Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Channel Surfing

by MentalBlockGaming - Jam Entry

Jump from TV to TV in an electronics store to proceed to the exit. Hit the TVs when they stop displaying the screen to advance through the levels. Things get interesting when the TVs get jumbled up. Can you finish all 10 levels? Bonus star on every stage!

CONTROLS
Spin the dial at the top right to adjust volume.
Click the sidebar to select level.
WASD to move.
Numpad 1-9 to clear the static off TV screens. (NOTE: Make sure numlock is on.)

Enjoy!

Made by Mental Block Gaming.
Music: Moon Journey Begin – FlamingFedora
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/582593

Warning: Photosensitive epilepsy warning for flickering static on broken TVs.

JANUARY UPDATE: Check out the LD round-up on the blog for a timelapse development video and an updated version of the game!
http://mentalblockgaming.com/blog/indie-games/channel-surfing-game-jam-entry-for-ludum-dare-31/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Theme(Jam)4.30
#56Innovation(Jam)3.96
#245Overall(Jam)3.52
#290Fun(Jam)3.33
#353Mood(Jam)3.25
#478Humor(Jam)2.63
#825Graphics(Jam)2.54
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

This is one of the more innovative games here I'll give it that. It has a couple of platforming bugs, unless it was intentional for you to hand off of the edges. I don't know how important it is for you to beat the static out though considering it doesn't do anything except block the view.

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Interesting concept, and fun gameplay.
I loved the graphics, and the difficulty curve was perfect!

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Really great! I loved the concept, 5/5 for theme, your volume slider nob was really cool too. I wanted the numpad thing to be more obvious, i couldn't figure it out at first. The concept of the TV's was really awesome though.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

Great concept. The difficulty ramps up a bit fast. Nice one!

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

Good spin on the theme. Not sure what is the use of the volume dial. Good work !

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

Really solid game! I really dig the tv tuner knob as volume control. The little dude's anmiation seemed pretty smooth. The hit detection was a bit odd at times but I like this game a lot

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

Neat idea! Jumping to platforms that were right above each other got a little hard. Nice mind bender for remembering where each screen edge goes to. :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really cool idea with mixing up the tiles. The controls could have been a little tighter but the music was really nice. Good work!

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

Interesting mechanics! I love how the screens work. I like the art style, even though it is limited.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

Completed the game getting 9 out of 10 stars. I'm guessing the last was on one of the two blank screens but I couldn't find it.

The game was fun, and the audio choice worked well with the game. It was pretty cool with the multiple, misplaced and rotated screen. I'm guessing there are many games like this, but you were the first I saw so you get the innovation vote.

The controls were a bit slippery though. It was very easy to miss a platform even when its not rotated or misplaced, and levels 5 and 8 were definitely the most frustrating because of this. Also the wall hanging mechanic was a bit wonky, and often when I tried to jump from a hanging position it would immediately get me stuck in the same location. It's probably possible to fix this by triggering the wall hang logic only when the player is falling, but that's making quite a few assumptions on your code.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

I liked that it was not too easy. Better to make it too hard than too easy. I did notice that you could stand on the side of platforms.

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

A very clever use of theme! I do wish there were some visual clues to help figure out which screens are connected where, without having to rely on trial-and-error. Maybe gradients or something? Anyway, great job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:12am

good innovation. love the game. overall, a job well done!

Crumpet says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I love the interpretation of the theme, that's your best category :D
So there does seem to be a way to hang onto walls with your hitbox (use your head), then jump again. Dunno how intentional it is but I used it to cheese level 4.
The static element feels somewhat disjointed from the rest of the game, like a little chore you have to do in order to be allowed to play the game. Aside from maybe an evil mobile game where you need microtransactions to get rid of the static, I don't really see a way the game could need that element :s
The music is well chosen, the sound is neither lacking nor overwhelming, so points there.
The game may be hard, but because you show clearly how many levels there are, I find this is mostly OK. I say mostly because there is a bit (having to make blind jumps in level 5) which does feel unfair (even if you can think it over, it doesn't feel great having to do a blind jump so many times in a row)
Great game, strong contestant, and like any game has a few ways you can make it even better! Well done!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:35pm

pretty cool. I like that the continuity of the screens breaks up after the first level, so there's a bit more thought required to progress. However, I did *not* care for the static that eventually blocked out screens after awhile. If it was manually scripted in such a way that it imposed a consistent time limit, it would have been fine. Unfortunately, since it seems to affect screens randomly, you can find yourself failing a level in virtually no time at all, even though you haven't done anything really wrong yet.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:21am

You can clear the screens by pressing your numpad keys. :) Although others have had issues with the static too so I'll accept your criticism.

Draknek says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:08pm

This laptop doesn't have numpad keys! That didn't seem to disadvantage me too much though, since you can just reset.

Also would like arrows to work as well as WASD.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]