Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rigmarole

by team_popup - Jam Entry

Rigmarole
Attention! THE Pop-Up-Simulator is coming!
Rigmarole is the fairytale you wish you had forgotten. You're a pop-up-book's protagonist on the quest to color your pale enemies in order to get from page to page and continue with the story.

Rigmarole was created in Unity. Levels are generated randomly.

The plan was to make a small dungeon-crawler on one screen (page) generating itself around the player. As it happens, you overestimate yourself, so this happened to come out as a Pop-Up-Simulator. In german game-industry, simulators are huge and tonight we finally found out why: We're just better at this than at other stuff like... combat systems.

So.. Have fun and enjoy! :)

Yours,
Team Pop-Up.


Controls:

WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
N - Magic!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23pm

This is more of an experience than a game, but it's a REALLY gorgeous one and I'm sad there aren't any other comments on your piece yet! The story book idea and visuals are neat (though a little bit too zoomed out for me, would've been nice to be closer to see the detail) and I think there's some cool potential there. Music was also lovely and whimsical, and wow, kudos for doing randomly generated levels! Be proud of what you did. :D

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

That looks so gorgeous! I wish you'd have had time to pull of your full idea. I'd love to play a full game in this style.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really interesting idea! wonderful graphics, great idea!

paperweight says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great graphics but sadly no game - this should become something!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Wow, amazing graphics! Too bad you didn't have enough time. A game withing a pop-up book sounds like a great idea.

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I really like the idea! Too bad its not really playable yet, I want to explore a pop-up world now! =) The music is nice.
One could do some awesome storytelling with this as foundation - post-compo please :]

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Not much in terms of gameplay but I absolutely loved the pop-up storybook style you've got plus the music was very nice and relaxing. You should try and flesh this out into a more complete game as you've already got an interesting concept to start with.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Pretty neat! A good start, at least. I think you've got a good idea with the pop-up stuff, I'd like to see more of a 'game' to it. (Incidentally, I noticed that you can make some of the cutouts fly off the book and off into space...)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]