Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Avoidotron

by StabAlarash - Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to control the snowman stuck in what seems to be some kind of north pole factory...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#60Graphics4.10
#105Audio3.57
#197Mood3.39
#233Overall3.54
#290Humor2.93
#325Fun3.34
#416Theme3.70
#1013Innovation2.39

Comments

nathan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48am

Super ! Très énergique ! Rétro à souhait !
Mais j'ai pas encore battu le 1er boss...

Aborysa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56am

:>

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice work

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Enjoyed this a lot. Great graphics!

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Very nice game, simple mechanics, but very well-refined! Great graphics!

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Good game! Cool grafics! In the game sometimes too hard to jump on the upper platform.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Fun little game with fast gameplay and a very well done artstyle. Looks inspired by super crate box without the shooting. Which is a good thing. Would love to be able to jump, but I understand why you would leave it out. This game would benefit from insta-death since you are going to die anyway when in a corner, why wait?

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

it is fun, and with nice artworks

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Fun little game with great art style but did notice the jump button seemed to get stuck at times.

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice art and sound. But a bit hard to control

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10am

Very pretty pixel-art here! Really love the graphics and the sounds. The game is very polished and I've a lot of fun with it, despite the simple game mechanics!
Keep up the good work!

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

I really like the graphics and the music. The slippery surface was a nice touch to make it challenging. Although I feel the jump height may need to be a bit higher as the drop off when you fall is very sharp. This sometimes makes it hard to land on the platform. Good job!

Meedoc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

Very nice game! Good physics, nice graphics, nice ambient music!

You still could improve the weight of the randomness, sometimes might become hard quite quickly if you don't get the rage :)

Anyway, great job!

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very fun!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24am

Very cute! in the mood for xmas :)
Gets hard very fast, but I love the graphics and the music!
Excellent job

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I love the graphics, and that gnome-ducks are falling from the moon! ^___^

Wezley says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:03am

Feels a lot like muffin knight, but more fun xD Nice job!

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17am

Nice platformer - would have loved for it to play a little slower though

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

Reminds me a lot of Super Crate Box! Wonderful all around, very clean, difficult, fun! The powerups could be a little more diverse, but other than that, good game!

Tifu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:39am

Cool, jumping to higher platforms could probably be better.
Am I getting hurt when Santa hits the ground? If so, I feel that could be more clearly conveyed to player, I think I died a few times from that without realising... best score 32

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41am

Simple yet so fun. Good job!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42am

This is definitely the best-looking 2D Unity game I have ever seen - most of them look like janky Flash or Java stuff. Controls are a little slippery, though, and the SFX could use a little more punch.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

Like the pixel arts and character design. Also the gameplay is good, with simple and understandable mechanics. Well done!

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50am

The gameplay, as has been said before, is similar to Super Crate Box but also different enough to still hold up on its own. However, I feel that the jump could be improved, and maybe enemies could knock you away when you get hurt so that you don't land on them and lose multiple health before you can get away. The graphics and music are both great, and the boss is funny. Good game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Cool little arcade game, even if the movement were a bit too fast. I love the graphics, especially the background.

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice idea with falling down to get upper. I enjoyed this game a lot =)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice graphics, nice audio, good, fun and challenging little action game, good job ! :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Great example of how a 48h game can benefit from a really slim concept. Beautiful art and music. The gameplay is reasonably simple, basically Super Crate Box minus the weapons, but the slippery controls make it challenging and fun. All the stars for you, Sir! Well, almost. :)

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29pm

The sound is epic really has some swag.... gives the xmas thing a bad ass style ....and old school gameplay remembers me to smb3 multiplayer on one screen

and the pixel art is super cool!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11am

Awesome graphics, awesome music, super frustrating controls and physics.

If there were a meter showing you when rage ran out, or if stomping were a permanent ability I think it would be more fun.

Also, movement sideways is SO fast and slidey, and jumps are SO non-floaty, it makes actually trying to land precise stomps or jump onto platforms very difficult. You have to hit jumps right at the peak to even get on platforms.

Carduus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:33am

Nice GFX, and i like the concept. Nevertheless, the difficulty progress very fast! and i'm a noob, i got raped by so many elves! Poor snowman!

InToGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Love the graphics and the retro-style way the screen wraps around. The boss made me LOL :) Stomping enemies I found a bit fiddly but it's great that there are visual and audio cues for when you're powered up. Impressive!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Simple and smooth game. Graphics looks so awesome! 5/5 overall

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]