Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

LiliLight

by Carduus - Jam Entry

Lili is stuck in her Nightmare, help her to chase her Demons in order to wake up!

ZQSD/WASD to move Lili
Mouse to aim light!

Her TorchLamp, named " Max Power " burns demons! Make'em "toasty" ! (cf: MK3)

At the begining the game should have been a story game, but we struggled a lot with **** of **** of fu***** technicals issues Y_Y (new Haxe API Luxe, tons of frustration)
So here is an humble "Arcade Version" made this last 2 hours
Tell us how many demons you burnt!

There is a memory leak at the moment, so please, refresh if it's too laggy , sorry ><

The good news is that you be sure to play the "AAA Story Mode" soon (with 3D lens flare normal maped and double Rainbows OMG!)

Code, Awesome raycast lighty things, & Blood Tears: LooPing / @looPingC2
Music & Sounds: Valmont / @ValmontDeRag
Graphics: Carduus / @CarduusHimself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#6Audio(Jam)4.30
#8Graphics(Jam)4.68
#14Mood(Jam)4.22
#44Overall(Jam)3.98
#115Fun(Jam)3.67
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#265Innovation(Jam)3.45
#435Humor(Jam)2.70

Comments

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

I really like the graphics and the sound, eery atmosphere, but it was laggy for my computer. Overall, great job!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33am

Awesome game. I can't believe you guys did this in 72 hours. Amazing artwork and sound. :D)

runvs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16am

Great game. The soundtrack suits perfectly to the game and creates a great atmosphere.
The graphics are gorgeous!
It's really fun to play. :)

01101101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

It's amazing how fast you go from hunter to prey in this game and how stressful that can be at times ^^
Great job on the mood: graphics, audio and gameplay go very well together to make this dark world.
One minor thing though: the main character tends to slide a bit when you let go of a movement key and it makes it a bit tricky to go through doors sometimes.

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Is Motion Twin closed for Ludum Dare? It looks like all the staff is participating. Fun Game though, I can't wait to play AAA GOTY version.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

stupid spiders -_- i always die.
interesting game :)

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23pm

She burnt 37 demons with me.
Creapy mood and music... I love it :)
Your game remember me a lot another game that will be released soon by Frédérick Reynal : 2DARK.

TheCams says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The graphics are awesome as usual and the music fits perfectly the mood. With a bit more gameplay mechanics (life up or power up) that would have been perfect :)
Nice job !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Really enjoyed the audio. Cute game, great job!

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

The music is PERFECT. It's really a shame you got stuck on technical issues :( I would really love to see your first concept turned into a full game. WHERE ARE YOU MAX POWER?!

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Super cool mood, art ans music! Stayed on game over screen to listen!

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44am

i was really a bit scared, hate to admit..nice job! cool style

plash says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:46am

This is really promising. Excellent mood and music. The AI is just right.

obskyr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49am

I agree with plash: the AI really helps with actually making the game feel scary. I really did feel a bit frightened, what with the excellent, dark sound design and art, and the line of sight mechanic making things harder on you. Great work!

Team Buttface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:51am

Wow, the mood is great. I instantly liked the art and sound design. I feel like the gameplay needs something extra, although I'm sure the whole game will be great!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55am

Artwork, sound, and gameplay are all great! Really impressed!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55am

Awesome entry!

Valandre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

Very good entry, imho, the music is very cool but to loud and lead the game to action. Less music and random creepy sounds could be better for mood. It's a 5 stars game anyway!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice looking, but the gameplay feels reversed : I was expecting having to run away from monsters, not actually running after them to kill them.

