Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Chefs Legend

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

=== How to play ===

Mouse only, the entire gameplay is about dragging things around to prepare dishes. Please, if you have time, play the tutorials in sequence to get in the mood, even better if you are hungry =)
This game supports the full screen option of ludumdare site.


== Description ===

Now you are inside a box kitchen/farm and must try to become a chef master even in such limited space.

Credits: L-Tyrosine, after 72 long hours of insane rush! 80% of planned is here so I'm happy with the result.

Thanks for playing and happy LD to us all


=== Quick help, FAQ and hints ===

Q: How to complete tutorials / how to get paid ?
A: You must place your amazing ready dish/products on the box in the lower right of the screen and press "Pack". It will analyze your entry (no, not your game, your food), checking for quality with a nightmare algorithm that took me like 5 or 6 hours to be done. At the comp version of this game, here is the list of things that it will recognize: raw corn, raw corn grains, cooked corn, cooked corn grains, popcorns and corn oil.

Q: All I'm getting from the packer is a message that my food is trash or low quality.
A: Robots don't have feelings, sorry for that. The reason is that you must submit only one type of food without other impurities (water, oil and so on). Work with fresh food (spoiled food turns darker). Food gets spoiled with time and if dropped on the soil. If it's cooked, try to find the right point (avoid overcooking/undercooking). The packer has some tolerance over these aspects but better safe than sorry.

Q: The food spoils too quickly
A: Foods inside pots or inside the packer box never spoils! Sorry I really should mention it inside the game. I could blame short time but the truth is that I totally forgot.

Q: Hot to turn on the oven?
A: Just grab a corn stem into the grid box (the stem will be consumed in the process).

Q: And where I can get one stem?
A: By planting a corn grain on wet soil. They eventually will grow from there, up to 3 in height. Then you can get one by applying force with mouse drag or dropping something heavy on it (a pot). The epic win would be to harvest the last one (3rd) to conserve your plantation but good luck to achieve this =D

Q: My corn grain won't germinate
A: Make sure that the soil below is wet (darker) enough by watering it. Wait some time, give the poor grain some time to fulfill its destiny.

Q: Is the drainer useless?
A: It can really help to separate water/oil from food. The trick is to place food on the bottom of the pot and the water/oil above in the cooking stage. Then when you turn the pot the water/oil goes first and chances are that the drainer will work perfectly.


== Post Compo version changes and fixes ==

* Improved control over objects, limited velocity and angular velocity. Better picking algorithm.
* Fixed bug that prevents corn grain seed germinate on previous germinated terrain with broken stems still around.
* ToDo:
- Sell/move bought objects
- Tomatoes (and tomato sauce)
- Onions
- Wheat (and flour)
- Dough (flour + water)
- Pizza (Dough + Tomato sauce)
- Salt, pepper (improve quality)
- Redesign oven (new 3d model, drawer)
- Redesign grinder (turn to blender(?), new 3d model)
- Watering can(?)
- Wood (burns longer)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#42Innovation(Jam)4.04
#152Fun(Jam)3.56
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#182Audio(Jam)3.47
#267Humor(Jam)3.07
#321Mood(Jam)3.30
#326Graphics(Jam)3.64
#352Theme(Jam)3.70

Comments

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39am

I can't believe I've spent so much time playing this. It's a very addictive simulator for me. I'm rating now but will play more until I get 5 stars.

Tutorials weren't teaching anything so I wouldn't call them tutorials, but having limited set of tools helps to understand the game. I also wish there were a "back to menu" button.

