Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hackception

by Gemberkoekje - Compo Entry

So I put a computer in your computer, so you can hack while you hack. While you hack.

Arrow keys to move, letters to.. well, type.

Quick postmortem:
I love the way my game looks. It may be a bit vain to say that of my own game, but I really do.

Unfortunately, I probably ended up tinkering with the looks a bit too much, and there's admittedly less of a game here than I wanted. It's finishable, so it's not purely a techdemo, but don't expect a challenge ;)

Post-compo I'd really love to do some harder levels, more features etcetera, while keeping the lovely unique look I made.

So, I hope you enjoy it! There's even a level editor, so you can make your own levels with a bit harder content as well, but without features like enemies or really linking terminals, it's less of a challenge and more of a pain. Oh well ;)

Unfortunately, cause I really wanted to work with pixels, this game is windows only. I know this can be a pain for some of you, so sorry in advance! I'll add a little video later this week for you guys!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#147Innovation3.79
#205Graphics3.70
#231Mood3.32
#476Overall3.27
#571Theme3.59
#613Humor2.41
#666Fun2.97
#798Audio2.24

Comments

Joris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I didn't like it that the text obfuscated the screen. Really interesting visual style though.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I can't seem to move with the arrows keys, I'll check back later and try again. Not rating this promising premise till I feel it in action :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Interesting concept :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@Joris Thank you for the feedback, maybe I can make sure, for a post-compo version, that there's a way to hide and show the text so it's not so.. in the way :)
@davesoft Sorry for that. Do you have any more information, because unfortunately I cannot fix something I cannot reproduce!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Great graphics, but the game feels laggy, not sure if it's meant to be this way, or it's running slow.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I really liked the concept and the style of the game! Good job! :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

@Gouda while the game should feel 'laggy', and it is indeed partially by design, it could also be that, on slower computers, it starts to be more a drag than a feature, so be aware of that!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I like it with these glitch visual effects. Good job!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I've added a video, please have a check, if the game runs (much) slower on your PC, it might not be playable, unfortunately, unless I do some serious optimization... and that wouldn't really be in check with the rule not to really change your game other than bugfixes!

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Like someone else in the comments, Nothing happened when I tried to move. I ran the game, got into the tutorial, and when it said "use the arrow keys to move" ...I did and nothing happened. No idea why...

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01am

I've changed the entry point/hallway a little bit; it's now a room. I'm hoping that will solve the confusion of moving for most of you.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:58am

Its a neat concept. It is very visually interesting. I feel like the "screen" (can I call it that?) doesn't update fast enough. So it is hard to tell what is going on. Although maybe that's just me not listening to TUTORIAL and going too fast.

The game also crashed on me during my playthrough, by the way. I was in the blue-looking part, and presumably I typed the exit command where I wasn't supposed to.

Still, great job!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57am

@OttersDen thanks for playing! :) Unfortunately, due to the way I've implemented it, the updating is bound to the speed of your computer.

I've also had a report from a friend saying the same bug happened to him, I'll go ahead and see whether I can reproduce it tonight.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Excellent job with the theme and innovating. It needs a little work on the execution. I think it's too hard to tell where you can go or it simply takes too long to wait for the scanline. There is a lot going on, possibly to the detriment of the game, but it sort of works. I like the hacky/blocky/computer terminal artwork and transitions which fits the theme of the jam well.

Similar to both scan lines http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=2075 and flying blind http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=23945. I recommend you try at least scan lines.

Wakka says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I love the idea, but it felt a bit too glitchy for me.

Wir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45pm

i love the visuals.

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Like @davesoft, cant move with the arrows. Not rating yet so :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:50pm

If you're having trouble with the arrows, please download the DEBUGHELP version and send me the Log it generates after playing, so I can see what's going on and hopefully fix it!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Oh I like this minimalistic style so much! I'll be your biggest fun!:)

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I can't imagine the amount of work that went into making this feel intentionally laggy/glitchy, but it definitely paid off! This is hands down the coolest game I've seen thus far in this LD. Such a simple concept, but executed so well!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Didn't get it at first, but slowly figured it out. Didn't find a use for "COMMAND". Also, didn't seem to be any sound. But I did beat the game and I enjoyed that it took me a bit to figure out what was going on.

Really dug it, good work. :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Thanks everyone, I have a load of ideas for the post-compo version, and all your nice words really motivate me to make it XD

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Hey, you played our game! Thanks! ^.^

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:22pm

@ZNCatlaw I try to play the games of everyone who played my games and commented, that's the least I can do, right?

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice idea.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great style, great sound, interesting concept.

felix3456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I think the game would've been more enjoyable if you didn't have that annoying bad connection effect, I think a better way of doing a "bad camera" effect is to create a low pixel canvas (for fast pixel setting) and create a TV static effect, but have each pixel's R and G and B transfer in a float/decimal value that get's distorted, I've done this before as an experiment and it looks sick.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:26pm

@felix part of the reason for the effect is that it actually is drawing the pixels, so without some refactoring I can't really do anything different. Still, for a post-compo version I have some ideas on how to increase the speed massively, which will allow me to control the speed of the scanline and make the game more enjoyable for everyone. I hope :P

felix3456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I see, so you've already written code for drawing pixels. About speed, so this renders with the standard windows forms thing (GDI)? Have you tried using OpenGL to render pixels fast? (Create a texture, update pixels, render) This is faster than using windows forms. If you're going to deal with pixels, I'd recommend using something more low-level. GDI isn't very good for doing stuff like this, I used to use GDI then I moved to Java (LWJGL) and then C++.

jhice says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:44pm

@Gemberkoekje : sent you a message on Twitter because dont know where to send it!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

@felix yeah, I just wanted an easy way to manipulate pixels, realising that it wouldn't be quite as fast as maybe possible. I still had a lot of fun doing it :P

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:51pm

@jhice yes, i found it. It's really weird, it seems to just crash or block for no reason that i can discern.

felix3456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Yeah, messing with pixels is fun. Later on make sure to try something fast, it's even better.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:00pm

@felix I've done more stuff with pixels, check out my demo reel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgJJhjZO4Us&list=UUzPfZTro-zRKoagmstZ_j2g It's just been a while, cause I mostly stopped doing it when I finished school and started working on mortgage software.

felix3456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:04pm

That's actually pretty cool.

davesoft says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Hi mate, could you include the source in your debug version for me? I get reeeeeally strange warnings when I run it and press a key

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:33pm

So the graphics are really nice, but it's waaay to laggy. I feel that the controlls are completely responsive, but thats just too much forced screen update lag.
Besides from that a great game and very nice interpretation of the theme!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:39pm

@davesoft added.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:18am

at first i thought arrow keys weren't working then I realized that im controlling the orange square in the upper left corner, behind the text
rendering system is pretty cool, i like the scan line effects
entering the first terminal felt really cool
rendering and game feels laggy, like you might be doing something wrong on the low level rendering.
let users press ~ to toggle the terminal on and off. and have it slide down like the half life debug console
needs to be more commands available, like as you progress you discover new commands by finding them in the sub-terminals
I won!
when you type exit from the highest level it should quit the game
i didn't hear any sound or music
cool concept, you should keep working on it!

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Finally got it goin, great concept well done mate :D

Zayron says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:51pm

I would like to suggest a “clear” command to clear out the text on the screen. The game also felt a little too laggy for my taste but other than that I really liked the concept!

KeyboardCat says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Really good graphics and ideas, I would love see a post-mortem version !

Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

fantastic sound)))

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]