around which can be a bit frustrating. Maybe put a more stricked timer on it, with a more intense speed. Give a bit more sense of urgency. Otherwise, top job, I would like to see this game developed further.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Great entry! The game is really fun, very nice touch having the gems slightly attracted when you get close. Everything looks very pretty too. It's a bit of a stretch as far as the theme goes but overall really great!

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06pm

The controls feel right for the game, and the guy moves smoothly.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Very good arcade retro vector style game! Love it!

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Very smooth and fun. I liked it.

Quikding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24am

LEVEL COMPLETE!

Goes well with the theme - everything is on one screen. I was curious to see what would come in the next level.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00am

Great submission!

I LOVE the audio. Those bitcrushed voice and music fits the visual style very well!

Solid gameplay and good controls.

I like it!

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Feels very polished, good job!

lion123 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Mining a weird box kills you, but mining tnt is ok - it just sends you up into the air... Makes sense :)

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06pm

It was a surprisingly fun game! Nicely done! :D

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really cool game with graphics and audio that suit it really well. Nice one! :D

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08pm

It's fun to play. looks good and sounds good ~

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Like the retro style and sound, interesting controls mechanic - good job on getting this submitted for the compo!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice visuals - pretty fun game.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

pretty good! Liked the simplicity of the game.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Nice game! I really love the retro look, and its interesting how much depth you add as the game progresses. Impressive compo for sure.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

Quite simple perfect! I can see this in an arcade this very instant, it's so polished and plays so smooth! I wouldn't change a thing, now go contact Atari this instant!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13pm

good job! i like the idea, i like graphics and gameplay, i hate music and your voice :)

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice graphics and sound. Fun game, I enjoyed it. Nicely done :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:21am

I have a dream to be a diamond driller! My dream come true today! thank you xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]