Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman's Land: SNOVERCHILL

by RHY3756547 - Compo Entry

===== IF THE GAME GOES DOWN, TELL ME AT @RHY3756547!! =====

One screen of almost unmanageably insane chaos! I'm not even sure I have a story for this game.

Shoot the other players with snowballs without crashing your Wicked Sick Hover Snowboard! You have two minutes to rack up points by performing flips, shooting down other players and most importantly, not dying! Use the jump mechanic extensively to dodge bullets and chase other players.

Invite your friends! If you have no friends, invite your family! It's no fun by yourself... :(

=== INSTRUCTIONS ===

Left hand over QWER+space, right on mouse! Click to shoot snowballs.

Rotate CCW: e
Rotate CW: r
Jump: space
Toggle Zoom: w
Scoreboard: tab

=== POST COMPO FIXES ===

8/12/2014:
- Optimized pos sync netcode.
- fixed K/D display.
- fixed respawn on joining session in progress (initially spawned you in wall)
- added simple HP display down at bottom right; it just looked like you got hit randomly sometimes.
- fixed jump misfiring
- rehosting on rpi, let me know if there are any problems
- firefox printing a box character after every single message
- fancy page

9/12/2014:
- fixed player position packets to only send when necessary! 5 players active at once should no longer DDOS the server with 300 packets per second (yikes!), now it's between 5 and 25 per second depending on what the player is doing.

=== LIBRARIES USED BY CLIENT ===
- glMatrix
- uh, the default canvas stuff?? does that count

=== MODULES USED BY SERVER (node.js) ===
- ws (websockets)
- connect (used for http host)
- serve-static (also used for http host)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.40
Coolness77%
#21Overall4.06
#40Humor3.78
#62Audio3.77
#72Mood3.69
#129Graphics3.89
#200Innovation3.66
#769Theme3.44

Comments

March says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This game is really impresive.
Tou can play online (!)
However I suck at it. :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16am

nice use of multiplayer, very fun game

mechabit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31am

awesome game, best in the jam

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

but this is compo :S

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

This song is so uplifting, I love it! Super fun.
The visuals are impressive too, especially for a compo entry. Great Entry!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01am

That was funny! :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

eep - you killed the server! I'll need to look into hosting on something other than a raspberry pi :P

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very well done - art was great, music went along well with it, and excellent use of multiplayer.

Quikding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

wow! very impressive! networked game that is fun, great graphics, and easy to get into. great work.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

It might take a little work, but I can greatly reduce the load per player using a few optimizations. Right now there are 60 (yikes!) packets per player per second - that can easily be reduced to 1-5 depending on how active the player's fingers are. :P

Javabot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

Love the gameplay, love the customizer, needs slow-motion. Felt like matrix.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

the 5 player DDOS problem should be mostly solved. Try to not invite more than 8 players though - there are only 8 spawn points :P

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Pretty fun game, took some time to get used to. Very innovative

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really impressive! Good to see other people playing also :D Cool idea :D Maybe there should be a tricks only server, where I dont get smashed, good job anyways :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This is really awesome. Everything feels great.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really awesome game. Great feedback. An online game in 48 hours. So impressive!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really great competitive fun here. I can see there being a decently high skill ceiling which would be why the dev #rekt everyone from the stream. Solid in terms of graphics and audio. Difficulty is a non-issue because it's a symmetrical competitive game. Good show!

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Extremely fun and addicting! Awesome music! My highest rating so far. :)
Only "bad" thing is when two players spawn inside each other, but that hardly takes away from the FUN!
Also I suck at aiming. D:

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Played it against dev, he is a nice guy. Also beat him once (yes!).

The game is tons of fun, great graphics and really catchy music.
Next LAN-Party there will be no CS:GO, only Snowman's Land: SNOVERCHILL.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Thanks yokcos! I've been playing a few competitive multiplayer games recently, which is where the inspiration for a hard-to-master game like this comes from. Ideally it would be great to have multiple levels to play against people on.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Playing for an hour and a half with you guys was a blast, really enjoyed it. Thanks for playing!

tudd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Oh hey Rhy, it's scratchisthebest. I think I remember you from somewhere. You made "Summer"?

