Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RailGunner

by KunoNoOni - Compo Entry

RailGunner
By KunoNoOni

The origin of this game came out of frantic desperation as my first 2 ideas ran into issues. This game was made is just under 18 hours. I will explain all in my post mortem.

So RailGunner is an arcade style single screen game. You are the ship at the bottom of the screen and you can only move Left or Right as you are linked to the rail at the bottom of the screen. Above you are 3 more rails where your enemies will attack you from.

There are six different enemies which will attack you. This can lead to lots of bullets on the screen, its not quite "bullet-hell" but it can get pretty close at some points.

Each wave lasts 25 seconds, and they are endless. How far can you get. There is a countdown at the top of the screen to let you know how much time you have remaining.

You have 5 lives before its Game Over. Use them well!

Controls
---------

Use the "A/D or Left/Right Arrow Keys" to move. To shoot you can use either the Left Mouse Button or the Space Bar. You are able to hold either down for continuous fire.


Notes
-----

You can shoot down the enemy bullets, and you get points for it too!

To save you, the player, the pain of constant sound I opted to not have sound for the enemies when they shoot. You will thank me later :)

The point system is as follows:

Enemy Bullets - 50 Points
Lower Rail - 100 Points
Middle Rail - 200 Points
Top Rail - 300 Points







Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#247Fun3.45
#468Audio2.87
#523Overall3.23
#528Humor2.52
#533Graphics3.13
#577Mood2.91
#644Theme3.54
#871Innovation2.66

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04am

Awesome particle effects! Put some music and its great!

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

I was so bad at this haha. It's really well done though. Shooting enemy bullets is definitely something that is underutilized in games like this so good job on that.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

very cool! :)

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

insanely dificult, but makes me remember to the Atari old school's games

angela says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Pretty impressive, especially considering you scrapped 2 ideas. Kinda fun too. My only suggestion would be - I would start out a little easier and gradually get harder.

jocamar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

For 18 hours this is really good. It gets really hard and I don't know if it keeps getting harder but I had fun playing it.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Score: 28050, probably not that good xD Fun little game, love the countdown heh

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Loved the frentic energy of it all, I was thinking why the wings at the ends of the ship. I got caught a few times thinking I dodged a bullet, very space invadery feel. Loved the 5 second countdown, nice touch.

rmc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Hard as an Atari game. Nice job, very good game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

Thank you all for your kind words. It is suppose to be a little bullet hellish, so that explains the difficulty. I did add the ability to destroy the enemy bullets and you do get 50 points for doing it. So if nothing else you can stay alive by taking them out.

I did have music, but nothing I tried seems to fit and it made the game feel to noisy. So I cut the music.




@ramonparaiba & @rmc: Thank you both. Its not everyday you get compared to such a great console. I am in very good company. :)

@jocamar each wave after the first wave the game gets a little harder, but it caps out at wave 5.

@digibody Spaceships are suppose to have wings :), though I will admit I should have made the bounding box on the player a little smaller. Honestly I never thought about it. I was too worried about finishing the game before the deadline.

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05am

Nice particle effects!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Very fun, fast-moving and dynamic little shooter. Well done. Very hard, couldn't get passed wave 3!

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Nice SFX! Would have liked some extra retro overlay GFX and different colored enemy bullets

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

nice shooter, love the retro feeling

tcarter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:09am

Simple clean graphics. Very nice!

alfadur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Well done for 18 hours! I like the contrast between the ships on different rails. Shooting down bullets might be a bit overpowered though, I accidentally found a spot a bit off the center where it was possible to just stay in one place holding the fire button. It would be nice if the bullets had a bit more sideways motion to them.

Jacic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very fun and arcadey! The particles were good too. :)

FlashRocks says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very nice! Brought back memories :) I love 8-bit style games, haha. 5 stars for the graphics just for the 8-bit.

That said, didn't really fit the theme IMO. There wasn't scrolling, but you didn't really.. embrace the theme, I suppose. 4 stars overall, and the 5 star I've given out this Ludum Dare, so yeah, awesome.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

Nice job, especially for less than 18 hours. Solid little shooter. Difficulty curve does a little steep. I think the first wave at least should be a little easier to allow the player a little bit of time to get used to the game/mechanics/controls.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice work, KunoNoOni! Would be really great if there were some kind of bomb or something to clear pathways if you get tunneled into a spot on the screen.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice particle effects and mechanics! the gameplay is really addcitive well done! ^^

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:28pm

A nice alternative for the great Invaders game. I like it. Well done ++

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good old skool shooting.
I would have added diagonal moving bullets for added challenge.

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

Nice job,love the retro feeling. very good game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]