Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CHROMAクロマ2

by PIXEL ピザロール JOLT - Jam Entry

WARNING
///// flashing visuals /////

INFORMATION
throw away your books, dissolve into the void
give in to the fractal and let the vibrations soothe your indignation

CONCEPT
hold jump longer for higher jump
press roll while on ground to roll
you don't need to be moving to activate roll
roll is cancelled when hitting block, using leaf, or letting go of roll
press jump while rolling to snake (roll jump)
press jump while in the air to leaf
faster fall is higher leaf
was that so hard

DETAIL
created in seventy-two hours for ludum dare thirty-one

CREDIT
christian calhoun // art, music, programming, sfx
david vandal // lead programmer, sfx, funk

TOOL
code // as3, flashdevelop, flashpunk
music // renoise, audacity, guitar feedback, no-input mixing
sfx // nintendo dmg, lsdj, audacity, sfxr
art // paint.net, irfanview, wordpad

CONTROL
z/up/space // jump / leaf
x/shift // roll
left/right // move
r // reset
m // mute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#152Fun(Jam)3.56
#178Mood(Jam)3.53
#180Theme(Jam)3.92
#199Audio(Jam)3.42
#358Innovation(Jam)3.26
#377Graphics(Jam)3.54
#1934Coolness32%

Comments

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

beautiful!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

I liked it a lot ^_^ the dash jump was very satisfying

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

I'm not big on vaporwave stuff, so I rated this harsher than other people will. But I think this was a very clever way to get around the one screen rule.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

IT'S NOT VAPORWAVE IT'S CYBER-FUSION

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25am

Love the sound and the gameplay. It's challenging but thanks to the checkpoints not unfair. I think, I will return to play this game from time to time.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:47am

Wow, this is a great entry! I loved how you used the checkpoint/level end system to create more levels in the same space, and the ambience was great. I really struggled trying to get to that second checkpoint, though. I'm not sure what it was, but I died something like 45 times trying to make the jump from the first pedestal to the next. Did I need to dash and THEN jump? Not sure... but in any case, it's a brilliantly done little platformer.

Thank you for the game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:32am

YEAH YOU NEED TO DASH AND THEN JUMP / IT'S OKAY THOUGH I FORGIVE YOU

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33am

THANKS EVERYONE

psychonull says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Good job. I got stuck before getting to the second checkpoint as well, just needed to know the dash-jump trick to continue having fun.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18pm

My eyes hurt. A+ Good job.

Lafolie says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:19pm

It's nice to see something like this. The audio was great, really enjoyed it. The difficulty ramps up a bit too fast though. Looking forward to getting to the last level.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I finished it! OH MY GOD MY EYES!! After 358 deaths I picked the leaf? And actually thought my eyes were really failing me. It took me 510 deaths to finish. Nice!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18am

Beautiful game! Awesome and unique concept ... I love it

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18am

Dash jump should be explained more, and got pretty frustrating with the scarcity of checkpoints.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:41am

I love it! The main character reminds me a lot of Juni from Knytt Stories.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nice! It was challenging and fun!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17pm

that is a very funky looking game, nice

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:44pm

that was fun to play :) instant respawns make games like this so much more enjoyable ;)

FoxFiesta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I like your style. Everything is nice in this game, well done.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Damn too hard,but still nice game and nice concept, loved how you did the "levels" :D. For me this game is too exigent on the jump "combo" (if I press an arrow the long jump stop in mid air ...) and that hitbox AAAaarg!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Chroma Kuroma 2, huh? Great work guys, played this game for a while! 4 stars.
What's the player supposed to be?

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Super! There are always some games in Ludum Dare that I play through to the end even though they are frustrating me, and this was one: I finished with 502s and 375 deaths. I thought the level/game design was the shining quality; the game was really good at showing you that things were possible without too much hand-holding; the checkpoints were in generous enough, and there was some opportunity to "do it the wrong way", which is my favorite. I thought that the controls could be improved: The "dash" key should probably just be a "dash jump" key, since that's what I did 99% of the time, and some of my deaths were just from not successfully timing those two buttons together. Jumping off edges could have used a little help. Otherwise the controls were extremely tight. Visuals and sound were cool, but I really found myself squinting at the board on my screen and I can only imagine on a high-res monitor what it would be like. I also was pretty lost until I saw that 'x' was a key I could use; if this had been introduced in the game like LEAF I think it would have been helpful. I never quite figured out what the rules were for LEAF, like, why do I jump higher when I've been falling longer? But it was still a very satisfying game. Nice work.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:45pm

IT IS A SEQUEL TO A GAME WE MADE IN GAME MAKER A FEW YEARS AGO. THE PLAYER IS A MYTHICAL CREATURE WHO BOUNCES AROUND. THANKS FOR PLAYING.

Zi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Awesome game. Cool and trippy audio/visuals, tight controls, and neat concept. However, the difficulty increased way too quickly for me personally. Congrats!

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:12pm

great plateformer with strange music and background

randomdragoon says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Awesome game, had lots of fun. Finally beat it after 500+ deaths

Sometimes the goal is hard to see, and it kind of breaks up the flow of the game scanning the level to figure out where to go. Because of the "one-screeness" of the game, the level design sometimes doesn't make it obvious where I'm supposed to look first, because some level elements are just leftovers from previous levels.

Tip for people playing: Sometimes there is another path...

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:49pm

THERE IS USUALLY ONE INTENDED PATH, AND ONE HARDER BUT DOABLE PATH. AND ABOUT THE SCANNING THE LEVEL THING, I FOUND IT BEST TO TURN THE BRIGHTNESS UP ON THE MONITOR.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I gave up after dying 30 times at the same position.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:59am

It's very hard... 205 death and I have only made it to the stage of your first screenshot... The double jump is a challenge to really master.
Overall the game is really good. Things look a bit simple at first, but soon you will find that the graphical effect is amazing! Also, I'm amazed that you can make and test out so many levels in just 72 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]