Played by myself for a little bit. My best score is... -250 xD

The map didn't feel designed very well, I would often gravitate towards the top of the room. Some kickback on the snowballs would be a funny way to control yourself slightly in the air too :)

Music is bumpin' and I like how everything is so boingy :) graphics are really cute too. Networked games are daring for 48h, good job :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I've considered kickback - I feel that it would make it way too hard to shoot people. (it's already very difficult! perhaps you didn't try it if you were playing solo)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

I would love to see this game being played by 20 to 30+ people at a time. This would be the epitome of chaos.

Absolute perfect multiplayer setup. :) Props for getting that set up during a weekend! Most people only dream of multiplayer functionality when participating in a 2 to 3-day event! :D

The only thing I could possibly suggest would be better visibility for each individual snowman in the form of right-off-the bat different colored hats maybe? Or different colored names? But that's pretty much it. :)

Great job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44am

The different hats have to be chosen at the start! The zoom mode which is on by default makes it easy to see who you are, but I do agree that it probably needs some sort of indicator on respawn for the full view.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:47am

I played it alone. I still got a negative score. That was really sad.

Music stratled me at the start, though it probably makes more sense when there's more people playing and there's a bit of a havoc.

It's really impressive you got an online multiplayer going during a jam, that's really cool.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This game is ridiculous, and I love it. :D Landing a difficult trick is as satisfying as it should be, and I imagine multiplayer must be crazy fun.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Awesome Game! Well done! Love the graphics and the gameplay!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Online game! At a jam! Impressive! I had little hard time controlling the snowman. But it was fun nevertheless. Great job!

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Great game

Poupi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Excellent

RadStar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cool game! But controls were a bit hard to master and we die A LOT, sometimes I got suicide while in air as well. Using scrolling doesn't fit the theme either I think. Anyway, cool entry and nice music!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28pm

This game is awesome! There is a small learning curve because the action is so fast paced, but it is an amazing experience. The graphics are great, the music was fun to listen to and it was well polished!It reminded me of mini ssx. Job well done.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:38pm

That was madness, loved it.

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:42pm

This game is very fun and very nice !!! I love it !!

marsermd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:43pm

oh, my god how cool it is! Well, that's what i call a game! It is pretty easy to play and fun and action involved. And multiplayer, so you can kick asses! That's freaking cool!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

That's really impressive for a compo-entry. I mean, wow.

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54pm

It was very fun! I was not expecting to be multiplayer. You did amazing!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This is awesome. I have aready seen multiplayer games on LD but most of them was unfinished or not very playable. This is totally insane with 5 players, snowballs everywhere and ( lol ) 3 HP lifebar :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Cool mecanics and mood is great too. Well done ++

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:12pm

That was intense, I'm glad the server managed to keep up! Thanks for playing, and thanks for the comments!

I originally intended for the level to fill the whole screen all the time, but the zoom was just too good after I implemented it to leave out. So now my interpretation is kinda "the level is the screen, zoom into the screen". :P

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Super props to making a networked multiplayer game in 48 hours! I got a bunch of people in my stream to play and it was, as promised, super chaotic, but fun! I like that you chose to put a lot into feedback (like the flying snowman parts) knowing that this would probably be impossible to balance, good use of time :) Nice work!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:09am

Very fun entry, fitting music and great multiplayer implementation - fantastic job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

This is simply amazing! I need to get some friends to play this with =D

LMT says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20am

Insanely awesome game. And multiplayer!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17pm

The music is entertaining and the game as well. Looks good!

