Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Seven Lightyears of Bad Luck

by kirbytails7 - Compo Entry

It sure is a good thing that your enemies only brought mirrors with which to fight you!...Right?

Top-down shoot-'em-up where you're the only one shooting. Controls in-game. I recommend a controller and headphones if you have them. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#189Audio3.35
#308Fun3.36
#366Overall3.38
#436Innovation3.28
#626Theme3.55
#664Mood2.82
#738Graphics2.79
#749Humor2.22

Comments

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12am

This was quite a bit of fun, I did play with a Xbox 360 controller. My only suggestion on controls would be to have the R thumbstick act both as aiming and as the trigger.

The music and other audio was great and helped build the mood of the game.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19am

Nice executed!

I only realized my bullets could hit me after my first dead though, your own health bar is so small and appears just when you get hit :P

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21am

I like music, very energetic. And the dynamic weapon mechanics make it very fun to play.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22am

Can't get space to work

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43am

@Sandcrawler - Hmm...Now that I think about it, I forget why I separated out the shoot button. I think I wanted the distinction between the automatic fire rate and mashing.

@Fonserbc - Oh, whoops, I guess I assumed the health bars were noticeable enough!

@BaneStar007 - Thanks for letting me know. I actually noticed that the keyboard controls are just not working correctly. Fixing now!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:59pm

The idea is excellent, because you have to balance the need to shoot the enemies with the fact that you're the only one who can shoot yourself. Makes for an interesting, thoughtful shooter.

My wife made a "Mum plays..." for this game: http://youtu.be/PoPckd4v5gg

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05am

Really cool game, loved how bullet bounce and hit you.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38am

@badlydrawnrod - =) That's the idea. Thanks for the video!! I'm glad the title screen kind of works for getting a feel for the controls.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

It's a little like QWOP for Shootemups (I don't have a controller). Liked the vector graphics and of course the power ups.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really nice, fun to play with the controller. I tried to play on my keyboard as well but ghosting stopped me from moving diagonally and aiming diagonally, oh well. Really cool work!

kalugny says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Enjoyed it a lot!

qristofer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

It's good game. I like the idea of the ricochets, makes you plan your shots more carefully. I like clever start screens too. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very cool! it really forces you to think instead of mash. great concept. great execution.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

This is wonderful! The concept is very creative, the enemies and power-ups are nicely designed, and the controls feel great. I had a lot of fun playing this!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:03am

@Jellycakes - Yeah, I've noticed that as well, unfortunately. Now that I think of it, perhaps mouse for aiming would have worked better.

Thanks for the comments!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice game, although the shooting controls were quite difficult to master. It should shoot in the direction of the ship instead of the keys pressed. Overall nice and simple game works quite well!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54am

@Murchurl - IMO, the maneuverability with dual sticks (keys) makes the controls smoother, though I didn't actually try it with one stick at any point.

JFern says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50am

I love these kinds of games and this one was quite a bit of fun! The ricocheting bullets definitely brought a challenge. I noticed your post-mortem on the music portion which was interesting to read through so 3 things relating to that:

1. Keep at the song writing, it's good, but improvements can always be head (and kudos for including music, adds SO much more to the game!)

2. Your song fits the mood well for the most part and you had a good feel for contour, but some chord/note choices seemed out of place and brought me out of it

3. The bullet sfx for some reason kept dragging my mind away from the song itself (since they fired in a different beat than the song was) This could probably just be me being weird.

Really enjoyable! Great job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32am

@JFern - Glad you liked the post-mortem!
I didn't think there was anything too jarring in it, but yeah, there are some note choices that could be better.
I thought it sounded strange without a bullet SFX and figured this one wouldn't be too distracting.

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:44am

Good concept. Liked the aiming controls, even though they were confusing at first.

InHelli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:52am

wow..cool game :)

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:53am

Pretty good game, with pretty unique gameplay, but like was stated earlier having aiming and shooting different controls felt unnatural, but it might just be because I'm not used to it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:59am

Fun! It took me a while to figure out that the bouncing shots hurt you, and in the meantime a got really surprised whenever I saw "game over".

gre says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great game.
Not sure the gameplay is adapted on a simple keyboard but I bet it is fun with a proper controller.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Nice game. But controls are really hard.

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:16am

I love how the edge of the screen wiggles when a projectile hits it.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:40am

Haha fun stuff - I liked being my own worst enemy! Clever game design and nice graphics.

Aevek says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:43am

I really enjoyed this one. The mechanic of the bouncing bullets really added some interesting mechanics to the gameplay. It balanced the powerups like multishot well. My only suggestion would be to have the played ship face where you're aiming instead of where you're moving.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:50am

Well done! Some random notes (hope it will be useful in some way) : I would have preferred if right stick would both aim AND shoot. Maybe that would have been a bit more handy. You could of course shooting by not pushing right stick. In addition, I think my ship should face the direction I shoot, not the direction I go, it wouldn't be realistic sure, but it might feels better.

Anyway, the idea of making a bullet hell out of the very own bullets I fire is very cool and surprising, neat entry :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:41am

Nice game! Slick graphics and music, and a good difficulty ramp. The keyboard controls weren't great, but I was able to sort-of play with a PS3 controller which made the controlling much better (unfortunately, things are mapped weird for the PS3 controller, and I have no xbox).

Overall nice entry!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:44am

Golly, I haven't thanked anyone in a while. Thanks, everyone!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:20am

Hey Kirbytails, I was wondering if you'd be willing to give my game another try. I fixed the issue you had where enemies stopped spawning. Thanks!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=18547

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:12am

Really simple and fun game. Nice work.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

Interesting concept! to fight against the pizza xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]