Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Guard Screen

by SusanTheCat - Compo Entry

You are the security guard at the High Brow Museum. Unfortunately, you only have one screen to watch all the floors of the museum.

Your job is to hit the ALERT button if you notice that somebody has taken something. You lose if you hit the alarm and nothing was stolen on that floor or if the villain has a chance to get away.

This was build using the Quintus JavaScript Engine: http://www.html5quintus.com/

It uses the A * path finding algorithm by Brian Grinstead: http://www.briangrinstead.com/blog/astar-search-algorithm-in-javascript-updated

And yes, this is an old-style play until you lose game. :P

Susan

[EDIT] Fixed the link. Forgot the .com!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#372Fun3.29
#445Overall3.29
#561Audio2.69
#851Theme3.36
#927Graphics2.52

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

Your web link doesn't seem to be working correctly!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57pm

http://garionthecat/guard_screen <- Web page not available.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Very fun to play, and the misdirection sometimes really work. I guess it could be better if the game could tell player where they fail (like circle out the ones that is stolen when you already game over). I'm like failing the game for several times and I totally have no clue about where I failed.

Good game!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Fixed the link: Thanks!

@Team Flashlight - Good point! That would be very helpful for a player

Susan

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great game, made me question if it wasnt bugged sometimes (i really didnt see them stealing xD)

Check this one:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Haha nice game but it's really hard.
I can't keep my eyes on 2-3 floors :p

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This is so rebel! There is only one screen, but there are multiple floors. Very hard to keep up.

Well done!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Thanks for the comments!

It is really hard to see when they've stolen something. The visitor stops moving and the icon changes to one where he looking up and you can see the purple ball behind them. Maybe change it to have a "!" over their head or something.

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I like the challenge of keeping your eye on multiple floors. Nice job!

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very fun game, I bookmarked it! :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Surprisingly tense!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:12pm

OMG, that was intense! I liked it.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13pm

We had a similar game concept in mind (:
This was fun, nice job!

sorle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:18pm

it´s cute. I love it!

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

You can't trust visitors in our days! Cute game, thanks.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I like the idea here, but boy is it hard! First time I played I didn't realize there were multiple floors, but lucked out several levels in a row when the thief was on the first floor. I thought there was a bug when it said someone got away with a theft, 'cause I was positive no stealing happened on my watch. xD

victorafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Loved the game!

But now I hate you!

It made me insane trying to figure out where the smuggler is!

Hate you I Hate you I Hate you!

hjfrew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15am

Such a fun concept, gets you into it really quickly and soon you're feverishly switching between cameras watching anyone do anything suspicious. Loved it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great concept, and finally one that did something creative with the theme! Didn't like the sound effects, but the music is quite nice. I could see this work very well as a mobile game too.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:47pm

What would work nicely as an addition: just have the thief remove the item and walk away, and you would not only have to sound the alarm, but also point out who did it. (Maybe you could accuse more than one, but your score would go down accordingly.) It would be nice if they didn't all look the same in that case :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

@Frozen Fractal: I like the idea of accusing someone. Maybe a version 2 that is a murder mystery. :)

BTW- it does run on my Android tablet. It adjusts the size (sorta) and tweaks some of the internal factors.

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Interesting concept! At first I thought it was too easy, until I realized that "first", "second", "third", etc. referred to different floors! Then it quickly became quite a challenge :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Fun little game with interesting concept!
I think you know that you can quite improve on the art :)
Some non-so-obvious tip maybe: make the characters have both an animation for idling and walking. In this style stretching them a bit on the y-axis should be already enough.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:31am

Neat little game - hard to keep my eye on everything but that's part of the challenge! Good job :)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:44am

A fun, though very difficult, game. Nice interpretation of the theme!

If you develop this further, I'd like to see something to visually convey the "security screen" concept -- perhaps a border around the play area that looks like a TV monitor.

Good work!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:47am

Turns out it really wouldn't be a good career choice for me... I got twitchy ,) Fun idea, plays nicely. I just wished I got a job in a smaller museum. With less floors. And more screens.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:15am

Fun with the frantic level switching trying to keep an eye on everyone. My daughter didn't like the alarm sound much, though. The first run I did, I got lucky because they were all on the first floor, and I thought the buttons were a way for me to know how many runs I had done, not a way to check multiple floors...

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Good idea, fits the theme. Not so easy that it could seems, good job. :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:09am

Interesting take on the theme with a simple concept that works well. Liked the way you have to keep your eye on the whole screen and pay attention.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Nice game, I liked how you need to pay attention to all the visitors.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]