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Wow.
Fan
Tas
Tic
Best game i played so far, you managed to do this in 48h? Very impressive, Great job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really fun game. Online multiplayer in such a short time? Awesome work. The game is super chaotic and very fun. Nice work.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Terrific game man!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Amazing game, there are too many good things to say about this. I like to leave some criticism on the games I played but you stumped me.... ummm.... maybe it would be nice if the zoom level saved between rounds (I'd have to press w at the start of each round). The game is not only fun but very well rounded, I'd be surprised if this doesn't get a high rating.
It seems you interpreted the theme the same way I did, but your implementation is much better. Good work on this!

zopper says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:39pm

it's pretty fun, but unfortunately the creator can't over how good i am at his game

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

i got 37k last time i tried what did you get

that's right not even HALF that

NOT EVEN HALF

Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

Really fun entry, great job. :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:55am

Hehe, fun game. Well done! :)

---
Come and see ours.. :)

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41am

Enjoyed it, but I was the only one one the server. I imagine it would be a lot more fun with other people. Really like the music (sucker for chiptunes)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:14pm

No one around to play with right now :(

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Very fun to play !
Probably awesome with lot of peoples !
Great job !

Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Hell of a lot of fun even with 3 people. I'm so bad at this, but its such a cute little game to play I can see myself coming back.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:54am

I didn't play multiplayer, but from what I've seen it's looking good. I'll be back to replay and rate the game! :D

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:25am

Lots of fun in multiplayer, and hard to master! The hectic music and simple graphics fit the gameplay very well, and it can be very funny, even if someone is beating you by 30000 points. Great job, I'll be coming back to play this one again some time!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:46am

Rad game! Probably the most enjoyable game of the compo. Online networking with a raspberry pi is great. Unfortunately it broke and I got disconnected. No matter, it's great fun.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:51am

My internet went down as we were talking - one of the bad things about hosting on a pi is that it's connected to my disaster router which gives up working every second day. It's back up now.

naali says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:20am

I thought it was a fun game. One improvement could be a more elaborate trick system like uniracers.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:33am

What a great game, and with online multiplayer too! Might have fit the ☃ theme a good bit better, but with the ability to zoom out to one screen, and the multiplayer "everyone plays on the same screen" interpretation, it works.

I loved the simple controls, the fast pace, the lively music, the silly art and character customization, and just the whole package. The controls were brilliantly simple... I think this could even be adapted for mobile, with a simple tap for jump and tilt for spinning!

I can't offer much critique, but I can offer some suggestions. I think it could benefit from tilt mapping to speed control while grounded, for some added control. Also, being able to safely stomp snowmen as long as your skis are facing them when you hit... maybe the skis even blocking shots? That all said, fantastic work!

Sincerely, Dudeist Snowman

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:58am

Great work on this!
Congrats on finishing a multiplayer game :D
I love how simple it is, yet really fun (and difficult! Even solo, I am dying more than I should...)

One issue: On Ubuntu 14.04, it sometimes hangs after death (and sometimes before the match even starts - the first time I wanted to play, this happend, so I was confused and pressed all sorts of buttons).

At first I found it a little confusing that the ice makes you gain speed and that you can stick to the ceiling - but it doesn't hurt at all.

I'll try to check this out again with some friends!

(P.S. Thanks a lot for the the extensive feedback on our game as well. I wrote a response to it on our page and we already put in a lot of the changes you suggested.)

Lythom says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice entry, very fun ! Thanks for the game =)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Amazing cool game, i love the continues flow.
Well made!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This is really great! The multiplayer makes it extremely fun to play, competing with the other players. The graphics are great, and the gameplay as well!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Cool, there was even players online :)!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:03pm

"This was spankin'."
-IGN.com

"Delightful."
-IGN.co.jp

"Chilly."
-IGN.co.it

Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I don't stream video, but I managed to nail a 6x flip while Tech Valley Game Space (Omiya Games) was streaming :)
http://www.twitch.tv/techvalleygamespace/b/601013110?t=55m20s

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:40am

I saw, that was pretty sick! Looks like they had quite a bad experience with the game though - I forgot that people might have vertical screen sizes less than 768 :I also they didn't know the controls because they normally appear above the game! they also only played with like one person :(

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:37am

I liked it. Ignore all the IGN quotes.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This is pretty impressive. The game is fun, and challenging. Everything looks pretty good, and sounds pretty good. The controls are smooth. I wish there was a little bit of a wider range for landing cleanly. Great job.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Just played it again, this time with the sound on :P Nice music, and great SFX!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]