Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Kiwi

by fierysquirrel - Compo Entry

**I decided to remove the embed game here because it's 700x700 and the max. height is 600, sorry for that. Please play it in Newgrounds (the web link). Also you will be able to compete with others, there is a new leaderboard, enjoy!**

Very simple game about a hungry Kiwi that has to eat as many kiwis as he can :).

In order to move on the screen you use the keyboard arrows, the Kiwi can move over all platforms and walls, if you change from the floor to a wall, the Kiwi jumps accordingly.

To jump you use the up arrow.

Avoid the red bullets, you only have 3 (changed it to 5) opportunities.

Maybe late I will add more controllers and gamepad support if people are interested on it.


I didn't mentioned the tools before, here they are:

Programming Language: Haxe (http://haxe.org/)
Framework: OpenFL (http://www.openfl.org/)
Graphics: Inkscape (https://inkscape.org/es/)
Sounds: Bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/)
Music: Soundstation Studio (http://soundation.com/studio)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#255Audio3.21
#290Humor2.93
#498Theme3.64
#503Mood2.98
#504Graphics3.16
#533Innovation3.16
#644Overall3.12
#768Fun2.86

Comments

yosh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

I love the design of the kiwi :3
Concerning the game, it's quite hard to score, but it's still totally enjoyable. Good job for the music too!

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

Good gameplay! Also feel sad about this kiwi bird...

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

The controls are a bit iffy, you can't really move while jumping which makes dodging kind of frustrating.

Music is catchy and I like the visual style you're going for.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59am

@Pinpickle thank you very much for pointing the controls problem out, that was actually a bug, I already fix it, hope it makes it better

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Kiwis eating kiwis, nice!

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

Wow, nice game :D
It does have a good gameplay ^^. Controls are hard at first but it gets fun when you master them.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29am

Enjoyable! :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nice game! Really like how you used the theme, it gets pretty tricky trying to keep an eye on all the bullets. Solid overall, maybe the jumping could have bit more float to it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Nice game. The controls get somewhat confusing when you change the wall in which the player is. I had the same problem in my game and changed to use up and down also. Cool art in the menu screen! :)

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very nice little game. I like the idea of going on each screen side with flipped gravity. Kudos on the title screen graphics, it's beautiful. I also like the music a lot, what tool did you use to compose it?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

Such a cute title screen! Neat game as well! I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33am

@drludus Thank you very much for your comment, I'm sorry I didn't specify about the tool, I'm going to update the description: http://soundation.com/studio I found that randomly, it's great! you can use a lot of free sound to compose whatever you want and download it as wav or whatever you need. To convert the final compilation to mp3 I used Audacity http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

@Jupiter_Hadley thank you so much for your comments and for including it in your video it's awesome!! :D

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I love the theme of a kiwi eating kiwis! That is so cute.

Walking on each side of the wall is a really cool idea. I think it would be cool that when you jump to a wall, if you could stick to it in the air. It would give a better sense of control.
I wish that the canons in the corners would be outside of the stage a little bit, It made me not want to change walls because I thought I might get shot at and instantly hit.

Great game though! Good job. :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

My name, need I say more. Love it! :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:53am

I got 12! Interesting concept, simple and easy to use. Nice graphics as well. Overall great job and I found this game to be quite addictive, one of those challenging ones you know.

jpcote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01am

Good game. I like the share on twitter option, good feature for that kind of game

aisenhein says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Very cool music

danidre14 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Very intriguing music, but your game lagged a lot. It too me a wile to understand I could go to walls, since I kept trying to ump on cannons :3 But still an awesome game, even graphics, and it was very fun!

anissen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25am

Very nice game! I like the sweet theme with the Kiwi and being able to run along the walls. I found it quite difficult though - there's a lot going on at all times and the bullets require precise timing to jump. Also good audio side, although I felt that the chiptunes didn't match the theme very well. Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really clever, I like the idea of walking along the walls and ceilings. Dodging the bullets are a bit tricky though, maybe it would be good to have the Kiwi jump larger if you hold the button down.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Hehe. Fun game. Adorable graphics. It reminds me a bit about n+. Good job :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Nice and clean graphics, well done!

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:21pm

This is craziest game I ever seen! Kivi looks really insane. Maybe gameplay a little bit hard. But style is great!

voxel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:56am

haha whoah, best authentic kiwi simulator 2014 grand prize :D

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:43am

Interesting concept, but it has a huge flaw in that when you want to move to another side... you normally have to get around the corner cannons. Since there's no real warning with when they're going to fire, it's very easy to get hit just by a corner cannon, much less all the other ones firing at the same time.

The implementation just seems a bit... sloppy I suppose. All of the cannons seem sort of haphazardly thrown in to make the game more difficult... but it comes at the price of making that difficulty feel really cheap.

Some nice things may have been giving the cannons a "warming up" animation, so you can identify when they are about to fire. Cutting down on the number of static cannons in the game and adding the possibility for them to move, so that they still can potentially shoot anywhere... it's just less all at once. This could be introduced slowly so that they don't move much at first and get more intense at time progresses.

AinaSG says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice art! :D

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I love kiwi's

Scam says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I really liked this game. Music is awesome and fits to game nicely. This is also hard, which is a good thing.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

This was interesting and inventive, if somewhat disorienting. The mechanics were fun once I figured out what was going on. I found the jump noise to be a bit too powerful compared to the rest of the audio, and it really felt as though I should have been able to switch walls by jumping. The cannons in the corners - right in the player's movement path - made me want to be able to jump over them and made me worry about them generating bullets inside me. I think those should have been embedded in the walls somehow. It's quite entertaining though.

(I played three rounds, scoring 7, 8, 8.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]