Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Wars

by Poongothai - Jam Entry

Use Arrow keys to move guy and escape from dragon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2296Coolness10%

Comments

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20pm

IT'S NOT THE SOURCE, IT'S THE WINDOWS VERSION !

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Ehm, i can't rate it :(

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Congratulation for finishing this Game ! \o/
I liked the fast-paced gameplay with the die and retry aspect of it.

Aside form the fact that i seem to be able to fly, my main cncern is the lack of sound. I think it really missed some sound. Even crappy Sfx would have done the job and an epic music would have been cool.

I also liked to mash my SPACE key like a berserk.

My advice for next time : Take the time to make some sign/Feedback sound !

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Can't Rate it either

pht59x says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Unratable: link doesn't work.

asobitech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:21am

I think you need to check a few of the rating category boxes.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Yeah! Would you compile this game, the poster looks great! I have to play this game.

edve98 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Why would you post only source?

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I cant rate :( the game was fun tho :3

acro says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Unfortunately can't rate : (

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Dragon wars! Was I blowing kisses at the dragon?

Good difficulty level, but obviously entry is a bit rough around the edges. Still, there's something here. I tried to cheat your game by hiding in the top left corner above the dragon, but you didn't allow that, good job.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:07pm

best score : 38600
The game is cool but you could improve it with very simple tasks :
- remove bullets once they hit the dragon. make it blink or add an animation on the impact if possible.
- make a score display ingame so we can see our progress.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:11pm

The download keeps failing for me.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Eh?

reverso13 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:11pm

can't rate the game, can't play the game...

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:03am

Not bad, nice art.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Huh. Note that the "source" link is actually the windows version. I liked the idea, but the execution left something to be desired. I only found out about the shooting mechanic from reading the comments, and the walking controls feel sticky. Also, when you walk into a wall, your control direction is reversed - e.g, if you hold right and slam into the right wall, you will begin walking left. I'd recommend evaluating the way you handle player movement, because it looks to me like you're using speed variables where just incrementing the x and y values would be more appropriate. (Though I haven't seen the source and can't say for sure.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]