One of the rules of the Ludum Dare : don't try a new technology during LD. You should have kept good old Haxe/Flash for instance.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Man I loved those graphics. Great job

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44pm

WOW awesome graphics and concept!!
i love the atmosphere it creates with the dynamic light and the music :D

lots of stars ;)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

wow, very creepy, well done

anael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47pm

awesome

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Reaaaaallly Awesome, the graphics are amazing, the music is great and the concept is really nice. The thing I might say is that it might be an idea to add some other goal to the game, because I found you could just sit in a corner with your torch aimed at the exit and rack up a pretty good score. Either way, really nice job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Amazing graphics and audio! The mood you created was spot on!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:03pm

What a scary atmosphere. The sounds are perfect and the idea of a little girl chasing demons with a flashlight is very good. Beautiful title screen and beautiful game overall. We will share it on Twitter so more people can play it :)

mactinite says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Awesome game. I love the graphics and the gameplay.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16pm

One of the best games I've played from this jam. Interesting mechanic, great music and art. Very impressed.

camlang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Excellent performance!5/5

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Damn demons, they die so slowly.
I can't tell you anything else, cuz I'm thrilled of awesomeness of your game. Best sound and music so far. :)
I don't even want to close the browser tab..

---
Come and see us here: http://goo.gl/d1gAZl

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Great lighting effects. Something I struggled with in my own game! How did you do the smooth realtime shadows? nice!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55pm

This a real gem. Fantastic job on this Carduus - you've made something great here!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool! That's some awesome art and music. I enjoyed the game. I hope to see the completed version soon.

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Probably the best game I've judged so far.

InHelli says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

haha ) good job. ) GOOD idea to use the darkness to hide the screen)

P.S. play our game, will be suprised )

Carduus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Thanks for all the comments !
For specific questions you can directly ask on our twitters (which are now in the game description) !
To share you love back, you can now download the music here if you liked it:
https://soundcloud.com/valmont-de-ragondas/lililight-theme

Bisous :-*

InHelli says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

haha ) good job. ) GOOD idea to use the darkness to hide the screen)

P.S. play our game, will be suprised )

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Love the sense of helplessness that games, where your primary weapon is just a torch, make.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:00pm

You guys did a really cool game here :) If you plan to develop more this idea I would go for objectives, picking items, opening doors and walls etc :D

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice music and graphics, enjoyed as it felt better than the Luigi's Mansion minigame in Nintendoland. Hope you can further develop it :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice work, lovely art and spooky mood. Solid title with awesome sounds and atmosphere.

Xaychru says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Awesome graphics and music! Too bad the game rapidly becomes repetitive, but it's a really nice experience anyway.

kierygeek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I couldn't get the audio to work (running in safari), but holy shit. Good job <3

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Solid game overall, the pixel art is top notch !

Just a thought : I think hiding the mouse is not necessarily a good idea. While the light give you the direction of the mouse relative to the character, you can't tell how much you have to move the mouse to turn the light at 180° (for example) since it depends on its distance from the character.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I wish you'll have a fixed version soon, because my computer is too old to play it as it is, and I always like your LD entries, so I really want to try this one... T_T

Mase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:25am

Obviously the game looks excellent. Nice variety of props. The shadows look great.
Lili's walking animation could benefit from some directional variants; it looks a little too basic against the polished background.

It's too easy; I found that the best strategy was to just camp out in a corner. Some way of forcing the player to move is needed. The demons just keep peeking into the room until they die.

kaa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59am

Very good and interesting game! Outstanding graphics and addictive gameplay

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:50am

Graphics and atmosphere are amazing. For me, the arcade gameplay doesn't match the game style, I will be really good with the story mode.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37am

The game looks and sounds absolutely beautiful! I am in love with the art style, super well done. :D

Yeah story mode I'm sure fits it a lot better then scoring for killing the demons. It's actually pretty easy to exploit right now, just by going into the bathroom and shining your light outside. I have it going right now and demons keep running into the light (killed 31 so far). XD

However it's an amazing start! When I play it pretending that I have to walk around to different locations, it's rather spooky and very challenging! Awesome work guys.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:24am

Excellent graphics, excellent sound, makes stay you in tension all the time. Not easy but very fun to play! Excellent work!

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:07am

Impressive job! Looks absolutely stunning. The fun thing is that I made a similar prototype a while ago, so if you're interested in additional battle-proven mechanics, here's a couple:

Some kind of demons might leave footprints that are only visible in the spotlight to help player track them down.

