Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Act

by Sheepolution - Compo Entry

A prequel to One Take (See my LD28)

Play as the director of a theatre show! Tell the actors what they must do according to the script. Totally Theater, THE magazine for all your theater facts and fashion, will review your show afterwards! Can you become the #1 director of all time?

----------------
- Info that should've been in the game.
Read based on own moral standards -


Controls: Left mouse button

It's important to note that while you can't catch up with text, you are supposed to catch up with actions.

So if an actor needs to die in sequence 2, but you forgot, you have to make him die in sequence 3 instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Humor4.27
#52Innovation4.10
#88Fun3.74
#96Mood3.62
#97Overall3.76
#198Theme3.93
#301Graphics3.51
#447Audio2.89
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44am

Really really good! Loved it! The simplicity of the game, and yet the racing heartbeat that follows makes this super fun. I could play it for a really long time. Nice job!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12am

I went to the theatre and lost my wallet. It was a dreadful experience, A week later I got a phone call from the theatre company, someone handed back in the wallet. I felt better about the experience after that.

This a novel little game, great interpretation of the theme. Good Work

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Great work! I track you dev. posts and all 2 days i wanted to play this ;]
nice one!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Really nicely done! Such an original concept and a lot of fun to play too! :)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Ridiculously cool. Reminded me a lot of your LD 28 Entry(which was also amazing). Tons of fun, great graphical style, unique concept, loved it all!

vrld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Overall very solid entry. I like the gameplay and the humor a lot, but the music is a bit annoying ;)

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Really cool game! Loved the humor too.

01101101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Nice one :) I really liked One Take and this is made of the same good stuff ^^
I must say that the first 2 shows didn't go well for me, I was always trying to start from the beginning over and over again. Maybe if the script had been updated to show me where to catch up, it would have been easier.
I did get a good review on the 3rd one though, so everything is fine :)

igoramendola says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Ohhh, super cool!! Very well done and pretty fun... especially the fun facts xD

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Great game, like One Take was. I had some problems to follow where the act was going again when making errors, thus failing the act entirely, but otherwise this gets really fun when everything goes smoothly. The magazine texts are also hilarious.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49pm

The text rendering seems to be broken on Kindle Fire so it is unplayable. Will check it tomorrow on PC.

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22am

Amazing game overall. Graphics are great its very innovative and funny!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55am

22/22

'nuff said.

Had problems in Firefox at first with resolution, just like.. some of the stuff wasn't sized correctly, but moved to Chrome and it worked great.

You already know the One Take formula is fantastic so it's great to see more similar things. I really enjoyed the dialogue too, especially the Romeo scene (and the expression on the Cowboy's face).

Fun memory stuff. I think it'd be interesting if you expanded on this to have a mode where you can see the script while you play but the timer is just going ridiculously fast. Like, you basically get the command on autoqueue then have to direct th- actually, having said that, that would literally just be simon says, yeah nevermind. Rofl.

But yeah, looks great, as usual, plays great as usual. Nice one.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Awesome game! I really enjoyed the concept, and the entire thing is presented very nicely.

To suggest additions: maybe you could consider numbering the steps on the script/showing the number of the current phase, if you want to avoid confusion. I also think that something like an optional 'end current phase' button would help to minimise waiting. :)

Well done on making a really polished entry!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:48am

Have to say, the interface was confusing. Didn't know if when I failed if it went to another sequence, or if I could try again. Nor did I know why I kept failing even when I thought I did it correctly. Only time I got a green check mark was when I didn't have them talk at all.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

interesting use of narrative and timing.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11am

Pretty awesome prequel. I loved the dialogue, and it felt frantic sometimes, trying to consult the script and confirm the actions and dialogue. I would have loved another stage or two, but this is the compo so I know how things can be.

Awesome job!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Lovely game. Nice graphics and animations and a pretty nice gameplay.
Nice interpretation of the theme.
The funny ingame critics are awesome. Had a good laugh. :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

A worthy prequel to One Take! Had me rolling in the aisles :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Timer might be a little too fast but this was pretty fun to play and I liked the subtle humour. You should add some more stuff like maybe finding hidden sequences to create potentially humourous ab-lib moments (like going freestyle in Parappa but in theatre). Good take on the theme (The stage being the screen and all that) and a really nice followup to the previous game in your series.

