Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ant Farm

by LastResortGames - Jam Entry

You are an ant digging out an ant hill.

It is your job to assign ants to the three jobs.

Diggers help your main ant dig faster.
Foragers gather food for the rest of your ants.
Warriors fight enemy ant armies.

Click on dirt to dig. You have to click each individual spot to dig it out. If is not bordering an already Dug or designated to be dug spot it will not work.

Press P to move the camera to the player.
Press C for the credits.

------

(In Post-Jam version)
Press S to mute the game
Press M to see the entire map.

Also the world is 4 times bigger in the post-jam version. It was kind of small for a reason. Then I fixed that reason and didn't re-enlarge it.

-----

At semi-regular intervals you will be attacked by enemy ants. You will have a few seconds to prepare. (They don't actually exist. It is just a bunch of messages.)

On the theme, typically we make RPG's and multi room games. So this time we just made a game where all of the information was in the same area.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#230Audio(Jam)3.37
#699Innovation(Jam)2.74
#738Graphics(Jam)2.74
#745Humor(Jam)2.09
#791Mood(Jam)2.62
#870Overall(Jam)2.74
#944Fun(Jam)2.31
#990Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Can't get the game to actually work, though it looks interesting!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54pm

What is the problem exactly? I just double checked both versions and it worked as expected.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

The management bit was nice, but I couldn't really work out which way I was digging. The enemy ants didn't get in, probably because I wasn't digging enough.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

It would be nice to have some animations, for example, illustrating the amount and state of different ants. I liked the music.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nifty game! Nice blend of rts mechanics and combat. Great job! Music is pretty good too!

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Works fine for me. Needed time to figure out how to increase the number of ant per job... That was obvious but I'm tired after two days of jam... BTW I don't understand what the digger brings to the gameplay. They dig, ok, but what's the purpose in the game ? furthermore, the game doesn't fit the theme... but nice job anyway

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Nice premise. I couldn't get anything to happen though.

Wait? How is this in the theme?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43pm

reminds me a bit of Rymdkapsel, but it has a very interesting twist on the formula. Very neat.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I don't understand how to play... It doesn't make sense...

Arowx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice little concept. I think you might need to make the arrows for assigning ants more like buttons. Took me a while to work out what to do.

Arrow keys or WASD for scroll would be nice. Great little tune as well.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

We interpreted the theme as limiting all information to one area. No levels or rooms or other zones. Just one place. It's a bit liberal I guess but it's what we went with. So... that's how it fits haha. If it isn't good enough better luck next time I guess.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Fun! I had to give it some time to understand how it works. I like the concept, would love to see some more animations during the gameplay. Thanks

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

I found it a little confusing initially, but after understanding how the game works it gets interesting. As others have said, the lack of animations and more dynamic stuff on the screen takes some credit off the game, would love to see more movement! Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:15am

hard time figuring out to do - still i liked the idea - nice work

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

The ui just need an over haul and than you game would be truly epic, its a shame tho :(

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Pretty neat concept, nice work!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Nice game, I really like the audio.

Btw. If oyu want, check my game, thank you!

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:17pm

it was a little difficult to see what was going on, however the visuals were nice

Wilson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Cool game, very satisfying. I guess there's no actual point in digging stuff out right now? At least, I never found anything even after digging all the way to the bottom and checking out the sides.

pht59x says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:53pm

WTF do you do with this? Does not seem to really suit the theme. Music is fine.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:29am

The management is fun! It might be better if digging brings something useful powerups for the player. And after some level ups, player's army value always dominates the enemy, and the waves seem more like a boost for ant numbers

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I loved this graphics

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

My ant kingdom is defeat. I can't get it. Poor ants xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]