Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Window

by TyrusPeace - Compo Entry

You have one tool in this world: the blue window. This screen allows you to look through and see things that don't exist yet, but could, with a touch of your finger.

Actually, you don't have fingers. Or hands. Hit Q to look at your in-game screen and then click on things ;).

Made in Unity. Music made in GarageBand. A couple very simple models made in Blender. I hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#9Innovation4.50
#10Overall4.19
#50Mood3.79
#85Theme4.15
#108Fun3.69
#116Audio3.50
#153Graphics3.81
#491Humor2.57

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Great concept! And nice feeling and aesthetics!

The small screen bothered sometimes when having to look where to jump but could beat the game!

Ovidios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36pm

WOW! By far the most awesome-looking game I saw this Ludum Dare! And since I really LOVE 3D-puzzle-games this was a ton of fun to me!
Your interpretation of the theme was also fantastic!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I just learned about "RenderTexture" during this Compo (as I needed to render a camera to a texture and just hoped unity could do that) and it had my head spinning with ideas. I love what you did here, reminds me of an oculus demo I tried the other day. Very well done!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Loving this entry! Only real problem with it is that there's no way to push the mirror aside so you can see what's actually in front of you without turning to the side and only seeing an obscured look of it at the edge of the screen.

Lars Faust says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Came here from your blog post, nice read.

And a great entry on top. Very nice use of the theme, cool visual style and engaging gameplay. A few checkpoints would have been nice, but the levels are short enough to live without.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Good job!

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Excellent idea, being able to interact and not just see through the screen is really cool.

It's a bit slow on my old computer so it was a bit hard to jump though.

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Great game ! Love the level design

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Woah, it can be somethnig! Great aesthetics, cool atmosphere and fantastic idea. This cube screen was sometimes annoying, especially during jumping, it would be nice to be able to switch it off.
I couldn't find a way to the exit in the level with balls and lasers but the amount of levels is incredible (as for compo). Fantastic job :)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Wow oO. Need a bigger screen to be better but, wow !

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I liked it, however I found that the screen would get in my way at times.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

Very nice! Reminds of a bit of Portal.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

This is a very cool mechanic and I loved the types of things you did with it!

(One small thing: I know this is a jam so time is pretty scarce, but the default camera settings in Unity tend to make me and other sensitive people a bit motion sick. In the future, if you could turn down the sensitivity a bit, that would be awesome.)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Holy crap, very well done!

Nice graphics and sound, and the mechanics are awesome.

One small thing:
I would like to be able to turn on and off the screen, and that it always stays in front of me, not only when you press Q.

Best game so far!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Interesting original concept, although the mouse sensitivity was a bit high.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:27am

Really nice platformer, nice concept and solid result.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:51pm

great, visually stunning, nice mood, very creative, well done

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very good game. Now that's an interpretation I haven't seen here so far. Cool mechanincs. Though sometimes the screen in front of me made it hard to see where I was going. But great mood and artstyle.

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great entry! really original idea, and use of theme! 5/5 innovation!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very nice game and great concept! I really liked the fresh puzzler style :-)

Great job!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Excellent entry overall! Can't really think of anything to citicize

kaa says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Oh! Thats perfect!! So fresh idea... Thank you!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Awesome concept! The window perspective is extremely clever, as is the activate/deactivate feature. Sometimes the window got in the way; it might be good to add a feature to hide it. I also couldn't find a way to get past the laser/ball level. Overall, a very creative entry!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:37pm

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:01am

The concept and puzzles were neat. My only issue was with the screen--I wish it could be turned on and off, simply because it was disorienting to look through it when timing jumps, etc.

Norgg says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Ohh, I like your interpretation of the theme! The first few puzzles felt a bit light on the puzzle and heavy on the platforming, in that the solution was mostly "activate all the things". Enjoyed where you went with them though.

I think I'd prefer it if there was a bit less emphasis on accurate jumps, I always find them kind of frustrating and sort of weird in a first person view.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]