Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Information SuperHighway 1983

by Blobby101 - Jam Entry

Welcome... to the future! The year is 1983, and the rise of the Information SuperHighway is in full swing - use your knowledge and skills as an elite hacker to steal information.

The aim is to figure out your way around the high-tech 80s equipment on your desk and steal incriminating evidence against the CEO of InfraCorp.

Some tips to get started:
Left Click to pick up a highlighted object, or press a button.
Right Click to zoom in or out (for easier reading of the screen)
While Dragging an object, scroll up or down to move the object closer or further away from you.
Drag an object over a hotspot (the highlight will turn orange) and let go to use.
Keyboard input goes straight to the computer in the game.

Make sure you try looking at the contents of both floppy disks!
Type HELP if you get stuck for a list of commands.
You may need a pen and paper, or at least some means of noting down information.
Good luck!

EDIT: I have edited my entry to fix two bugs that made it nearly impossible to complete: The welcome message not showing on the computer and the HELP command not listing the DRIVES command, which is necessary in order to win.

The text parser on this ended up being a lot more complex than I originally imagined, so if you find any bugs with it, let me know! (and bear in mind that the Mac and Linux versions are untested)

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#26Theme(Jam)4.34
#34Overall(Jam)4.03
#36Audio(Jam)4.03
#45Mood(Jam)3.94
#53Innovation(Jam)3.97
#62Graphics(Jam)4.37
#119Fun(Jam)3.66
#132Humor(Jam)3.45

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

I like the graphics and general vibe of 80s. Don't remember computers being so sophisticated back then ;) 5 stars game!

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

I love the idea, but I had the damnedest time trying to get the computer to do anything. This might be my own failing though. And oh god dialing the phone D: I think this could be a really awesome game with a few minor tweaks (and more than 3 days to work on it, ha.) Very cool.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

You made setting so 80s, love it!

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:48am

Looks great... but I'm getting a dropbox error! Oh no!

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Thanks for all the comments! Panda, the dropbox links all work fine for me - not sure what the problem is. If you see this would you mind trying again :)?

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52pm

I can see why you think our's are similar :), Love the graphics. Your mechanics with grabbing items and there shaders are so much better. love this interactive computer, Solid effort!

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

OH MY GOD ! 5 starts all the way !

Loved the art style, the music and the atmosphere :)

Very good job ! Oh, maybe the computer screen is a bit too stretch. Sometimes it's difficult to read.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really good graphics! And I love that old monitor and sound of keyboard. Very moody game.

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07pm

mmm.. the sound of that keyboard! :)

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Well done, awesome quest!

udo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I loved it, everything was pure torture ;) I didn't get to fulfill my objective though because I couldn't figure out the phone. I dial the number on the sticky, but keep hearing the dial tone and nothing happens. Phone is plugged in to the modem, IPCONNECT.EXE is running. What am I doing wrong?

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Thanks everyone!
And thanks Udo - It is pretty challenging xD Have you typed Y on ipconnect.exe so it's ready for input from the modem? It may also be that you dialled the wrong number and didn't hang up before trying again - press the button on the top of the phone to hang up, if you've hooked up the phone and IPCONNECT is expecting input then you should work!

udo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hm... maybe I got the number wrong a few times, will try again! But yes, I had Y pressed and clicked on the hang-up button between tries.

EdgeOwl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Really enjoyed this one! It took me a wee while to get into the commands, and I accidentally reset the game a few times, but after that I got super into it. More please! :)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Had fun figuring out what to do. Nice job.

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:14pm

AWESOME! I was able to load the game this time. This is so much prettier than my own hacking game! Awesome job on this, and the sounds! And the atmosphere! For some reason I had difficulty placing the phone on the acoustic coupler, it kept on placing sideways... still I'm *so* glad I didn't have to click on the keyboard to type!

AmyDee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

That's an ooooold school modem, love it. Accidentally kept typing DOS commands like dir /w.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice style!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I hoped that some cool developers would have the guts to actually make games about screens :) I'm happy to step across some of those. Neat entry!

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:18pm

There's no room to the door :D
I feel locked in!
Also, I dropped the phone on the ground, and can't get it back up because my neck seems to be a little stiff :P

Great entry! ... very well done! This is pretty awesome :)

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice vibe.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Fantastic! :O

Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I was born in 83, and though I remember using 14k modems on a Performa (what was that chat thing bundled with Claris works called?), I am glad I missed computers shown in this game ;)
Great entry!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Fun! I love a good hacking game (even bad ones are fun ;) ). The modem sound really took me back to my younger days. I had a problem figuring out how to connect to the net, but I suppose that's in flavor for the whole 80s net experience, and anyway it didn't get TOO frustrating. I kept typing "DIR" to list files, but, you know, whatever. I would have been satisfied just having the computer be the entire game; as far as I'm concerned, 'physically' moving disks around was merely a nice touch. ;) And finally, if you win, it prints out a transcript of your entire game? That's a really nice touch! It gives you the sense of having created a story by playing.

I'd love to see this expanded!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]