Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CUBE Clicker

by Polyganz - Compo Entry

How to play: Click the Cube.


Qotes:

“This game is so easy an unborn baby could play it!” - Some Guy, probably…

“Thats no moon…” - Admiral Ahkbar

“I clicked the cube and got another cube. 10/10, would play again.” - Another Guy, probably…


A Ludum Dare Compo game made in 48 hours by by Tobias Baumann (@Polyganz).
Release: 8.12.2014
www.tobiasbaumann.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Graphics4.32
#113Overall3.72
#113Fun3.68
#341Mood3.18
#520Humor2.53
#557Theme3.60
#925Innovation2.55
#2152Coolness22%

Comments

Ovidios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36am

THW Windows-Download doesn't seem to work... Hope you'll fix it soon!

NuSan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35am

Great design and style. The gameplay is addictive. A proper end with a timer and a score would have be nice. Keep up the good work!

davient says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Sooo perdy. Musst click more cubes!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Very nice, this is the game I have played for the longest so far, as NuSan Says, very addictive :)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Fantastic execution and great visual style. I probably won't play it a ton as this isn't my type of game, but it's really good. Some audio would have been a nice addition. Overall, well done!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59pm

This is very nice looking. Would be nice if there was a proper goal to this though!

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Too bad that it seems to pause when in background. I wanted it to run while rating other LDS's :D. I also liked the aesthetics. Good job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I managed to make that hi-spheres have a negative production (int overflow?) XD
I can boast the score of -750,000,000,000, the game is over technically!
Nice entry, and cool graphics!

remicy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56pm

excellent graphics!
It's addictive, I have played 1+ hrs until it's bugged.

BUG 1: http://i.imgur.com/tWi8tj1.png
BUG 2: ship speed upgrade doesn't work.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Okay.... OOOKAAY... No. I took therapy, I will NOT click the cube. I... will NOT... click.... click... click................................. click... D:

Help D:

Anyway, I work at a lab for computer graphics, and all of us... every single one of us who work here, were gathered around a computer, playing CUBE CLICKER. You, sir, are responsible for stopping ground breaking research at a university graphics lab for half an hour... :D

Still! I found a bug. The tooltip for extractors shows the number of spheres.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Noticed the same bug as Liam D.

Still, great work - I played it mainly because it looks great.
I also love the whole "gathering" idea... I might make a game with that as the main gameplay element some time...

Funny fact: I upgraded the first upgrade a few times, just for the heck of it and I'm now at 17,714,700 credits as the cost for the next level (which lets me get 12 credits per click). I just did the maths -> in order for that upgrade to be worth it, I'd have to click more than 1.4 million times. :D

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Oooh, I've always been a fan of incremental games. I really like the visuals and how the machines get displayed in game, which is something I miss from a lot of these type of games

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Amazing Idle Game, x100 better than mine! :D

rev0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Hah. Great. Finished it too. I mean till the INT limit [url=http://postimg.org/image/8mo3fdja7/][img]http://s11.postimg.org/8mo3fdja7/won.jpg[/img][/url]

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Cuuuuubes! It's complately pointless and really engaging :D Visuals are awesome, too bad there is no even ambient music... Why so little is making a music. Anyway, good game to put into the tab and wait for cubes to spend :)

Polyganz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31am

Thanks for the bug reporting. I made an update. They should all be fixed now. Changed the number type to double so a 16 digit amount of cubes is possible now. Happy clicking :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39am

Awesome design and graphics ! It's really fun o play it ! Congrats!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49am

I've played an unhealthy amount of cookie clicker. Looks like I'll be playing an unhealthy amount of this too haha. Great job!

fireAndCoffee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

You sir have gotten me to invest more time than I'd ever imagine clicking a pretty cube. I'd really like to see this on a mobile format. I could definitely see some people playing this in short bursts and trying to see what they can max out.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55am

Very cool game. Simplistic and somehow still a lot of fun. The web version took a long time to load for me.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59am

Just what I needed you son of a bitch another addictive clicker game. :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05am

Mining operations running at maximum! We must harvest the ever-cube for all that it is worth!

very satisfying game. Loved the visuals and clear UI. Wish there was sound...

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:08am

Whens the app coming out, I need it.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12am

Very pretty graphics, and well scaled upgrades. Nicely done.

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:28am

Wow, that was really great! Looks great and it's really addicting to just sit there and click a lot. Some kind of objective would really be great though, I wanna use my cubes to do something more meaningful! Well done!

Devark says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Clicking adds no real difference late game despite the name 'Cube Clicker". This looks brilliant but lacks variety and any real interactivity. It's extremely and strangely addictive though. Seems to be no better strategy than to keep doubling the h-sphere's output.

Currently I'm on -4.7 billion a second and my score's -66 billion and falling ... All my hard work for nothing! :P I can't buy anymore upgrades ...

Polyganz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53am

@Devark: ah damn! overlooked that bug. Its fixed now. :)

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15am

This is much more addicting than I thought it would be. Great graphics btw!

