Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Buddy Loves You: A Snowoperative Adventure

by Norgg - Compo Entry

A local cooperative multiplayer snowball-em-up.

Build your home on the middle platform from the scattered blocks, then get both of you inside.

Gather snow from the ground to get larger, firing snowballs uses up your own body.

If your buddy breaks, put them back together.

It's winnable single player, but better with a friend.

Gamepad (recommended) or keyboard.
Player 1: WASD+Space
Player 2: Arrows+Return
R to restart. M to mute.

Unity, Paint.NET, Bosca Ceoil, bfxr, Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#230Humor3.07
#289Theme3.82
#330Fun3.33
#459Overall3.28
#468Innovation3.24
#618Audio2.59
#674Mood2.81
#738Graphics2.79

Comments

the31 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

I built the home myself, and managed to reassemble my friend and escape! Except... he didn't make it all the way in, fell off, and died.

Very cool! The snow mechanic was awesome, and throwing the house together was very intuitive. I wish I had someone to play this with, but it was fun even on a keyboard. It would be nice if aiming was better, but that's why you recommend a gamepad!

The art's a bit simplistic--what are those enemies?--but overall, it's easy to understand what's going on.

☃☃

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51am

@the31: Thanks!

They're officially known as Fire Things, the sworn enemies of the snowman race.

I'd have liked to have made them prettier and add some other enemies in, but got distracted by game mechanics as usual.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10am

This is a lot of fun, I like that you can rebuild your buddy :)

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14am

Nice game. I game for two players but playable with two hands too :-)

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01am

Aww I can't rate this one because I don't have anyone to play it with me. Sorry!

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02am

Oh I love the ideas! So manny small things you guys thought of. Great. Love that i can rebuild my snowman buddy! Good work!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16am

Cooperative games are excellent. My wife and I really enjoyed playing this one together (ok, she hid and I played and put her back together). Charming little game!

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/B_pV19k5gRo

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:41pm

@badlydrawnrod + wife: Awesome! Thanks for making the video, really nice to see how you react to the game while playing.

voxel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

being able to throw the house bricks was a really fun touch. I thought this was a really fun idea, but a bit easy, even single player. I didn't really need to even attack the .. spinning fire brick demon things

Charimation says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very cool game, made us jump when the red blocks started coming in! Quite challenging and a lot of fun :)I loved the co-op aspect

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice game, very simple and hard.

voxel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:07pm

This is my favourite game. I actually returned to it to play some more

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice game! I wasn't able to test with a second player, however I like the idea of cooperative gameplay.

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Haha okay I was pretty skeptical to begin with but this turned out great, even playing on my own was fun. Loved the fact that you can revive the co-op player. Good fun.

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:08pm

The building mechanic was neat and well done. It would be cool if the Fire Things spawned at a lower rate but also knocked pieces off of your house they collided with it. I appreciated the option for co-op and we had a lot of fun playing. Great work!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice concept with snow grabbing!

Tuism says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Really interesting concepts, I enjoy the coop elements, except there was almost no need to coop - It might be better if the coop was forced neither of the pair could do what the other could. So split tasks.

The shooting was only marginally useful to start with, then once I realised you could toss blocks it became dead easy as I could very quickly build the house without moving much.

So the problems with shooting were: It was almost impossible to kill the fire things, so that felt useless, and the collision with the fire things was really difficult as they got smaller, doubling their futileness.

I only managed to put my "buddy" back together once, his head refused to go back on many many times. It got frustrating.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:59am

Cool house building mechanic! I'm not sure what the point of shooting at the enemies was as they just get small enough that you don't seem to be able to kill them in a reliable fashion.

Still though, you've got a lot of different concepts that you managed to implement for one compo entry, and they all add appealingly to the final game. Nicely done!

alfie275 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

A very fun game. I managed to build the igloo and escape, but one of the snowmen were left behind!
Here's the video I did on it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auChy_fQluI

voxel says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

ahh i played it again

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:58am

I live in rural Japan with noone to play with. :( This is hard to do by oneself.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]