Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hunt The Yeti

by Elisée - Jam Entry

Hunt The Yeti on an exotic, snowy planet! ☃

Dig through the ice with your hi-tech drill then *PUNCH* enemies into the water, freezing them to death. Defeat all waves to face the Legendary Cyber-Yeti!

Collect coins and gems to buy shiny upgrades or keep your money and set a new high score record.

Tested to work properly in latest Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer. Make sure to upgrade to the latest version. Playable with keyboard & mouse or a gamepad. May contain traces amount of nuts.

----

Made by Pixel-boy (@2pblog1), Bilou (@bilou844), Elisée (@elisee) and Rosalie (@schouillette) in 72h using Superpowers, our simple, extensible, collaborative HTML5 2D/3D game maker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Fun(Jam)4.19
#12Graphics(Jam)4.66
#14Overall(Jam)4.17
#68Mood(Jam)3.84
#124Humor(Jam)3.51
#140Innovation(Jam)3.69
#154Theme(Jam)3.97
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

MisterEz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Awesome game! I recommend!

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

This game is awesome, the gameplay is fun and simple. Good Job

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

This is incredible on all fronts! There is amazing depth to what originally looked like such a simple game, and working around the randomly generated terrain makes each play feel new and refreshing. Fantastic job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

Excellent work guys! Design, art, sound, FUN! Keep on jamming!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15am

Just amazing.

squale says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:52am

This game is just fantastic! Great achievement, great atmosphere and most developed on an engine homemade congratulations to all !!

CosyCave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40am

Very fun game to play, also the graphics and sounds are really good :D.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice entry, a bit hard at first but good to play. Please next time stop the timer while you're in the shop :)

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

Why no Craftstudio? Just kidding. Excellent game! Good difficulty, nice graphics, fitting music.
Hard to find anything bad about it, only thing was that the shop didn't work on my first try, don't know if it was a bug or just me doing something wrong.
If it was my type of game I might even pay for it!

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Awesome sprites man! Great aesthetics, sound and awesome game feel owo It makes you want to keep playing. And playing with a gamepad is even better! Really cool overall.

housegamejam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09pm

so cool : great prod !

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great entry. The best one I've seen so far.
The only criticism I have is that the controls feel a bit too floaty. I guess the upgrades help with that.
Other than that, absolutely top-notch.

PERECil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Hey Sparkin' team, didn't know you were doing the Jam! Good game, I had fun playing with it!

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Cool entry ! Music is funny and graphics very polish.
But I think the tool range is too short...

Ellian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Falling in water makes the game incredibly hard but man, this is super fun and incredibly polished. Amazing work!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I love how much little details affect the gameplay. Very fun and addictive!

crazyrems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Une tuerie.
Il est super cool, alors que je n'ai pas dépassé le niveau 3 :0
Vous nous faites rêver !

TheChic1721 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I love this game, i played it so much!

Thanks elisee for a game like that! :)

S0rax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Good gameplay, nice team, and a perfectionist work, good jam ;)

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Fantastic game, I really enjoy it.

I also really suck at it, but that's beside the point. xD

One of the few I gave 5 stars on everything.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

I super liked this game. It's very polished and made me happy. The digging and luring mechanic was really inventive and fun. The biggest problems I had were

1)it was sometimes really hard to tell whether an enemy would fall into a hole or not (as the movement trajectory was a little hard to see).
2)having a cursor range for when the drill would work was confusing. It was difficult to understand when my cursor was out of range.

GREAT JOB!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05am

Lovely lovely work you guys <3 As usual!

gillenew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:17am

Very nice I love it, 7/7 for me :)

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:19am

This is super awesome! I just keep on playing. One note though, I think falling into the ice is very unforgiving. Maybe it should make you lose one point of health, rather than make you lose.

Still, the quality of this game is astounding! Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21am

Awesome Game!, love the art style and gameplay

pk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

Good in all aspects. A fun little game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:28am

Awesome game!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:41am

Aiming to dig is sometimes randomly hard, and there could be a better feedback of when I'm actually digging or not.

Graphics look like a filtered SNES game, but are really cohesive and nice to look at.

Music is also wonderful, and really gets you in the happy mood the game attempts.

Nice work!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

Heh, one of those games where I completely forgot it was made for LD and that I'll have to give it a score at some point. I just continued to play it :D Can't think of a higher commendation than that, really.

reveriejake says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Excellent game! Love all aspects of it :)

renatopp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Awesome, the movement drives me crazy, but is still a pretty funny game. Great!

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Fantastic entry, polished, no bugs that I could find, graphics were great, music was spot on, concept amazing - Super Bomberman meets pokemon!

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Awesome entry! Very polished in all aspects, great graphics and sound (not sure why you dont allow us to vote there), its funny and moody and fits the theme well. Mechanics are not ultra-original but are quite different and enjoyable.

Only I disliked are the early controls, but i understand it is intentional and you can improve them in shop ( still i dont like the idea of "buying" better controls :P)

Elisée says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Thanks everyone for the kind comments and feedback so far :).

@Managore There are actually just 5 different maps, no random generation there.

