Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

S.E.A.L. SHARK

by liam-mitchell - Jam Entry

S.E.A.L. Shark, you're the only one who can help us now!

The evil Dr. Man has retreated to his lair and is trying to take over the world with nano-bots! Fight your way to him and destroy him. For Justice and America!

Controls:
Left - Right - Up - Down : Movement
Z: Shoot
X: Bite
R: Restart

Known bugs:
Collision problems sometimes when jumping up into blocks
Resetting from the final boss sometimes prevents the camera from scrolling upwards on reset
Like eighteen million other bugs (sorry!)

Tech:
Programming: Python, Pygame
Art: Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Congratulation for finishing this Game ! \o/
Really like the graphics of your game !
The controls are a bit clunky but okay overall.
No sound make me sad. Nasty nugs make me sad (Boss spawned in the bad location, Can go throught some plateform)
Your level design was cool, except for the Trap-door that i didn't see on the first screen.

My advice for next time : Make some sound, even crappy noises. They are really important feedback for the player

On a more personal note : WHY THE F*** do i become a tetris piece when i'm dead ?

Once again, congratulation for finishing this Game !

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The physics of jumping was too frustrating. Couldn't reliably jump high, making the cat chase annoying.

Deranes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I love the shark mech sprite of the main character. But a combination of bugs and it being non obvious what to do breaks the game experience. For example the first room. You can fall out of the door on the left, go underneath the "Elevator" and get teleported into the fire. Or jump out of the room to the right and fall down to the second level. And I have no idea which one is the intended way to try and complete the room. The chase sequence is equally hard to understand what to do, the first times the cameleon and doctor where glitching around on the screen, or when they are there I have no idea how to get past them. Attacking them doesn't seem to work and running beneath them when they jump didn't work.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Some nice ideas in the level.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The story behind these scenarios must be nuts! A shark strapped into robotic legs, a scientist on a fire-breathing chameleon, a giant cat chase across a table into a house plant. An open furnace in the dining room.

So much potential, but there are many bugs. The shark disappears if I move the window. It turns into a tetris piece. It gets pushed into the ground by rotating platforms.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:13am

Blue the lemon said all that I wanted to say! :D

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Too bad that it's still hardly playable, but graphics are really good.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:16am

With the name S.E.A.L. SHARK, and the character design...I WANT TO PLAY THIS REALLY BAD!!! Please post a web version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]