Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tama

by kill0u - Compo Entry

Yay, you got a new electronic pet!
But.. this one seems kinda weird =/ Seems like he'll need your help to get his food. But be patient, he's really absent-minded so you'll lose him easily when guiding him through the levels!

Gameplay notes:
- You will shoot in the opposite direction of your last move. Hold your left mouse button to lock the direction.
- Tama will follow you if he sees you and you're close enough (but not too close). However, he'll still prefer the candy to you :P
- Tama poops sometime. Don't worry, you don't have to clean up. Hell, maybe this could even become useful?!


- "Soo this is the story of a ninja's electronic pet too dumb to fetch his food, so the ninja has to go inside the tamagotchi and shoot shurikens at skull monsters while guiding the dumb pooping pet to candies."
- "Uhhh ok. Are you sure you took your medicine?"


Sorry for the music/sfx, I was too tired for that. Instructions are available ingame.
Made with Haxe+OpenFL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#214Humor3.12
#481Graphics3.20
#498Theme3.64
#516Innovation3.18
#743Fun2.89
#744Overall3.02
#754Mood2.70

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19am

Pretty cool game. You might want to look a bit into path-finding, you might find it useful for Tama's movement :)

Silii says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good Job Kill0u, that's nice ! Mostly for Tama, who need to eat. Good thing is. ;)
If he is still hungry, I have pixelated wheat.

kill0u says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Thanks!

@FerraWare : he is already using it. I just made it dumb in purpose :P He can only follow you when he sees you, you're not too far and you're not too close (that one is to allow you to move without him getting in the way too much).

zitheker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

As I thought, you did this game very well. I love little Tama :D i have a little time to understand how choose the directions of shurikens, but Pulsar help me :D jut one question, you have design yourself the character ?

kill0u says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Yep, I have drawn everything in this game ;) I needed easy-to-draw head-only characters :P

The shooting style is indeed borrowed from Pulsar, which was from Death vs Monstars. The latter is great to know more about how this works (with the visible target).

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really cute design, polished UI, as a designer I really like the visuals you did. Everyone loves tamagotchis and I think this is a really nice effort in two days!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41pm

cool game.. I liked it!!!

Conk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice game play and visuals (:

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nifty idea! Though I think my tama might have ended up with mild diabetes lol. Great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I thought the erratic movements actually kind of fit the aesthetic, thought the idea was good and it was definitely fun to play :D.

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Cool idea, nice implementation! Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice one

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28pm

This game has a great atmosphere to it, and definitely has some potential. Make sure you do a post-compo version! Great game overall.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice game. Nice graphics. I would appreciate better pathfinding for Tama.

kill0u says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Well, Tama is dumb :3 I made its pathfinding chaotic on purpose ;)

Thanks to you all for playing & for your comments :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11am

Haha I always loved these things. Simple but i like how you interpreted the theme! goo job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10am

Lovely! Save the shity rabbit and let him find the candy. Shounds like brandnew hit!

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good work...

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20am

Cute game! I like the throwback to the tamagotchi and using that for the theme. It was pretty funny when the tama was scared and it pooped! The use of the guide throwing the ninja stars to help protect tama from enemies is a really cool mechanic. Well done!

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21am

nice graphics and good idea. but I find it weird that the shurikens are thrown at the opposite side of the mouse...

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:42pm

good job!
i'd prefer to be a knight who wants to save his princess instead of a ninja (wtf) with a pet. Maybe it's because i'm an old player...

kill0u says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Thanks!

Ahah yeah :D
The little story behind the ninja in one word: graphics. That was wayyyyy easier to draw than anything else I could come up with :D

As for the throwing mechanism, it's borrowed from Death vs Monstars (thanks Benjamin for the hint) ;)

voxel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Certainly more entertaining than a real tamogotchi. Poops were a nice touch. More games need poops.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27pm

This is a really cute and well executed idea. Nice work.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice controls. Kinda made me curious :)
Also nicely balanced. Had hard time and did not pass all levels.
As for theme use. Found it slightly cheesy

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:33pm

interesting, kinda hard to control, but it's good

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Interesting control scheme, and nicely polished. Would love to feel a little closer (scale wise) to the cute characters.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Cute entry, nice job!

Erhune says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very nicely done. I agree with some people here: games need more poop! (Ed McMillen understand that perfectly well!)

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:05am

cut game, but controls are really weird, Hard to master that (for me...)

01101101 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice one :) Movements are a bit weird sometimes but overall it works pretty well. Quite a fun game anyway :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Cool concept, but the little tama sometimes run straight into an enemy while i am just beside him and there is no candy nearby... -_-

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]