Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Vengeful God

by 2Bit - Jam Entry

You play as a 'vengeful god' confined to a small island population. You can build up followers to become more powerful and unlock more god powers.

-------------
Instructions
-------------
-CORE MECHANIC: Convert followers with your "conversion" power (flashing one)
-People you don't convert will have to be killed before they leave the island
-Get more followers to charge your powers faster and unlock different levels of godliness that have more powers.

NOTE: If 5 or more people escape, YOU LOSE the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#287Humor(Jam)3.03
#319Audio(Jam)3.18
#411Graphics(Jam)3.46
#504Mood(Jam)3.03
#514Overall(Jam)3.20
#577Fun(Jam)2.95
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82
#656Theme(Jam)3.38

Comments

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

Seriously?! :D
I am a Black and White fun so this catches my attention. This game has the mood, there is a feel here of old good Molyneux games.

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Cool! Clicking the followers precisely was a bit difficult at times, and losing came fast, but I stuck with it long enough to get most powers. Nice work!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59am

Haha this reminds me a little bit Molyneux's style. Or a mobile game named Babel Rising..
I had a lot of trouble clicking on the unfaithful followers, and some time i think i couldn't launch my spell..
Good work about the overall mood for it, i like the way corpses roll on the ground xD

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00am

good graphics. fun gameplay although i couldn't figure out how to get followers

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02am

Really frustrating. There's no clear indication what I'm doing to my followers (they turn blue and groan; am I killing them? Turning them into zombies? What?) or what my powers do, apart from the fireball. And the interface for viewing the island is pure pain - so much for "all-seeing!"

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04am

The idea is really cool. People are way too tiny..

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06am

Poke people to death! 5/5 Fun great game was really fun and impressive :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18am

Reminded me Black & White. Nice job!

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01am

@Evergreen Games - One of the powers you have converts the people into your followers.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Fun game. Hilarious sound effects! Wish I could zoom out slightly, but that would make it too easy. Not sure what else to say.

Vtor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The link is broken.

lemmily says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Frustrating! camera controls are strange, and as mentioned it's not obvious what my powers are doing, you mention converting but which is that or how does that work? for the short time though well done! Some things(extra powers?) might've been better being simplified/left out in favour of making it more understandable

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

So addicting!!!
But its just too difficult to keep 5 people on land, perhaps change it to something like 20 as I cant get more then 4 followers before I lose!
Other then the fact some people may take offence I think its a great and funny game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00pm

neat little game! if the "click a guy to toss him" skill was default that would improve the games feel a lot. But we all know what it's like to make a game in a weekend. Playtesting doesn't happen, no ones got time for that!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Ahh, this takes me back to waaay too many hours spent playing the first two Populous games. Awesome feel! Some of the controls are a little fiddly, but good fun overall.

matthewjoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:06am

Sorry to everyone getting annoyed by the controls. We understand the issue but we had a 28 hour crunch at the end and simply ran out of time to polish controls and the like.

Just as a quick helpful guide, you can convert followers two ways. The first is the conversion spell which is the spell on the bottom left that looks like a goblet. The other is to kill followers near other followers, which is difficult because the area is a bit too low but if you poke people as soon as they land off the zeppelin then you'll convert a few nearby people.

Also, when people turn blue, they are converted and will start praying to you (although they turn blue when they die too as they are converted in death).

2Bit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

@SivGoose To clarify this game isn't taking shots at any current world religions but rather poking fun at the asshole nature of the ancient world gods like Zeus.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very well made, but it needs some polish.

Graphics and sound are nice, but it would be nice that if you choose a power your cursor changed, and would keep that power until you choose another one.

Good job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nice entry, Mr. Molyneux!! :)
Loved the powers, the cute graphics and the sound. The UI could have used a bit more work as it was tough to have feedback to know who you were clicking on.

Great job!

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28am

Smart idea and looks good, but controls are to hard. I liked the "Demigod" sound =)

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32am

it's a cool game, just has some issues with using powers.
An on-hover display of what a power does would be useful, and if you could use the power and not have to select it again. Also, make so it's not so hard to click on the people.
Other than that, I liked the audio/visual aspects, and the design is cool; mostly just being held up by the annoyances I mentioned

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great potential but as is, its really hard to play. A hint over these power buttons would improve things a lot. Camera sometimes behave strangely and I have no indication of how many bastards escaped from my hands. Things are too far, I would zoom the camera to give more are to click on people.

Please don't take these critics bad, 4 in 5 of my own LD games, I make these same mistakes. Lessons to be learned. Then again, this game have great potential and I hope to see a better polished full featured version.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Oh, that's nice, like old good games!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:51am

I am a terrible person/god. Awesome.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:03am

No man! God is love :)
Interesting concept. Well done ++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]