Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SwitchCubes

by erik - Compo Entry

Push buttons. Escape the maze.

Arrow keys to move.
Space to toggle buttons.
'r' to restart if you get stuck.
'Esc' to exit non-web builds.

(Incomplete, but perhaps somewhat interesting?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#158Innovation3.76
#237Theme3.88
#529Overall3.22
#539Graphics3.12
#662Fun2.98
#857Mood2.58

Comments

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12am

Great concept! Would've liked to have seen it fleshed out more.

A note on the controls: I found the player movement way too fast, making control a little difficult.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14am

Agree on the movement being too fast; love the idea. Always fun to play a good concept.

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:16am

I like the visuals and the concept very much! Some background music and sound effects for switching would have been awesome. Unfortunately I am too dumb to figure out how to finish it, can never reach the button on the right side of the map.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very nice concept. The movement is a little floaty.

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Really cool idea, I like the way the different sections loaded in. I'd say the movement was too floaty and fast, but other people have already told you that, so I would suggest maybe a grid based movement? Anyways, really nice entry!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06am

The concept is so nice... I know you had a short time and for thiis reason is quite awesome! Great job!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Wow, interesting concept, you could create really complicated puzzles with this.
Sad, that it's incomplete. (Don't know if the button on the far right is intentionally unreachable or if I'm simply too stupid)

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very clever, smart mechanic.

Mase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The rising/falling effect is very smooth & nice.

The game is not very challenging but it's a good prototype; it needs some additional element like enemies or something.

Walking seems too fast. The speed of the characters animation doesn't match the movement speed.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55am

Love the graphics and game mechanic, good game :)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:48am

yes, the concept is great! the puzzle element is implemented really well, except for the bugs such as when buttons are removed while pressed, it will take multiple hits for them to get back to their original toggle states. otherwise, well done!

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:37am

Really cool transition animations and awesome idea overall. Lots of ways to extend the basic idea into more complex traps / puzzles etc.

Definitely needs some smaller intro levels to let players ramp up to the challenge

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Really cool idea and implementation. The animation of the cubes was beautiful. Great job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:22am

I WIN! Thanks for thanking me. That was a fun puzzle, makes you think logically and use your spacial memory. Very cool.

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:22am

A solid entry, and I loved how the rooms kind of combined to make totally different new rooms! I wish there was more in this game, but what's there is done well. Great job!

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:28am

Really cool game with a great concept, I loved the animation. It took me a while to figure out the last step, but i finally got it!

peterkirk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:46am

I thought the main mechanic was interesting. Movement would have been better on a grid.

KeyboardCat says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Really cool game and graphics !

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice idea - quite original. Works well too, though some part of me wanted to collect things along the way ;) (gold coins or something)

Ossi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:07am

Very cool idea, and you pretty much nailed the theme! I liked the animation on the tiles changing and it was pretty challenging to remember what each button did as you moved through the level. The art style is really solid too! Well done!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I had a very similar idea in ludum dare 26 only mine didn't come as good. I guess great minds think alike. =D

If you care to see it http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20825.

Shivur says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:39am

Promising concept. The only thing was the moving speed that was a little bit too fast so it's hard to control.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Very fun to explore the maze! However, if you where to develop this game further it would be interesting to see if you could put more logic into what blocks the buttons change, just to make the puzzles be less trial and error-ish.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Real mindboggler. I, for one, liked the main character's swift movements and I thought it was fun to fly around in the open area for a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]