Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gray Goo

by Arowx - Compo Entry

It's the Gray Goo Apocalypse, or at least it could be if you don't destroy these rogue nano-drones in petri dish #A2019.01.23-Z9

So take control of a souped up nano drone fighter and do battle in the smallest space possible.

Info, Keys ect in game, press ? for key codes.

Ideally it requires 1366 x 768 screen to play, but if it's too big center it and press the M key to magnify.

On PC or FullScreen Mode best results with a 16:9 ratio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#166Graphics3.78
#219Theme3.90
#355Overall3.40
#411Mood3.09
#538Innovation3.15
#706Fun2.93
#726Audio2.39
#874Humor1.89

Comments

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I came out with similar solution for using only one screen. But I knew that my limited programming skills would not let me even close to what you got there :D
Nice game :)
(no sfx? nor music?)

Arowx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Thank You. Sfx work for me. No Music.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

It's great! I like it well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Really nice. I really like the magnifier; I couldn't think of a subversion for the one-screen theme but that'll do nicely. Decent setting, apt graphics, well done.
Didn't hear any audio.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Really cool concept and it's nice to play, with great graphics. Avoiding enemy fire is too difficult for me though, leaving me feeling a bit pointless, like no amount of skill will prevail. So it's a promising idea that just needs tuning.

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

fairly decent idea with a proper implementation. great job!

gilead says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice graphics and theme. I'd have personally liked more of a challenge, or a way to crank up the difficulty.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Fun idea, and I liked the idea of switching between magnified and zoomed out to get an idea of where you are / see where there are enemies left.

Sorry humanity. It's going to be the Gray Goo apocalypse because I'm not good enough to clear the screen haha.

qristofer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice! I particularly enjoy the homing missiles. Moar games need homing missiles! I like the green graphics and the style. Feels really sci-fi-alien. Great!

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:00am

Excellent entry. I like the interpretation of the theme. It was somewhat easy, I didn't feel threatened at any point nor did I know what my goal was. The presentation using text probably isn't the best idea since I'm thrown into a dual stick shooter, I don't have time to read. You could have read it out loud. It could have been the patient you're in talking to you! That would have been cool.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:06am

I really like two aspects of this game:

1. The regenerating shields, missiles, and ammo make it quite forgiving. Otherwise it would be very frustrating since the playing field is so huge.

2. The enemy-seeking missiles as a simultaneous alt-fire are clever since they can both tell you where off-screen enemies are, and provide a satisfying assist fire / finish off enemies.

If you work on it further, some way to not block the middle of the map would be nice, so you can always play in the magnified view. It would also be nice if it were easier to pinpoint enemies in the big view. Some colors blend in too well too see easily.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Excellent execution with the magnification concept. Well done!

Smiley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Really good game! :)

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Awesome stuff here.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Great game but what is the goal?

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice work, I really like the magnification mechanic

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:12pm

For the compo I think this was really great. the graphics were nice, and the gameplay was fun and true to the theme! I played it multiple times

MaesK says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice game! I like how it matches the theme by using the camera trick. I miss some music, but sounds are good. Without ammo or shield regeneration, it might be harder, but people would complain the other way around, you adjusted it well.

Samm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Great artwork and a great way of making it an "Entire Game On One Screen". Maybe make a bit more variation on enemies if you update it in the future?

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:30pm

You quite ingeniously subverted the theme with the magnifying / nanoscale thing :)

Overall a very well made game, definitely one of the top games in this LD so far.

calavera says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:27am

wow this was great! With some screenshake and some sweet powerups this would be even better, you should add to it.

seraphki says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Looks good! =] Like the way you expanded the playing field while maintaining the single screen theme.

Ping78 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Great game. I like what you did with the theme.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:00am

Apparently using a magnifier was an common idea (See my game as well :) . Like the graphics very much. The sound volume is too low - at first I thought it had none.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

Not so easy as I expected. But anyway great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]