There could be windows in the walls that demons could escape through when they're about to be burned, just to enter back from the other side (I guess this only works when they're in limited quantities).

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09am

Burn, burn, burnnn! ;)

feizenbara says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29am

Fun entry, and gorgeous!
There's a bit to do with the AI as you can just stick in the toilets, pointing at the door to survive forever and get kills slowly.
By the way, I got a bug where I could go though walls on the very bottom right part of the toilets, and my character got stuck outside the screen, see a screenshot:
http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/647937StuckOut.png

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:38am

Cool game ! I like the fx sound and graphics, they're very polished for a jam game :)
Maybe you could have pushed the gameplay a little further with small collectibles that would improve the character. I feel it misses a little replayability.
That put apart, great job :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15am

Art is great, really polished and the intro audio worked really well in setting the mood. Did have issues with sliding through walls and objects and out of the screen but impressed at how polished the audio and graphics are. Also demons appearing was a nice touch.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:25am

Awesome game! Excellent graphics and music, also very nice to see Luxe being used so well. Goob job guys!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Beautiful, lovely graphics and very atmospheric music! Can't wait to play to "AAA Stoy Mode" :)

Silii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Oy oy oy, dat graphics, dat game.. :3

Burn them all ! :')

arzi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I love the pixel art! Thematically it's not unlike our game :) The game play is also very smooth and the controls work intuitively. Great job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Impressive art style and really cool gameplay! Add some leaderboards!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:55pm

very cute game, lots of potential here! :D

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Beautiful graphics, great idea! The game's pretty hard. I think I burned 5 demons or so. They hit hard! Looking forward to the story version!

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:56am

Sound is fantastic. I like the idea of killing monsters with the light. No need of a gun. Promotional pictures are prettier than the actual sprite of the character, but it is still very good.

Linear says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:50am

If anything, I hope you guys win.

nicso says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Graphics and audio are really cool, and the gameplay itself works fine. But
the fact you have to chase the demons removed all the scary mood that the game should have :(

anissen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really awesome game! Excellent graphics and mood and a very nice handling of the ray cast lighty things :) Very well done!

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:14am

Wow really awesome art and great concept here that remember Deepnight games mood, somes tech issues but is very enjoyable, great work for a great game ! :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Very atmosheric and scare game! Gameplay presented very well, yeah. Sometimes I realy jumps on my hot-seat! Good job!

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Very good mood and gameplay ! The music is very good too !

wilbefast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:05pm

The music is extremely creepy o_O

It's a shame you guys didn't manage to put in everything you wanted (changing floors, etc) - we all have to cut corners ;)
It's still a very playable game though, good fun and, as I said, very creepy.

I found the AI rather unpredictable, sometimes running away and sometimes charging at me, but I suppose that serves the mood of the game - it makes them all the more dangerous and frightening ;)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:42am

brilliant idea! Played in the proper setting, this could actually be a pretty serious survival horror game. There's a great use of the classic "fight or flight" decision in both the player's actions and the AI of the enemies, who seem to rush at you desperately just as frequently as they run away from the light in fear. A truly original and interesting game, and one of the more pleasant experiences I've found over the course of the jam.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Really enjoyed the game. really liked the sppoky feeling at the beginning

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Sweet!
The graphics were amazing!
It felt a bit repetetive after a while, but you've definitely got the foundations for a really fun game.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Beautiful graphics, the shadows feel very smooth.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:24am

Great artwork and sound!

Namide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:46am

I really like sound, graphic design and ambiance.
The cry of the monsters "DA!" catch me!
Awesome work!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Wow... fantastic game!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:48am

Love the concept of the perspective and flashlight line of sight. Can't wait to see if you guys take this and continue it. Can totally seeing this as another great horror game about a kid thrown into the thick of some freaky demonic wiz biz. Like among the sleep.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:06am

This is a great entry. Props to LarryChupacabra for reviewing it. I might not have found it otherwise. Mechanic is fun, the mood and audio are great, the visuals fit nicely. The controls are a little sticky at times, but not too bad. Well done.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:20am

Yeah, similar concept with us! But your audio and scene design is quite good! And the light visibility algorithm is also awesome. A problem I found is sometimes the game may lag and when that happens, the character may pass through the wall... Overall, good job!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very dramatic music, really adds the atmosphere of the game. Nicely done.