@spitfire87 We didn't create any of the sounds or music ourselves (see "Sound credits" link) so we thought it didn't make sense to be rated on it.

Robotic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24pm

love the artstyle, very nice pixels :)

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29pm

A very fun and polished entry :) The digging controls are a bit imprecise thought. A basic fix would be to increase the digging range of +1.

Very good job!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice graphics and solid gameplay! Liked it a lot! It didn't work on Safari though, had to switch to Chrome to play it.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Fun and simple game. Neat graphics, awesome gameplay.
I love it.

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Amazing and really addictive. I'm finally giving up after reaching wave 5 it gets too hard for me.

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really good :) Unbelievable amount of polish in everything. Like really.

The only criticism I might have of the design is your one fall into the water means you're back right at the start. That's REALLY HARSH, which is probably a conscious design decision, but that makes me basically ignore a huge part of the game design - jumping, because I don't wanna risk it. I see the movement accuracy upgrade... I would perhaps have changed it to "air speed" or something so you don't fly too fast while in the air.

Really good, well done :)

The only reason I might not run into a wall in shame is that this is a jam and not a compo entry :P Ok kidding :P

vicentereis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:07pm

That's a really nice game! I lovede the colors and the music! It's very polished! I loved it!

oxysoft says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I found the gameplay to be boring a bit but the graphics are absolutely amazing

tedling says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14pm

One of the best games I've played so far from this LD31. Digging holes and punching enemies into those holes... amazing!

TZeroth says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

It's an awesome entry. Mostly near perfection. If anything could be added, I'd like a score, and maybe leaderboards. :B
But it's awesome anyway.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great game! A little hard to start out, but once you figure it out it's really interesting and challenging.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Classic but fun and efficient nonetheless. Outstanding graphics for a jam. Great job :D

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I like the idea and animation of drilling in the ice!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

very nice game and very well implemented. Super fun to play!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Love the graphics. Smooth gameplay, the shovel mechanic was really cool. Well done.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I Love GM .. i love this game its lovely x) /music is good x)Also check my project if you have some time,mate! :)

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Really really cool game guys, as usual ! I specially love the graphics.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Wooh!! Very cool game! Super funny arcade sound, love it. Cute graphics. Very well done!

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:05pm

amazing!! awesome sprites, music, animation, and the idea is cool as well. A little hard i would say, but very nice!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Simple, yet cute and polished. Very nice and a good ad for your engine.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/Ke1z2s1Gh_g

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:16am

Great game! Absolutely love the art. The mechanics are a nice twist on this type of game and having a random map keeps things fresh. My biggest complaint is that digging controls are sometimes unreliable. The game also took a long time to load - I thought something was wrong since there wasn't a loading bar. But overall, really loved it.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:17am

Great gameplay and replay value, I love the shop system and random terrain! Pixel-boy's graphics are fantastic as usual, and I'm even more excited for Superpowers than I was before. Good work!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:49am

Those graphics! THOSE GRAPHICS! How much appeal can you pack on a single screen? I dug the music too. Gameplay was solid, though I had a lot of trouble not falling into the water...

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:27am

Ahhh wave 4 started to get serious!

Really fun game. Loved everything about it. The music was really fitting, and the mechanics were well polished.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:51am

nice job - adding to my favorites

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:28am

Such a great, polished, addictive entry. Loved the art and music and ate away a lot more time then I'd expected playing it.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Wow, this game is so cute and polished. Very impressive.

I wish I didn't die when I fall into the water, that's really annoying.

Well done!

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:28am

Serious game here, and nice another entrie that respect the theme, really enjoy the gfx (amazing work) and the gameplay is pretty fun and nice, congratz for this amazing game !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:35pm

wow, cute and creative, visually stunning, audio is great, well done

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I love it so much I will come back and play more later.
I cant say anything more, its awesome!

"having a cursor range for when the drill would work was confusing. It was difficult to understand when my cursor was out of range." I agree with that.

alvarop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:42am

Flawless presentation. The controls are a bit difficult, but honestly it feels very fun. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:18am

once again another great game

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Gorgeous looking game! The learning curve with the controls is quite high but it's a fun wee game that's infinitely charming. Everything is so cute. ;_;

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Amazing game, top entry here. One of the best of LD31 imo.
Cool, original gameplay, nice sounds, beautiful graphics, very polished.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Perfect graphics ! Global mood is really good, I also loved the centered shop to go with the theme. Even the "dig ice" mechanic is interesting, nice job here.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great, great game! So much to admire here! Good use of theme, great mechanic and (best element of all in my books) this game looks fantastic.

I found the controls quite clunky and from time to time completely unresponsive. Otherwise, this seems very well finished. I'd play the hell out of a game like this on my DS!

I should also mention I'm very happy to hear about Superpowers! Will follow progress on that with great interest!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I spent a nice moment playing this one. Fun and challenging! I liked it! :D

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:14am

Merci. The best rating, I gave.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really cute, fun game! I Included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yuPvpTdD-O8

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool game, love the art style :D

Valandre says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:23pm

very good entry, very fun even if it's quite hard!

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:36am

Super neat!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:20am

Love the graphics and the music. Very fun but also a but difficult to control. Excellent game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]