Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TVScape

by EsirInGame - Jam Entry

Michel is locked inside a TV and you want him to get out of here. You must help him picking four hammers in order to destroy the screen and escape from the TV.
But there is a lot of enemies roaming around and they won't let him go. Enable and disable RGB components and sound to make them disappear.

Controls: Arrow keys
Jump: Space
COMPONENTS
Switch red: 1
Switch green: 2
Switch blue: 3
SOUND
Switch sound: 4

Game made for Windows
By EsirINGame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Theme(Jam)3.73
#611Innovation(Jam)2.87
#878Overall(Jam)2.73
#1008Fun(Jam)1.93
#2217Coolness17%

Comments

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

basically it easly buged, the numbers can be pressed constantly to destroy all enemies. It becomes imposible to play with half the screen, it should show me something or giveme some kind of clue of what a hell im doing, plus the movement is hard to master... An other bug is that colour switches don't move.

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

what i like: the theme, the idea and music :D it was very innovative game for platformers.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51am

Interesting take on the theme, and quite innovative. Loved the Wilhelm scream, hahaha. It was really... weird, though. Basically everything kingpirux said: Hard to see what you're doing with the screen broken. I could not for the life of me get the last hammer. And the teleports combined with the sonic blasts are really, really frustrating, especially when you're blind.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Really nice idea, a shame it's somewhat buggy. :/ For anyone else who had screen size problems, I changed the screen size to 1280x720 and it worked fine.

asobitech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:19am

Fun little jumper.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Interesting idea but hard to play. It looked like there was part of the UI that was designed to tell me what colors I had toggled on and off, but it wasn't responding (which made things a bit confusing).

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Evil music!)))
Music waves is gonna kill me ;)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:48am

It's really hard to figure out what's going on in this game.. I couldn't really figure out how to do any of the button things (pushing 1, 2 and 3 didn't do anything, and clicking on the buttons and bars didn't do anything either).

Dexyne says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Some ideas interesting and the theme was respected but a bit hard to play when the screen is broken.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Interesting idea, but it was undermined by the execution in both design and implementation. The biggest is the broken screen making the game impossible to play. A shatter or crack sprite over the screen could have left enough visible to make it playable without rendering that quadrant unusable.

Toggling colors and sound didn't have enough feedback. While the UI updating would have been nice, I suggest you take it a logical step further and actually remove those color channels from the sprites on the screen. That way if you turn off Blue, everything on screen would be a shade of Red, Green or Yellow. Turn off Red and Blue and you have a monochrome green. Turn off all colors and you have a gray scale. Turn off sound, and no music plays, only a quiet wail of the ghost. This would reenforce that you are manipulating the TV. There also should be a drawback to removing all the color, such as color based puzzles or items that can only be solved if that color is on and those enemies are present.

Like I said, neat idea, but needs a lot of work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]