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:48am

Good art and music! Simple yet effective gameplay. Maybe score could increase by 10s or 100s (you know... we like numbers when they're big!).

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I finally manage to play with Chrome, but FF (at least on my computer) seems unable to pass the first black screen.
I would have miss something good : I liked the global mood, and the look of the monsters, they are so hideous, this young girl is very brave, I would hide under my comforter at her place... XD Well done, good entry. :)

Erhune says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:40am

Very well done. I was impressed by the enemy AI, it's really well balanced between offense and defense!

Backterria says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:59am

Excellent entry!Graphics,audio,gameplay everything perfect!Love to see it going further..

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Excellent game!
Great atmoshpere, magnified by the beautiful graphics, music and sound effects.
Nice use of the field of view as your weapon.
A note regarding controls: it's a bit hard to get through doorways on the horizontal axis, due to the top-down view.
Very well done overall !

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Genius, I love the gameplay. And the graphics are really cool.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:44pm

5/5 for all. Great game!

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Great atmosphere, graphics and music fit well. But you shouldn't leave gameplay until the end. For me, it's a very appealing but not very interesting to play game. I can stay in the corner of the starting room and alternate lighting between two doors, and that makes me almost invincible. I got 100 kills without losing a single heart. If you'd force the player to change position somehow, that'd be much more interesting.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very, very impressive graphics. Music was perfect, and the gameplay was fun, nice work! My only problems were that the light rays should have illuminated the walls, and that there should have been and endgame screen to highlight your final score. Otherwise, this is a very impressive entry.

xaedes says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Awesome light & graphics. The sounds especially the laugh in the beginning are quite exquisite too!

ElViejoZunY says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:02pm

This game should be in Arkadeo, or like a new game, the musice, the theme, it´s just perfect

25 is my record and getting better

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Gorgeous art, and the effects work well with the gameplay. Sorry to see that this is notably less than you'd planned, but cutting everything you can to squeeze out the fun at the end is one of the more unique and valuable things about jams!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Very nice visuals and atmosphere. A little more "game" would be cool, but still, pretty impressive. :)

Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:37am

Died at 9 ;_; This is actually really scary! I think it's helped most by the audio, and your AI is very good. The bugs behave very realistically... sometimes you're chasing them, sometimes you're being chased... it's so dynamic! I expected the critters to just pop open when I flashed them, but the way they behave really kicks up the tension. I'm looking forward to story mode, perhaps with different creatures and powers... ?!

Thank you for the game! It's good :>

Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Psst - You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9hwBJ5KKDM

okkolobr says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Gorgeous graphics, scary gameplay.

Can't wait to have the story mode :)

Well done guys !

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:36am

Great stuff. I'm very much looking forward to the post-compo release.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:49am

Really enjoyed playing that, well done :)

-C

Dexyne says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Well done! Nice sounds, graphics and atmosphere!

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

Scary as crap game!!!! Sadly I couldn't get the music/sound to play on my machine (not sure why...running a Mac with newest Safari) which is a bummer, but I'll just assume by the other comments that it was amazing and rate accordingly.if you added objectives later on, like go check on a little sibling or go find your loft teddy bear, and such to get you to have to move locations, I can see this game exploding on the indie game market. Well done!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really well done (and thank you! finally a game that works with an azery keyboard).

It's a shame the game feels so... unfinished. I gave you plenty of stars for the packaging, and really wanted to give it a 5/5 overall but this doesn't really feel like a complete game unfortunatly

reverso13 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

amazing graphics

keb says ...
Feb 19, 2016 @ 10:15pm

it's fantastic. plz release source for us newbies learning luxe :^)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]