Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TITLE

by Metamorphosis Games - Jam Entry

The title of a new game has just fallen and it is your job to fix it. Travel through each letter fighting enemies and jumping across pits.

Controls:
Enter - "Start the game"
A - Left
D - Right
W - Jump
E - Use Teleporter/ Talk
Space - Zoom
Right Mouse Button - Shoot
Escape - Close Game

Note: This game was made in 72 hours under the theme "Entire Game on One Screen" for Ludum Dare 31. The game is *very* rough, but is functional to at least some degree and was a successful first Ludum Dare in the sense that a great deal was learned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Humor(Jam)2.56
#635Innovation(Jam)2.83
#638Audio(Jam)2.14
#902Theme(Jam)2.91
#921Graphics(Jam)2.17
#924Mood(Jam)2.26
#958Fun(Jam)2.26
#986Overall(Jam)2.39
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Asaratha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I find the premise of the game funny, but had a very VERY hard time playing the game due to the gravity, maybe it was intentional but it was more frustrating than it should have been. Also, sometimes you can shoot yourself if running and jumping, or if standing next to a wall.

There was an enemy that killed another enemy, not sure if intentional but thought you should know.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Cool, like the idea. Getting hang of the controls and movement was a little frustrating but its good. I like! :)

Madball says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I've seen some games those are very polished but have little gameplay. This game is little polished but has a lot of gameplay! Despite the lack of graphics, I enjoyed playing this game a lot. The idea is interesting and original. Level e is sparse, seems like you found less time for it than for the other levels, which are excellently designed.
This game is so fun I forgive all your bugs. You probably know them by yourself.

DA_KID says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It looks to me like you put way too much time into making levels and not enough time polishing. Movement is incredibly slippery, the gun feels like a peashooter, the enemies' shots are very difficult to avoid. Polish.

ajopart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice idea !

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:59pm

You needed better controls, other than that nice level design :)

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:53am

(the idea look like my first proto for this jam! ahah!
Too bad I can't do mirror download)

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Good work...

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20am

creative Idea..

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:24am

So I played for a minute by straining my eyes, thinking I was just playing as a pixel. Then I remembered that Space was Zoom, and things were much better. My bad.

Interesting idea, though the character movement made it very difficult

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Good job!

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Even though I died a lot from the gravity, the theme interpretation is pretty good.

galman says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice idea and a lot of gameplay!
I find the controls a bit too hard

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice start

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]