Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Flashlight

by Team Flashlight - Jam Entry

Flashlight is a game about catching ghosts in a haunted house. The player uses a flashlight to catch the ghosts, because ghosts are afraid of light. The player needs to use the flashlight smartly, for that ghosts coming in from different sides of the house, and their behaviors vary. Besides, if a beam of light catches more than one ghost, the player gets a score bonus. There is also a BOSS in the end! Try to get a higher score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Mood(Jam)3.49
#206Fun(Jam)3.45
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#442Theme(Jam)3.61
#467Innovation(Jam)3.09
#472Graphics(Jam)3.33
#505Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48am

Just FYI, currently audio is only enabled for judging.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49am

Good game, not very innovating but still a good work

dkdwrek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

I really liked the concept and smooth game play. You should update your categories so I can vote for more than just music!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

If you create all those sounds, you did a good job

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

Really nice game! I like the compo system. I have a great fun with it! :) Good graphics too!
Why you select only "audio" for votes?

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

I thought the game itself would've been more of a focus rather than audio. The game itself is really fun. =)

Audio is pretty good too though...

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fun, but audio is the only thing I can rate right now.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:03am

Lolz Made a mistake doing the opt-in thing. Now it should be normal.

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

Graphics are consistent. Game works fine except for movement feels a little slow. It was pretty hard to avoid the ghosts at some points.
It would be good for a casual/mobile game.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

good job, great atmosphere!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Smooth and clean, loved the mood. Started like fun, but gets scary very quickly.

bakudas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

i liked! cool multiplier system.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Cool.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

When I first started the game I thought it was going to be a cute little game because of the theme music. Then the game started and the tone got all dark before the ghosts killed me and dragged my corpse out of the house...

Orange says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

GREAT game! I had a lot of fun with this one!

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Dang! That death ghost. Gots me good.

Nice environmental design. Spooky, hissy.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

Really nice! Very creepy

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:21am

Love this game! Support ETCers!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice. Gameplay could be quicker.

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Loved it. The game is incredibly addictive and I loved the lighting.

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice game. Check my game too: President's bodyguard simulator.

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I liked the 'multi-hit' bonus mechanic, that seemed to encourage you to use the movement properly. Also an extra star for humour for the ghost with the hat.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Good atmospherics! I love the concept and the mechanic of bonus points is awesome. And the ghosts are so adorable!

rmc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Hey guys, nice game!

Had a lot o fun with it!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12pm

My score: 103700 :)

Very competently made: good use of theme, nice art, nice sound, and the combo mechanic really makes you think about placement. The only thing that bothered me was the controls, since unlike most mouse-based arena shooters the camera doesn't follow you. So in certain circumstances it's 'easier' to aim up than down for instance. Not sure how this could be solved without a better control over the cursor than the web player can provide. Also: I recommend hiding the cursor for more awesome :)

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

cool mechanic, very spooky atmosphere, excellent!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really cool. It will be nice to have to option to rotate with arrows instead of the mouse.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Wasn't expecting that reaper! Very good game!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Smooth gameplay and nice atmosphere. The combo mechanic is great, adds an interesting risk/reward element to the game.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50am

Very good! Combo mechanic indeed is great as oh_andrej said!
Mood is fantastic also!

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06am

Oh Gosh! I need a powerful flashlight to kill them all. Do you have one? :)
The weapon concept is innovative I like it but not much. I still need a flashlight bazooka!

xerohuang says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19am

Interesting! I got 215100.

Dreii says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49am

Hey thanks for the review, made me feel better about my game :)

Yours was great too, I like the sound design and the atmosphere. This is small but I really liked that when you died the new boy came in to pick up the flashlight from the last boy. which added a whole new layer of story to the game with only one mechanic!

bobola66 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01pm

fun and spooky, i like it :)

Linkigi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13pm

The game has a very good balance of risk/reward with the combos. I think the movement speed is good how it is, as anything faster would allow the player to walk around the quick ghosts removing the risk/reward. It is satisfying to rack up points and I liked the spooky atmosphere. Got me replaying a few times trying to beat my highscore.

edve98 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Great mood, great audio (but I guess it's not yours), great hit combo mechanic, and of course, great game :P

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Cool idea! I'm a fan of wave-based gameplay. The spread of the flashlight creates some interesting strategy opportunities...I tried to back up into a corner so I could get the widest spread but didn't pay enough attention to the door right next to me.

