Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Protector

by Rose - Jam Entry

The entire game is on one screen... a window screen! A horde of bugs is trying to invade your house - take them out with a flyswatter and then repair your screen before the next wave.

HTML5/Javascript

[Instructions]
- Flyswatter: click to swat.
- Hand: press and rub to repair the screen.
- Press the spacebar to toggle the flyswatter.
- You lose when 3 bugs get through the screen!

[Known Issues]
- No sound effects. I'll have to add them in a post jam update.

My website: http://roseabernathy.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Theme(Jam)4.30
#181Humor(Jam)3.31
#261Fun(Jam)3.37
#353Mood(Jam)3.25
#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#393Overall(Jam)3.33
#475Innovation(Jam)3.08
#509Audio(Jam)2.67
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

On theme in more ways than one.

Jerom-2014 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

lol

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Fun and charming! I hate flies but love charming games. Also, I wish I could fix my screen door by rubbing it.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

It made me remember the place where I grew up. It was full of flies!! Fun game!

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Wow, this game looks and plays really well! I like the delay when switching from/to the flyswatter, makes fixing the holes challenging!

Is anyone else now feeling nostalgic for Mario Paint? ;_;

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Simple and nice

vidarn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

First of, the graphics were great. One of the best looking games I've played so far this LD.
I liked the tactics involved in trying to pick the right moment to switch between the flyswatter and the hand and the slight panic of seeing the entire screen filled with files!
Great job, and fun game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

fun like the gfx. Some difficulty to controle the hand whit a mouse track pad

fullmontis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nive little game. I found it very enjoyable despite the simplicity. The need to switch the swatter makes the game deper than a mindless clicker which I like.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:17am

This was quite neat. Loved the graphics. It would make a nice mobile game, too. Great job!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:03am

Remind me so much Mario Paint :) So sad there is no sound fx. Good game and idea by the way!

Managore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:06am

I don't know how you came up with such a great idea! Switching between the swatter and hand adds a lot of depth to what might have been a frustrating experience otherwise. The visuals are fantastically cute and the whole thing radiates fun.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

Back to 2004 xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]