Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Chambers

by Steven Colling - Compo Entry

Dragon Chambers is a crafting puzzle game: you combine items and objects and try to find the recipes. I hope you are in for a mental exercise! Tell me how far you got and your score in the comments below!

The game requires .NET 4 and XNA 4 to run. You can download them here:

.NET 4: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
XNA 4: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Use of the theme: You only have a small piece of the window and you drag it around to see other parts of the world. Its your window to this world in a metaphoric sense, but it's also relevant for the game itself: every exploration tour generates new items and objects to interact with, but only on the places shown on the screen. Therefore, try to get maps to increase your scope both literally and within the world.

Controls/Gameplay: Everything has tooltips. Mouse only plus crafting on SPACE.

I made a walkthrough video here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjwPGiU4R-o&feature=youtu.be

If you get stuck, you can check how to progress. Anyway, I hope you have fun tinkering around and guessing the solutions on your own!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#76Graphics4.04
#86Mood3.65
#92Overall3.78
#106Theme4.10
#127Innovation3.86
#174Audio3.39
#283Fun3.39
#371Humor2.77

Comments

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Good job! Nice game:)

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Good game, but it kind of got frustrating and tedious after trying to figure out what to craft and how to craft it. I restarted several times. But the graphics and "scroll around the screen" are the best I've seen in LD31 yet!

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice interface ! Love the fact to move the mouse to see the entire game. Graphic are very polished.

But the crafting is really hard... After your explanation, I succeed to craft some meat and that's all. I can't go explore anywhere because I miss stuff.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22pm

This is freaking awesome! Never seen anything like this before, probably it's best game in 'Theme' rating. So clever.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Hey! I feared that it's too hard for a game jam game, so I'm currently making a little walkthrough...

GFM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice game!

I was able to unlock the Stalker's Veld, but couldn't do much more, afterward.

Cool mechanic of moving a virtual screen inside the game's actual screen. =D (well, that's how I think it was done XD)

Reminded me of doodle god. :)

01101101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice take on the theme, really cool art and fun gameplay. Too bad I couldn't figure out how to unlock a second area :/ I made the boots but that's as far as I got... Any hint for me? ^^
PS: I had to switch from my 1440x900 screen to my 1280x1024 one because the game window was appearing too low and was cropped.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:37pm

@01101101: sorry for the resolution switching. Such window things are dangerous to implement for this very reason :D As I said I'm making a short walkthrough.

@GFM: I'm using XNA/.NET 4 and created a so-called form-element which holds the game window and hide the form's borders. Then I move the window position on drag tick by tick a bit so the update- and draw-loops are still called (window dragging would freeze the game :D). Never heard of Doodle God!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

So I finally added a walkthrough video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjwPGiU4R-o&feature=youtu.be

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Fantastic game, I loved it. Getting the bait fish wasn't very intuitive, nor was the idea of using different resources on the dark tunnel. The tunnel I can forgive, since the basket forages and the pick mines, but a basket in water is kind of strange.

I did love this game though and it would be amazing to see it go more in depth!

Quikding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

Scrolling aspect is really neat! I can't figure out how to craft the torch.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

@JayCee23: I agree with the bait fish, sorry! Thank you for the feedback.

@Quikding: you get the torch by combining a stick with torch oil. For the torch oil you have to trade a bear fur with the trading ship. Or in total: basket + river = bait fish, cut grass = rope, stick + rope + bait fish = fishing rod, fishing rod + river = pickerel, pickerel + forest = bear, bear + lance = dead bear, dead bear + knife = bear fur, bear fur + trader = torch oil, stick + torch oil = torch. Thanks for playing!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59am

I love this game! It has really awesome idea and is very clever made. Visual and audio is also great. Unfortunately I weren't able to create clothing, I ended with 3 wolf's fur and a score of 1214.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

@Tommyno222: you can make the fur directly to clothes by selecting it and hitting the crafting button! :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The window effect was a cool idea and the graphics are great! Game was a bit slow for my taste.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very nice game. Really like the screen effect :)

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58pm

very original! great!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really unique puzzle. Craft to adventure is something I haven't seen before- pretty cool!

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:12pm

This entry is super awesome. The concept is amazing and the execution is flawless. Great mood, great interpretation of the theme, great audio, and on top great fun. Awesome job! The exploration mechanic is great.

Sestren says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:14am

The walkthrough really helped when I got stuck a few times. I really like the approach you took with this one. The sound effects are nice, and the interface is very unique and interesting.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice game!!!
And you worked with XNA!!! You deserve my vote!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice take on the theme. Like some others, I quickly got stuck in front of items. A sort of hint (buyable with XP) would have been nice.
Cool game though

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Nice game!
I really like finding the crafting recipes.
To be honest, I don't really see the point in the "drag the view window around" mechanic. I found it quite tedious to draw the view around, before you can combine items from defferent areas. It looks cool that way, no question, but I think it would be cooler, if the view would simply expand, when you unlock a new area.
I played until I unlocked the third area and had really much fun, but stopped, because only the top two rows of the third area were visable to me (the third one was below the bottom border of my screen) and I wasn't able to figure out, how to move the whole gamewindow around. It would be nice, if the game would start centered on screen, or in the top left corner.
The audio was great! The music has set the mood really well, and the sfx were nicely fitting.
All in all great work!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:29pm

@StMatn: sorry for the screen positioning bug! The dragging around is part of the exploration mechanic. If you hit the button for generating new items, only the slots within the window get new items. Furthermore, there are items to increase the size of the window. Both are used in a figurative sense, where you "travel around by moving the screen" and "explore your near environment", extending it with the map item. Thanks for the feedback though.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This is one of my favorite games so far! Sadly, I could only do the first two areas - the other two are off the bottom of my 1366x768 screen.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:51pm

So sorry, I just had no time to make proper settings available. It's a very strange idea and not so friendly for small resolution users...

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Great design! The crafting was well thought out, moving screen around was an interesting touch. I loved the look and sound of it, great work!

01rafael says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

Craft puzzles are great! IMHO here is lack of intuitivness. But anyway Sir your game is awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]