Just a personal opinion, but I think these top-down move and look sort of games work best on twin stick gamepads. I'd really love to try this again with Xbox 360 controller support. :D

sebasRez says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Damn that is pretty hard. I like the luigi mansion style of gameplay and the music set the mood well. You can definitely do more with it.

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24am

I really like this, one of the better games I've rated so far. Simple mechanic that works well

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice game :D
cool and spooky ^^
i liked how smooth it felt, good job

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:06am

Simple, smooth game, I liked the ambience and the fact that it isn't one ghostie person, but a line starting from where the last one failed. Other then that gameplay was quite slow, simply hovering the mouse over several enemies at once isn't very fun for long.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:08am

Cool game! The controls feel good! I love the different ghosts!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really cool! Love the different ghost and the combo. Its interesting the concept of the light and move yourself for hitting more ghost at once. Really fun!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Fun to play ;)

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Oh my god! THe fact that in every new game you're picking flashlight from prevouse one is so cool! It looks nice and complete, with attention to details.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Good gameplay, even if it's classical. I liked it !

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Quite fun! But I keep dying after getting backed into a corner :|

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Fun and simple. I like it! The different ghosts was a neat touch.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very well done. I liked the strategy and the smooth gameplay. The art also felt right for this type of game.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:50am

Nice game, looks very polished :-)

Well done!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:25am

Very fun, enjoyed quite a bit!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:53am

Good game which is very innovating. I like the smooth movement of the torch light. I have a problem with the ghosts who appear and could catch me near of the door. Well done. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:47pm

jeje, good one ... simple, funny and also good art, rated high on fun :D

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:27pm

SImple but nice game. Love the different ghosts!!! Great work!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice use of lights..

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Great job, that was really good! Nice graphics and pretty good atmosphere with the sounds! It got challenging pretty quickly as I was always trying to get multiple ghosts in the flashlight beam. Also, it was a bit creepy how the ghosts carried me out the windows. Overall really great!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

This is a really cool twist on a shoot em up. The ability to align multiple ghosts in the beam of light is super satisfying. I wish the character moved a little faster, and it's a bummer to have to start all over from the beginning when you take 1 hit, since it starts out a bit slowly. I really enjoyed playing this, thank you!

reveriejake says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:09pm

84550 ;) Nice game :D.. Got a bit confused in the rush!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:05pm

cool game, cute graphics, well done

Carduus says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Gaha same cocnept as ours!

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Nice entry, just a little hard :)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I quite enjoyed this. It's all about going for multiple ghosts.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:36am

Heya! I've beaten your challenge and scored 465250 points :) http://youtu.be/9tXmIO6RKjk
Using the flashlight as a weapon was a pretty interesting mechanic, and the multi-hit added a nice risk and reward layer to it. I really like the audio! Good job!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:38am

quite fun to play.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:49am

Such a simple concept but so rewarding(multi-hit, Sweet!) and fun to play. Nice variations in the ghosts also. Never knew what to expect when I heard a new noise :) Clever to put a score in there ;) very addictive.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:22am

Great game. Overall, it's a good entry. I'll try to reach the boss now.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Neat game idea, well done. :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really cool entry. Took a few tries to finally get the reaper down.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:23am

T_T I keep getting caught.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:54am

Excellent game! The graphics felt really smooth, the atmosphere was good, the controls were solid, the gameplay was interesting, and it all fit together into a nicely cohesive and challenging experience. It took me 3 tries to beat - one death from standing too close to spawn and another getting cornered during the final boss fight. The final boss seemed hard the first time but the second fight I just circled-strafed it to death.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]