Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Slam Dunkin's Beat The Crap Out Of Everybody

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

An homage to an excellent fighting game played on One Screen in the old Commodore days.

FYI - all of the character artwork was created by my 7 and 10 year old (mostly the seven year old). Except for the backgrounds...I got those from the net.

The music is a rip from the original International Karate game for the C64.

While the game can be played against the Computer, it is best played with another person. Preferably you can play with a good friend, relative or enemy.

Fun for everyone, fun for the Holiday Season!

Do you have what it takes to beat everyone?

Controls:

Player 1:

A=Left, D=Right, W=Attack

Player 2:

LeftArrow=Left, RightArrow=Right, UpArrow=Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Humor(Jam)3.81
#290Audio(Jam)3.23
#397Fun(Jam)3.19
#460Mood(Jam)3.09
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#737Theme(Jam)3.27
#755Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The humour level for this is off the chart :D

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Oh i had so much fun trying out every character. It feels a bit random but really good job overall.
I think it would be better without dummy but still nice :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:34am

Nice game. I like the local multiplay! Works quite well! voice acting is good swell. Overall great job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:40am

Only one word to describe this: "Awesome" Haha, but seriously, this was a lot of fun :)

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:43am

lmao once i figured out what i was doing this one was amazing. so funny. good job.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44am

Hilarious. I'll have to remember to try the multiplayer on this - seems like it would be a blast.

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44am

Wow so many characters! Awesome entry, love the wire-fu and the voice work is excellent!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:30am

Haha, pretty funny! I like these games with slapstick movement borne of physics-based controls.

jpcote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:36am

Very funny game but the controls are a bit meaningless. Just mash every button and hope to win lol

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44am

> jpcote - i am fixing the controls for a post compo - there are a few "balancing" issues - seriously tho point taken - but my kids absolutely love the game - thanks for playing

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32am

good sound work and diversity of characters. love the game. great job!

flatgub says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02am

This is hilarious!
It took me a little while to figure how to attack properly, but after i figured it out i had a great time!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Slightly frustrating gameplay, but it adds a huge level of humor to the experience.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:08am

Hilarious! I especially love all of the sounds.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27am

haha... im not going to be able to get the phrase "Aweserb" out of my head. swear it said that almost every time.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:29am

Wow I had a blast playing this! Reminded me of an old game called "Die By The Sword". I love the sound / music. Graphics were very fun and the chaos created by the controls made it just very fun to play. Nice work

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:10am

Tried single player. On easy the opponent just stood there moving a little. I feel like if I had left the game for an hour and then come back, there would not have been a single successful attack from the AI. And on hard, the opponent was just flailing around on top of the screen, again, no successful attack. Controls seem a little weird.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:44am

Hilarious ! Great work on this one ! :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

Ha, liked the IK+ influence, surprised that game hasn't had more successors! The character customisation is a cool addition. I found the controls a little hard to get the hang of, but there's potential for a really funny game here, hope you keep working on it!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice throwback using modern technology :D Narration adds a lot to the game, as do the multiple characters and background. Passion went into this.

sikosis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Would recognise that music anywhere :) Nice 8 bit background and whilst I didn't have a 2nd person at the time I review it, it seemed to work pretty well albeit a little wonky with the characters.

uvwar says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:32am

Pretty dang awesome all around.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:47am

That was hilarious, such a random game. And the AI actually works! Very cool. Good job :)

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

Very funny!nice entry!

Budaniel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:29am

Love the music, and the action was crazy frantic.

hbocao says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:11am

Awesome!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Funniest thing I've ever seen

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:09pm

nice, it's a little rough, but it's pretty cool, well done

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:27am

Hahaha, it's IK-QWOP :D

Crosstales says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Yeah, great game - cool ragdolls and funny homage (Karate Fighter?). Sound is also awesome ;-)

Very well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Fun once you figure it out, but the first time you play you might end up both falling backwards from each other, and I never figured out how to stand up.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:37am

Well, as others have said, you fall down almost immediately and the single-player opponent doesn't do anything, which makes strategic play pointless and even impossible. But the ragdolling is pretty funny. Tell your kids I love their character designs!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Pretty funny game. I'd love to try it out with another person.

The W attack didn't feel like it did too much, I had better luck just flying up in the air and falling down on my opponent's head.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:29am

HAhahahaha wtf i hab fun blasting keyboard. Didnt know the song's game bit it sounds great.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:58am

Really like the rag doll effect. :) I Included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/feGcEIoOFjA

gameattack says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:41am

Ha ha really funny. The voice over makes it even more funny.

Zayron says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]