Aske says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great idea, really hard though :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

A really nice spiritual sequel to One Take. Maybe this whole concept could be expanded into a whole game about filmmaking? (acting, cinematography, lighting, editing, etc). I'd play that.

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Wow. This game is actually pretty hard and a worthy prequel to One TAKE ;-)

rxi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Really loved the idea of a prequel to your earlier entry. The game felt like it matched "One Take" perfectly with its visual style, and the game play felt like an excellent compliment to it.

The idea of taking on the role of what I assume is some kind of ethereal entity, bestowing my muse upon pixelated actors was an interesting concept.

I liked the whole mood of the game, the little expressions of the actors' faces, the quirky little scripts and the humorous reviews at the end of the performances. The timed aspect of attempting to memorize part of the script while picking the correct action and dialogue pieces made for unexpectedly exciting gameplay.

I absolutely loved the little pixelated roses and tomatoes being thrown onto the stage after a performance, I wasn't expecting it the first time and its novelty made me chuckle.

Nice work!

mtanton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Ah, a fitting successor to One Take. Really nice! Really enjoyed the humor.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01am

This reminded me of the opera house scene from Final Fantasy 6. While more complex with actions and silence, it would have been interesting to have some red herring options in there. All in all it was good, and pretty fun for just essentially being a game about memorization.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice concept! enjoyed it :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Somehow I messed up and things got weird, but I really enjoy the concept! I Included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Sw1gBeS2zkc

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice game! I really like the approach to the theme.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:03am

This game is really fun! I was a bit confused about the actions at the beginning but once I got the hang of it I really enjoyed the game. The time push is a nice touch of pressure and the script was really funny. Nice Job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16am

it's a nice concept but unfortunately it was hampered by a bad tutorial, I didn't know what I was doing and probably still don't.

-AlucardX60

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:05am

while I liked the concept, I wasn't able to play the game. texts where so large they conflicted on script book. or they extended outside of the screen in choices.(I tried chrome IE and maxthon)

but audience did not understand I am having technical issues they threw tomatoes at us!!:P

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:48am

Really great game! I wonder if you could combine these games into some kind of larger, jokey director career simulator?

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice idea and I really enjoyed the works you picked, be it romeo and juliette or waiting for godot.
Since i am a great fan of going to the theater, this was a must play for me!

Although it was a little bit fast for me.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:51am

Really good, well polished complete game.

Xaychru says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Really nice and unique game! I had trouble to follow with the rest of an act when failing, but that was fun, good job!

Gins says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Brilliant! This game is as good as the good critiques in the newspapers :) So funny, too. I loved it when the review told me how the game works by breaking the 4th wall. Good luck with the ratings!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I'm loving this. Great work!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:17pm

I'v got 1 star for trying :) but is was brilliant. 13/22 - I need to learn read faster.

Jacic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:01am

Quite a fun and unique game!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:03pm

excellent, very original and funny game, well done :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Fun! I remember playing One Take a year ago.

Javabot says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:16am

Love this game, really fun to play, yet the dialogue was stereotypical. Those faces, though.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:33am

Great innovation once again! Congratulations on Winning LD28 by the way! This will definitely be in the top 100. Great graphics, and great game overall!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:37am

I really like the tie-in with One Take. Smart and funny writing as well. Nicely done!

zatyka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:45am

It took me a few tries to finally understand what I needed to do, once I did, it was an enjoyable experience, and one of the most unique and complete games I've played.

High marks in innovation and humor. Keep up the good work :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:15pm

wonderful sequel to one take!, i really enjoyed one take before, and i really love this one too! awesome entry keep up the great work!

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Your game is awesooOOOoome !
I love the drawings and the game is really fun

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Haha, this was great. Loved the mechanic, and some very humourous dialogue. The music and the graphics weren't great, but they can be polished if you ever turn this into anything more than a prototype (which you totally should)
It's lacking in content, but it was well-executed and very amusing.

InToGames says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Fun idea -- it'd be nice to know where you are in the script for when you get lost. The roses are a nice touch!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]