Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Thief Before Dark

by GSG - Jam Entry

You play a Thief.

You have to pick up keys before the sun sets.

There are guards that are looking out for you, avoid them.

Collect the keys, ride the elevators, escape in your chopper, before dark.

###CONTROLS###
A = left
D = right
Space = jump

Hit the start button to start playing!

This is our first Ludum Dare, any feedback is great!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#711Theme(Jam)3.30
#787Graphics(Jam)2.64
#809Mood(Jam)2.59
#869Innovation(Jam)2.39
#904Overall(Jam)2.68
#924Fun(Jam)2.36
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

I like the idea and the art style, but the game felt overly difficult.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Really cool game. Graphics are really nice. and the gameplay is fun. But the jumping motion could be better

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Pretty good start for your first LD, congratulations! I think the game was overall a little dark (I found it hard to see my guy sometimes). The ledge/wall climbing was a pretty neat feature.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I cant see anything, I dont know why Im collecting stuff, guys can see me through walls?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I like the gameplay and the graphics, but the game felt overly difficult and I can't pass through the fist ennemies. Can be improved, but it's an interesting contribution. THX ++

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26pm

The controls felt a bit clunky. I really like the idea behind the game. The background and helicopter were cool.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I was very confused about the game because for the first few minutes I could not find myself, I understand the game is supposed to be dark but the character could use some changes. Overall a hard game though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30pm

good first entry! like the wall climbing ability.

maad9 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48am

Finished! ^^ Cool game, but controls is a little bit inaccurate.

Greg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Art is nice, had a hard time spotting the character though.
The move speed is too slow in imo, which makes it really hard to progress.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

This game is really fun! Nice and simple platformer with stealth elements never fail. =)

Love the game overall. It's really fun! =D

madcapacity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I couldn't find the player character for the first bit, I was pretty confused.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Speed is frustratingly slow; and the jump feels weird especially as you stay in the air longer when you hold down the jump key versus releasing it.

Would have liked to see some audio, but basing it just on what's there, it's a good foundation for a stealth based platformer. Perhaps rather than losing on site, AI could chase you unless they lose you in the dark?

rallebauz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:49pm

I can't find my character, looks cool though.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Graphics are pretty cool, but the jump feeling coule benefit from polishing. It makes the game a bit hard, but I enjoyed it anyway :)
Pretty nice entry :)

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:04am

It took me a few seconds to find my player on the screen. Maybe it should be a brighter color or something to stand out. Love the simple rectangle characters. It's fun to play but it needs audio to bring it to life. Great jam game and suits the theme very well. Good job!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I found gameplay difficult to figure out, because at first I couldn't see my character (very dark) and wasn't sure if they game was working right. I like the backdrop though. Would have been nice to hear some sound!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Nice start

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:46am

Fun idea, but it's way too hard to see the player.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:48am

Nice stealth platformer

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Really good effort for your first Ludum Dare! The game could do with more feedback e.g. when do I know when I will be seen/hidden. A solid foundation!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

looks nice, to hard for me though :(.

-C

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]