StejkRobot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I'm still playing

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nooo... Not another drug!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

this game is nuts... lol
I thought I'll find a treasure in the center of the cube after I am done harvesting it :p

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

Must. Stop. haha. Fun and addictive. Nice gfx. Great to see the Unity WebGL export in the wild.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Classic clicker with fancy graphics and particle effects. Fun but not really innovative i have to say ;)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Not my favourite genre of game to be honest, but really well executed! Nice work :)

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Just place banner on the cube and you will be a milliner!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Amazing game. Look what you just did to me!!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYNyg3UMP9o
Great game btw!!!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Stylish! Much nicer than Cookie Clicker, and pretty!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20pm

This is very nice looking. Would be nice if there was a proper goal to this though. Neat ++

jackrugile says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:47am

This is in my top games for this LD for sure. I've spent the most time on this one out of all of them. The graphics blew me away. This could be huge if it got developed a little further with some music and sound effects. Keep it up!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56am

It's beauuuuutiful. Definitely should develop this into some packaged thingy, it's getting a lot of love!

PS: Add goblins.

Polyganz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:49pm

@Warboys, lol dude!!! Are you a magician? The original concept was based on dungeon keeper and you were to use hire goblins to farm the gold from a mine. The original script that controls the sphere is still called GoblinActor.cs! :D

Lythom says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice entry, lack a bit of innovation in my opinion but still enjoyable !

ianh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:32am

I really like the graphical style here! This kind of game has been done to death, but I enjoyed it anyway.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:35am

It feels like an actual game, I got into it. The mindlessness of the clicking and knowing you don't want to stop makes for terrifying self reflection.

Thanks.

Logun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:37am

A nice click/upgrade game :) I am still playing, just because I want to seee more LAZARS !

Erhune says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:01am

Someone has played too much cookie clicker here ^^

andrs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:07am

excellent! So simple game mechanics can turn into such a addictive and fun game.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:21am

Awesome graphics, really addictive.

exoddinary says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice game. i like it :) , though i like it more if it had more explosions! xD

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:43am

Very addictive game, had trouble just stop playing it :D

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:43am

Colorful and addictive, well done.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Very well done: very nice effects, very addicting, very cubey.

Luvly entry.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Wow, most addictive game ever! I had to promise myself to only play until all upgrades and items in the store were 500,000 or more. Even so it was hard to leave it. One of the best games in this LD for sure! Congratulations!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:25pm

What have you done noooooooo....
click click click aww nice shader click click click

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice looking, pretty easy to play. Is there any way to win it or it's a never ending story?

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:14pm

mindlessly addictive, gorgeous visuals, well done

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Very addictive for some reason. Amazing graphics! good job.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:30am

Fun in a cookie clicker sort of way, though would have been a whole lot better with sfx/music. Also more content, but that's understandable (with the whole 48 hours and all)

bconrad217 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:15am

Addicting! Love these kinds of games. Would've enjoyed more stats and progression, but nice art!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:29am

now I'm in the mood to eat cookies...

Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I really like clicker games: cookie clicker, cube clicker, etc. :)
Good looking particles. Well done!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:30am

I think you overused the shader a bit. Looks very blurry.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:51am

Very addictive! I wish there are some final goal like extract whole cube.

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:41pm

You mad genius you, this is a Bogostian nightmare. Now here's the question- how much can we strip away before this stops being addictive? Cows, then cookies, now a cube. What next?

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Visuals were great! Nice job! Excellent take on an idle clicker game!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Really enjoyable, and really nice graphics. Well done. :)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:11pm

This game is better than Click The Cow

Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I only wanted to try this out for a couple of minutes and here I am 15 minutes later. Why is watching numbers going up so addictive? I know this isn't the most original game out there but I really like the graphical presentation of it.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:26am

A compulsive clicker mechanics with a little of "improve management" give this game a strange feeling.
At first I was "wait, you just have to click ? humm... not sure."
Then "ah ah it's cool, click more MORE MORE"
And finally, "so, I have bought this thing, improve this one. I don't have to click anymore..."

I think it miss a little something to keep it "click furious" until the end.

SumGato says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:33pm

This game has a flaw that many idle game share: every item except the most powerful one becomes useless in a short time.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:14pm

the webgl version didn't work (tried in chrome and firefox).

Too bad there is no sound at all :(

xaedes says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Fun clicker game. Somehow abstract concept with the cube. It was very addictive to play. I wish it also had sound and music.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Nice idle game, but unlike other idle games, I actually have something pretty to look at, I like that.
I can understand that it's hard to have sound effects that don't get repetitive when played +100 times a second, but I think some music would have been great.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Oh, and I should add: it just eats too many resources (currently ~30% CPU) to play it like a proper idle game. I guess that's why other idle games don't have fancy graphics...
Maybe don't render/calculate the graphics while the window is minimized?

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The game is nice, but I really miss the sounds.
Also, I found a bug: to buy a sphere you need to have at least 11 points. Looks like you placed > instead of >= somewhere.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pssst - You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cbK0cTrfXs

Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Super addictive ;D
Add some crazy audio stuff for a post-compo version and put it online. Regarding the graphics: the style does it job pretty well.

jpmit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

Great job!

paperweight says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Addictive for some reason but shallow.

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

That game is very addicting. You did a good job making it just like other games of this kind. But, that's what I didn't like, it's just another cookie-clicker clone. The only thing I really liked is graphics, the game looks really cool.
Speed upgrades are useless, I need to buy a plenty of them to double the production rate, which I can do with just one gathering upgrade. Also, once I unlock a better type of production, the worse ones become useless, but that's a common issue for games like this one.
It was fun to play until I bought everything. I expected to see a twist of some kind, but I didn't.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]