Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Office Escape

by Graham Weldon - Compo Entry

Stealthily escape the office, and avoid the managers while you complete your last 10 tasks before the end of the day. 5 minutes, 10 things to do.

Don't let the managers catch you, they might ask you to work on the weekend :(

Controls: WASD, mouse for look.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#399Humor2.73
#626Theme3.55
#694Mood2.78
#816Innovation2.74
#851Audio2.05
#879Fun2.73
#927Graphics2.52
#1025Overall2.68

Comments

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Chrome flagged your game as malicious when I tried to download it.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:26am

Idea is really nice, like Commandos! Sadly "enemies" did not do anything. You got out of time?

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:46pm

got the same problem as DiegoMustache when downloading: flagged as malicious by chrome

asobitech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23am

Is this game incomplete?

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Getting same flagged as malicious by chrome problem.

It's a shame the managers don't do anything if you're in their line of sight, if they chased me this would have been a tense little game! Nice job though, keep at it.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:01pm

took some time to actually see where I was, it's a very cool and funny idea, it's like every friday. Nice effort

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Hey good dynamic engine ! Sadly nothing happens when you get caught so it's a bit easy... :/

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

The "flagged as malicious" is strange. You'll have to take my word on it that its clean / safe.

Yes, the game is incomplete, but represents much of the game that I wanted to finish. 48 hours is too short :( Maybe I should have done a jam entry instead.

I hope you enjoy what is there though, please be kind with your ratings!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I don't think managers really cared about me. Post compo version fixing it would make this awesome.

efux says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Nice work so far. I hope you continue working on it, like this it's a little bit too easy =D

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Game doesn't work :( Managers don't care about me, and I got all 10 tasks done and I couldn't leave :(
However, there are some very nice technical details, such as the light casting, AI, and so on. But the game itself just isn't there. Also I don't know why the player needs to look/cast light? I just ended up spinning the mouse around the player going "wee-woo-wee-woo".
Oh, and the game doesn't work on low resolutions, as parts of the map are cut off.
The idea is there, just not well executed, however there were nice little details. So maybe work on the game, then the details next time! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Nice concept!

Appocket says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice flag, good game.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Look like a good start, but as you said, the game isn't finished.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I'd love to see a post-compo version of this - the ideas of a really good game are here, but it's not much of a challenge in the current unfinished state.

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

Needs more work. The controls are extremely unresponsive, with slow acceleration and deceleration. Bumping into the managers and coworkers seemed to have no negative consequences. Managers didn't seem to behave any differently when I was in their field of view... And there were no sound effects. Overall the game feels incomplete.

It would have been nice if there was some sense to the ordering of the tasks, so that you could figure out a strategy to complete them more efficiently (ie without having to walk so far from one to the next).

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

I really like the concept! However it seems like being seen by the managers didn't have any effect, and even though I completed all 10 tasks and made it to the exit, I didn't get a victory screen. Once the time ran out the game just sort of froze up. I'm going to guess you ran out of time to complete things. Fixing those bugs and adding some ambient audio or sound effects would make this a lot better overall.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

The engine works really well! I wasn't sure what I was supposed to be doing and I couldn't really get caught. But it's a great start!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

You should've kept working on it and submitted it for the jam instead of forcing the compo version, it's obviously not finished in its current state. Hope you finish it up! :)

foodzilla says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

Could use a bit of work to be really fun, has potential

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Such a good idea! But getting seen by managers did nothing and there didn't seem to be a win condition flag. :( This is a great start, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]