Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lights Out

by Forge - Jam Entry

UPDATE 10/12/14 - Fixed a bug which sometimes caused the player's movement controls to "stick".

-----------
Story
-----------
You are a sole christmas tree standing against the hordes of the cold winter's eve. With bulb launcher in hand, its up to you to light up the night!

-----------
Controls
-----------
Arrow Keys: Movement
Left Mouse: Shoot
Mouse: Aim shot

-----------
Project Achievements
-----------

> Done in 24 hours. We didn't realise LD was actually on till halfway through the weekend, so this a quick mashup to attempt to submit a completed game. I'm happy with the result!
> Shaders. Never ever used shaders before, but at least got some rough idea of them into the game.
> First shmup. Had to be done though I suppose :P

-----------
Credits
-----------

4 Man team!
Longshorts: Coding & Sound Effects
Bliss: Sprite and map art
Skips: Splash Screen and Game Over Screen
Mr. Biggles: Music

-----------
Tools
-----------
Artwork: Gimp and Photoshop
Code : Java with LibGDX on Eclipse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#241Audio(Jam)3.34
#392Humor(Jam)2.79
#590Graphics(Jam)3.09
#650Overall(Jam)3.04
#668Mood(Jam)2.82
#668Fun(Jam)2.84
#807Theme(Jam)3.16
#945Innovation(Jam)2.14

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

Pretty fun shoot em up :) Is your character a christmas tree ? The hand drawn house and trees look pretty cool in the game.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

Excellent artwork. I liked the lighting effect, reminded me of watching old films. If you could extend the cut off or smooth it out a bit It would be really nice. Nice job!

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

The lighting gives a very dark atmosphere to Christmas, which is nice. I like the graphics in the title sequences especially.
It can get a bit monotonous, but the decreasing field of vision and chests do shake things up a bit.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

Fun stuff! The light-fading and spawn-rate make for a nice difficulty ramp. If you're planning on any post-jam changes, maybe add an enemy that moves in a different pattern (sine wave, or with a little randomness).

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53am

It was fun. I like music and light effect. But uncorrect sprites sorting makes me laugh :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57am

Funny idea, it's fun to play, although probably best suited for shorter play sessions. The light effect is very good way to make the game gradually more difficult. Also liked the shooting sound!

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Fun game. Keeps with the theme very well and gives a great sense of danger with the use of lighting.

Crumpet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Firstly, the bullets don't feel all that powerful, I'd suggest making them bigger, maybe making them move faster, generally give them more "omph", cause having bullets that feel powerful does a lot for any SHMUP.
Enemies move perhaps a little too predictably, although I don't really have any better suggestions.
More spawn points could be good too.
Oh, and a good rule in any shooting game is "give the player a reason to not shoot, or make them be shooting all the time". Having to click for each shot isn't great. Maybe make it so that there are more light powerups, and shooting visibly decreases the amount of light? Try playing around with that maybe :D
A solid effort, like any game there is room for improvement. Be proud of your work, but don't stop there either!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Inconvenient control. WASD+mouse would be better.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Impressive first use of shaders.
Love the atmosphere.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Entertaining little game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05pm

This is a really solid entry. The shooting felt pretty good and I really liked the slowly shrinking lighting effect. The controls sometimes stopped responding and I'm not sure why. Nice work though!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Not bad. The shooting sound was a little too harsh for me, but otherwise nice job.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Fun game :3 loved the audio. Perhaps those muscular snowman could be stronger than penguins (take more hits to kill)? :p

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

arrows controls was not good for me at all. thats why I didnt replay the game, but it was moody nice music and dark atmo.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Good little shmup game. Tad to easy (I could just stand at one place and shoot at three different places) liked the music and the shrinking light.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The Graphics are awesome!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Both of the link are down

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44am

Both Fixed

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Wow! The graphics is so great! I like it so much. The gameplay not much innovative.
Great work!

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

A pretty decent shooter and I like the graphics and music.

zeal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:44pm

An armed Christmas tree againts evil snowmen. I dig that idea. Nice gameplay, too.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Didn't read the description and didn't know you can shoot. Was just running away from snowmans and sticks... This and the music was already great. Got a benny hill kind of vibe XD
Then first with the shooting I found it a bit dull because it's not much of a challenge to hit the enemies... Only until I noticed that the view area got smaller. This is a cool idea and it got a lot trickier. The collision detection is sometimes a bit unfair, but other than that nice work.

Scam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Dark twisted Christmas shooter. Nice music and artwork, but gameplay-wise this was a little dull and unpolished.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Hmm, not bad, if a tad bit easy. Plays well but needs little something more like more different enemies or movement patterns to keep it interesting.

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Thank you very much for the reviews, as we said we did only have 24 hours to work on this game so we know that it is lacking polish and longevity apologies.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice game, music is lovely, graphics are nice and the game runs nice. It is just a bit too easy I think.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Nice artwork, I too would have liked to have been able to use WASD instead of the arrow keys but that is only a minor thing. Well done.

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Both links are broken for me :(

nov1kk says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:37pm

web link isn't working!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

Yup, none of the links are working =/

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Neither link works for me, either.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]