Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dog Pile

by StackAttack - Jam Entry

WASD to move your dog.
W to enter doors.
Left Click to pick up slides
Right Click to rotate slides
Scroll Wheel or Q & E to zoom in and out

Drag slides onto the screen to build your path through the level.
Collect the bones and get to the end of every level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#10Innovation(Jam)4.35
#87Theme(Jam)4.11
#152Fun(Jam)3.56
#178Overall(Jam)3.65
#327Mood(Jam)3.29
#330Audio(Jam)3.15
#482Graphics(Jam)3.32
#550Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

Probably the most clever use of the theme I've seen so far.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24am

This is an amazing puzzle game, especially considering the time constraints. Very impressive!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:26am

Very nice gameplay mechanic and great use of the theme!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Haven't played anything like this before. The difficulty curve was a bit steep though. But maybe that's just the impact of a 72h jam on me ;)

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nice work! A well polished game. I liked how sometimes I could solve puzzles by placing the overlays in a different order. I felt the color scheme could use some spicing up, but otherwise I found it to be very well done!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29am

Very innovative take on the theme, and the gameplay was very fun with the idea you took on - would have liked a bit more information as to how everything was layered, but at the same time - still fun.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41am

Amazing use of the theme, it leads to some interesting puzzles for sure. I kept having the urge to move slides that weren't the top-most slide. (maybe because I feel like you'd be able to do that if these were slides in real-life) If you wanted to let the player do that, you could try letting the player move a lower slide if they click on a solid object on that slide (as long as there's only empty space on slides in front of it)

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49am

very innovative concept! very clean game mechanics! nice!

flatgub says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really interesting idea!
Quite fun and the puzzles had a nice learning curve.
I did manage to fall out of the world a couple of times, but other than that well done!

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Awesome!

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Indeed, your game's theme is similar to our teams approach, just a slightly other perspective; nice! I've played a few levels and I really like how you guys did the slides, very nicely done! :)

And yes, our game's main mechanic (overlapping levels) was a real pain in the ass. :P

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Nice gameplay and theme. I would love to see more difficult puzzles and wrong turns you could take that are challenging. Overally I have never seen anything like it and I quite enjoyed the puzzles.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

Cool use of the theme, good puzzles.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05am

very Clever, but the rotate didn't work very well for me

AsixJin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05am

Best use of the theme I have seen thus far! I didn't give you a fun rating cause this type of game is my cup of tea and that would make me a butt, but high scores everywhere else! amazing!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:20am

Cool idea, but rotate wasn't working for me :(

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:22am

Brilliant use of the theme, really creative game

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Great game idea! Took me a minute to figure out how it works, but its a cool concept that I think worked very well. Got stuck eventually though, because rotate wasn't working for me :(. Well done, nice idea!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Ey, that's a good idea and execution. It's fresh to see a game that fits perfectly with the theme proposed on that Ludum finally. Good job and good luck!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Great game. Congratulations

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very innovative, It fit very well with the theme. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Fantastic interpretation of the theme, solid entry although I did find the music got repetitive quick

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Very nice idea. everything works very well together.

One advice though.
when I move some of the puzzle outside of the screen its unaccesible. yes, there is restart button but if there was a method that if some puzzle is outside the screen it brings it back it would look more pro.

Plus, its hard sometimes to move the exact puzzle I want to move because its under other puzzle. it would be easier if each puzzle had its handle outside of frame in its own place so the handles dont interfere with each other. Then I could move any puzzle whenever I want.
More advanced method would be to check if there are some parts in given puzzle under the cursor and move the puzzle that actually has something under mouse cursor. It could be done by detecting colliders from cursor position.

Anyway, great game. To bad, only 5 levels, but figuring out levels for logic games it tough.

// there is also a bug. When I go up the latter that has no way up (there is a ceiling) I can move left/right and until I keep arrow pressed I keep going in on air.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:19am

Unique gameplay, and that dog's really cute. Great game! :D

mohammad says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:59am

Why is my dog a rat? I know Chihuahuas are small but it looks like a literal rat. Other than that fine game no real problems.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Really fun idea! The difficulty varied quite much, it would have been nice to have a less steep learning curve. Some of the mechanics was a bit confusing also, that you sometimes fell through the floor unexpectedly, but maybe that was just bugs so to speak. Great work!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

So lovely graphics. But I can't achieve this damn controls. :(

panda says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Awesome idea, great game! And with music, even! I love this concept and want to see more of it! I had one big problem: I wasn't able to rotate the slides. Perhaps it's because I'm using a trackpad; it would be helpful to include a keyboard equivalent. Thank you for having a keyboard option for zoom in&out!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]