Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BindingOfIsaacTypeThing

by benjim - Compo Entry

WASD: move, IJKL/Arrows: shoot
All the rooms are one one screen, but you can't see where you will go next...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Fun3.71
#152Theme4.00
#180Innovation3.71
#314Overall3.44
#1139Graphics2.00
#2152Coolness22%

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

I didn't expect the room mechanic to throw me off at every point, really cleverly done. Definitely needs audio!!

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Nice take on the theme. Clean visuals. Simple music / sounds would help. Try sfxr!

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

Loved it, big fan of isaac games and this worked really well with the theme. Brilliant!

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Great!Gameplay is actually good!Some audio would make it instantly alive.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I thought this game was pretty cool! I think you could really go somewhere with the idea ^_^. I like the main game room mechanic and I think you can do a lot more with it.

Domantas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Really interesting mechanic, fun to play. Graphics and audio would be good, and also restarting from the very beginning was a bit frustrating. So overall gameplay is good, but at least sounds would improve it a lot.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Fun game play, I especially liked the room mechanic. It would be cool if doors took you to different places when gone through forward vs. backwards!

Also, like the other commenters, I think that some music would really make this shine. Nice entry!

rantt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Cool mechanic, forced you to have to memorize the rooms. Took me a lot of tries to beat it...lol. I liked it, it was a lot of fun. Nicely done :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:12am

This was actually really really fun! The level design was really good. It taught you throughout each room but also played with your expectations at every turn, but not in an unfair way. I really liked it! This was a really good idea. Also showing you the real pattern at the end was a nice touch! Sweet job dude. :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46am

Great game. Just missing audio and graphics to be a 5.

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice Idea!
This is great interpretation of the theme, one of the best I've seen so far!

Although it's a bit frustrating for some shitty reason I guess.
Maybe you should have give the player some health?
And also, right now killing the ennemies is an option, too bad. Locking the rooms while the player don't kill the ennemies would have been more interesting I think (harder but it would be fine with some health!)

appart from that, it's good lvl design I think, with a great idea that fits the theme so well!
Great surprise!

ps: what the hell does it have to do with binding of isaac? :D

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I liked this one a lot, shame you didn't have time for some audio, atleast some ... square wave sounds, ha ha ... oh.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Hands are shaking. Cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]