Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen

by yosh - Compo Entry

"You have only one screen."

Headset recommended.

You might see a black screen on start, that's the game loading (be patient).

Note that this game has en ending... (might require persistency!)


Controls:
- WASD or Arrow Keys

Todos:
- Classical web-app optimizations (minimize etc.)
- Reduce volume for the coin sound
- Collisions

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#140Theme4.03
#427Humor2.68
#531Audio2.76
#563Innovation3.12
#685Mood2.80
#850Overall2.91
#869Graphics2.61
#958Fun2.59

Comments

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55am

I like it, although I didn't get to the end. Got curious though. What does spacebar do!?

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

nice game!

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01am

The effects were just interesting enough to keep me going through the repetition. That was a really interesting experience.

The 3D controls wouldn't grab my mouse cursor so I kept having to move it in and out of the browser at different points to look around.

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01am

I feel like the genre of platform jumpers is a bit overplayed and need something more to be worth playing. Audio was quite all-right though!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16am

Ok, the idea is very cool, a lot of things crossed my mind while I was playing. I played twice, in the beginning I though everything was the same... I quit, then came here and read your comment, maybe you should write that in the game somehow or maybe shorten the repetitive scenes. Awesome effects, nice approach of the theme and weird end?, good job

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Pretty cool. The 3D part was interesting surprise. I think the white text is the ending?

I think there could be less repetitive parts, you had to jump through the same basic room quite a many times.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21am

I like the VHS effect. Nice game.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44am

Very nice graphical style, a bit too simplistic though.

The jumping is a bit unresponsive, there is half a second between the button-press and the actual jump.

Good job!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

How do you get that 3d effect everyone is talking about?

Baknik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:59am

Simple but well done. If you don't mind me asking, how did you manage the CRT effect?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00am

Enjoyable game you've made here!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

Too long... too repetitive...
I like the idea, I arrived on 3D part, but I pressed space and I jump/fly (dunno) and didn't return. Strage...
Nice concept

sam101 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23am

I loved the end. Nice creative use of WebGL/Three.js, i liked the game effects, at first I was thinking "why is there always the same level with the same gameplay and graphics", but the road to the end of the game is pretty cool. Nice CRT effect too

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:56pm

C'mon dude you made me repeat like 6=8 times before the screen began moving.Although it's on one screen, at least 2 levels would be added fun. But still I rage quited after it moved around left and then went on a blank screen, then back to the static screen.
The game is cool, but "m rating my mood low because of that.
It might not affect your overall score though, since for overall I average all the stars for the remaining voting types, and decide based on that.

playvue says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Wow, i love your approach! TBH, though, I would drop the repeat levels before a visual effect from 3 to 2 (at least for the first set). The only I kept going was because I saw other comments about things I hadn't seen yet.

guldlock says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nicely done, liked the screen effect =D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very intriguing game! I loved the CRT effects. The ending was also cool: great interpretation of the theme! My biggest complaint would be about the pacing. It was too slow for the amount of content. Either the game-play needs to be more interesting, or the amount of total play-throughs until the end needs to be reduced. Overall I enjoyed this though!

MaesK says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Nice idea, I like how things start to change while you repeat lots of times the same pattern. Maybe less iterations would be better to avoid tiring the player. Great game overall

yosh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:11am

Thanks for the feedback!
- "What does spacebar do?" -> That was supposed to be removed from the final game 0:-)
- "Remove the redundancy" -> I just updated the current version of the game which removes some redundancy. However, it's part of the story-telling / experience. On second thought, it might have been a design error on my side, judging by all the frustrated people :D
Ideally, I'll find the time to elaborate on this design choice later in some post-mortem post.

Thanks to all of you again for playing.

elvaq says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:58am

I thought you wrapped the repetition into the gameplay experience nicely but still found it kind of tedious to play. Good thinking and good execution but I just think it would have been better as anything but a platformer :/

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Interesting use of different screen effects to vary up the gameplay. Love the scanlines.

yosh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:13pm

@elvaq: The choice of the platformer was actually a "last-minute" choice. I originally planned on doing a way simpler game such as a top-view maze with 8 directions. However, in order to make the game a bit more challenging and longer, I opted for the platformer (which introduces many imprecisions in the gameplay). Maybe a simple spaceshooter could have been interesting too.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:28am

Interesting concept and cool screen effects ^^
It has a different and innovative adaptation of the theme. Well done.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Level complete! I'm not sure that I want to complete em one more time xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]