I also have to restart because my pan got stuck between the wall and one of the tools. Would be nice to be able to sell/destroy them.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Great Concept and addictive!! But really hard hehe

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33pm

It's incredible how adictive this is. Kudos!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I lked your game but I had a hard time trying to move things around

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Awesome game :) love it

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

This reminds me of something like Surgeon Simulator, where the game is so awkward to play, even though you're doing things that would be so easy in real life, that it becomes hilarious.
I couldn't find a "restart" or "reset button of any sort, so I just refreshed the page every time, but it's a fairly original idea and it's very well polished. A lot of fun to play, though frustrating at times. Nice job.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Tutorials were really difficult they should teach a bit more and a back to the menu button would help. But anyway I really like it :) Good job mate

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:44am

Needs some polish such as a back to menu button and some more clear tutorials, but otherwise a good game!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

This is really good! Hahah I had as much fun just making a mess as actually completing the objectives! The difficult nature makes it stand out so dont lose that! The physics are great, the sounds of things clunking around are funny too. I really think you are onto something here, I could play it for hours.

montyontherun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:56am

Tyrian sounds...well played, well played!
I must admit that 90% of time I was struggling with the physics. Doing things that would be trivial in real life was a real pain. Other than that, very pleasing and addictive game!
Congrats!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I kept burning my corn and packaging boiled water :P... i thought i knew how to cook. great game.

Alter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11pm

hahaha so funny! Great game with very nice idea and physics! Well done =)

Robber says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:32pm

whahaha this is so much fun too play, i messed up a lot, where is the restart button ?

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I wan't to play this game but i don't get it. It's not intuitive or I'm getting old. :-)
You game looks fantastic, has lovely physic animation. The sound effects are also well made.

My game play experience:
I master the first tutorial after first burning the corn.
The machine on the 2nd tutorial looks for me like a meat chopper.(It has nothing to do with the graphics, I never saw a machine like that making yellow balls).
Then I put the corn inside it, got some balls out of it but they disappear after a while.

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Good work...

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:17am

I was prepared to be all serious about learning to cook like a legend, but the moment I tried to pick up a pot I found myself laughing. :) Great job creating humor in such a short span of time! I like the general idea and would love to see it fleshed out & expanded on.

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19am

You need restart button. I like it!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Interesting idea. Its almost like Surgeon Simulator meets Cooking Mama. Nicely done graphics and physics. Good job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27pm

better tutorial wold be great, but overall is pretty good
nice work :)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Everytime there is physics in a game i do everything else than the game's goal.I Threw food in basket and burnt the books.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:11pm

This is very very cool! The tutorials didn't really explain much, but limiting the mechanics allowed for some discovery, which was fun. The physics are tough to master, but that adds to the charm. =)

2Bit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00am

Really cool and well executed. The only problem I had was that the tutorials didn't actually tell you what to do which made it a little confusing but that's a small complaint of an otherwise great game.

Verz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:31am

Really addictive! And quite a good concept :). Congratulations!

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:31am

Awesome game. I hope irl I'm not buying corn made by me here >_<

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Great combination of physics and crafting game! I spent way to much time on scene 4, but I always went bankrupt. Well done!

Dans17 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:49am

The physics make the game really fun!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Good job... I couldn't get through it all but it works

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Feels almost like the incredible machine! Very well done. A bit hard to play, but it was fun!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Cooking disaster simulator.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very interesting and ambitious project, and more addictive than I thought it would be. With more polish and content, this could be a great puzzle sim game.

The game cries out for a proper tutorial that explains all the basic steps, because in the beginning I was just lost (I know you probably didn't have time for that and the video of the first Scene helped a lot). Also, the physics in this game are both a blessing and a curse: On the one hand they make the game more interesting and complex, on the other hand they can sometimes really mess you up. The one thing that needs to be easier is carrying pots: Whenever I try that now, the pot just wobbles back and forth, often spilling the contents all over the place. Maybe make it so that when you click and drag the handle, the pot doesn't rotate while carrying it?

Anyway, great game with lots of potential. I'd like to see this continued and improved upon!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice game, good idea, but it would be great if player could control the rotation of objects in hand.

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:58pm

This is great! One of the games I have enjoyed the most. Great concept and excellent execution.

Zi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:54am

Wow! Amazingly polished and detailed game! I was pleasantly surprised every time I wanted to move something, and it did exactly that, whereas in a normal game it wouldn't. The physics-y controls were a bit difficult for me, though. Congrats!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fun simulator! I Included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/feGcEIoOFjA

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:21am

It took a while to figure it out, and the physics were really tough to get used to, but this was a really addictive game. I ended up playing all the way through the 5-star challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]