Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Infinifall

by Bloxri - Jam Entry

infinifall is out jam entry by vel0h and Bloxri. The original concept was an infinite platformer, however during Ludum Dare we were not able to achieve the random generation required to make the game infinite, so instead we opted for a fixed map and a hidden time attack element to add some replayibility. Following Ludum Dare, we plan to add this random generation element, which will shift the goal from fastest completion to furthest distance traveled. As a note, to compensate for the lack of random generation, we made the map very hard. While possible, ideally you won't ever reach the bottom, so you won't know that it doesn't end ;)



The programming was mostly vel0h, while the level design and art was mostly myself (Bloxri).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#484Fun(Jam)3.06
#528Humor(Jam)2.55
#573Graphics(Jam)3.12
#637Mood(Jam)2.86
#771Overall(Jam)2.88
#899Innovation(Jam)2.29
#987Theme(Jam)2.34

Comments

Neil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Quiet difficult actually. Died a few times not really knowing what killed me or why it happened so quickly. The spikes are kinda hard to see at times. Liked the music and lighting.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

Nice style but clumsy gameplay. Obstacles are hard to see. Also collision are to tight, player have to stand perfectly on a hole to fall through it, it shouldnt be so hard.
(circle collider for the player would solve this problem)

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great concept; I felt the hit detection was kinda spotty. Enjoyed it, would love to see more!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nice game, but I didn't go very far. Sometimes I lost a heart not knowing why.

Acuity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41am

I liked the music! The guy's "I got hit" sound effect is kinda funny. I also couldn't figure out why the cracked rocks were hurting me...?

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

Cool game, but the spotty collisions really took away from the gameplay

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24am

Learned a lot of mechanics through trial and error. Opened a chest for a much-needed heart only to have it spawn inside a wall. Neat atmosphere, and the character was smoothly animated.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:28am

I like the simple graphics. The gameplay is a little traditional, maybe you can try adding some more features to it. And it seems the character got hurt too easy...

pkenney says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:33am

Cool game, harder than it seems at first! The subtly encroaching darkness was a great touch.

I wished I could have seen the lower depths but I was too bad at the game to get all the way down. Difficulty is great but some checkpoints would have motivated me to keep going to the end, but as I got further it got harder plus I had to repeat the entire game every time so I eventually gave up. Dang that spring! But what really got me was those white icy blocks.

Cool entry. Would have been even sweeter replay value with the random generation you talked about!

ijwu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:38am

The hard to see spikes really took away from being able to play the game comfortably. I had to bring my face up to the screen in order to even play properly. Some more warning about certain obstacles and objects would definitely improve the experience. What is that cracked stone? It hurt me at one point but didn't at another. Stuff like that could use more clarification.

Awesome job, overall!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Hardcooooooore, but I like that :D. Great job ^^

Junuxx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09am

Pretty tricky! Couldn't get past the first pool of water. Nice visual style. I agree with the others that the spikes were a little hard to see.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

That's a hard game :) traps are a bit hard to see sometimes !

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Really liked the sand trap!

Wilson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Interesting game, but very tough as you say.

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:27pm

when using surfaces in game maker, always check if the surface exists. The surface is saved in the graphicsmemory and is easily overwritten by ctrl alt delete. Fun game though :D

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Cool game. Quite hard. I have not made it through the water yet...

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:47pm

A cool idea with the ever descending platforming. However, the spikes and obstacles were really hard to see, so I had trouble telling what kiled me.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:17am

I agree with others that checkpoints would be great motivation to keep going, as it's quite frustrating dying on spikes hidden in water. Overall I like what I see in your entry and I hope you get the chance to make a polished version!

Florent says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:01am

Nice game, but I had to terminate the process to be able to close the game...

Eggplant says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Good and fun, but it was a bit generic. Good job though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]