Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Of Carrots And Blood

by Trite Games - Jam Entry

Of Carrots and Blood is a funny shooter about a bunny defending a giant carrot from hungry mutant children in the woods.

Sounds good? Then please give it a try and tell us, what you think! :)

This Jam was pretty challenging. In the beginning we, like many of you, didn't like the theme very much, but we pulled through and with a lot of work and determination we finished our game. It's not the most original or fancy interpretation...but it's something...juicyyyyyy! ^^

CONTROLS:
-----------------------------------

move: W, A, S, D
aim: mouse
shoot: left mouse button

UPDATE:
-----------------------------------
You can download the newest version here: http://tritegames.itch.io/ocab

UPDATE:
-----------------------------------

*As some of you noticed and pointed out, there is a little problem with the collision sizes, as you can stand still where you start and can't get killed by the children. Until we will fix this, maybe you could just pretend as if you needed to move around to survive...And yes, it's too easy for skilled shooterinos ;)

*We will definitely work on a post jam version soon and we might even bring the game to mobile. So any suggested improvement would be much appreciated.

*Thanks for all the positive and critical feedback so far! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#141Humor(Jam)3.43
#182Graphics(Jam)3.95
#230Audio(Jam)3.37
#248Fun(Jam)3.39
#398Mood(Jam)3.18
#425Overall(Jam)3.29
#521Theme(Jam)3.54
#875Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Love the graphics! The game is pretty cool. Maybe you could add some collisions on teh big carrot to force the player to move all over the place. Great work!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Thanks! could you explain, what you mean by "add some collisions"?! I guess you found a weak spot. Feedback much appreciated :)

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40am

Cute game, this is the kind of game that would have done well on my old arcade site guildhallonline.com when it was active!

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:43am

Pretty fun game. Music was a little grating in my opinion but other than that, it was fun.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:48am

Art style is awesome! These children...so ugly...I want to shoot them so much!))) Great job!

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:49am

Cool game accidentally stress tested it, when i couldn't move and had no problems with lots of mutants on the screen. However i wasn't killed and neither was my carrot.

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

Well made game. Voted 4 for theme, graphics, audio and humour.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51am

Everyone knows killing (mutant) children is the best way to spend your past time and this game offers a ton of that so it's fantastic

klave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54am

The fact that when a carrot enters in contact with the enemies triggers a camera movement is quite enjoyable.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00am

Nice graphics!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15am

A fun, silly game, not much missing from this one.

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28am

Great:
> Juiciness
> Animation
> Sounds
> Juiciness!
> The zombies moving through the forest seems to add a level of anticipation because you can't hit them there, which is cool, though if the carrots hit the forest itself and not went through it would have made more sense.

But:
> The carrot attack was way too loud and repetitive. Got irritating fast.
> You're throwing a million carrots to save one carrot :) It's big, sure, but doesn't make sense :p
> The first zombie arrow indicator seems superfluous, especially when there's already the zombie head in the forest one.
> Too easy? Too easy.
> Lack of variety in attacks and situations.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Thank you all (@Tuism, @Tokw, @Mincemeat) for the positive and critical feedback! We will keep it in mind when working on a post jam version. We are glad to hear, that the game, despite some minor issues, is actually as fun to play as we hoped to achieve :)

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

It was suprisingly fun.
Need to make the carrot grow and grow and the level progresses. Otherwise it was getting a bit monotonous. Was hoping it gets more hectic as time went on but it didnt.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Very solid, great job with the art & sound especially. I got to about 56 kills and died, I'd be interested to see different enemies or something in a post release version!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Pretty fun and manic. Maybe some pickups or more things to compel players to move around the arena? It seemed like I could stand still and do o.k. but I may have quit early before difficulty scale caught up with me. Nice work!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Basic gameplay but properly implemented, well done! : )

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54pm

That's a lot of fun, but indeed there's no incentive to move. I reached 240 kills before I decided to move (only to die a little after). A nice way to make the player move might be to make so the enemies randomly drop some bonuses the player needs to pick up, or something along those lines maybe ?

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Ahah very funny and really cool pixel art, need a bit more polished to become a very great game congratz !

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very good graphics and audio. It's a bit too easy, though, as I ended up quitting because I was starting to get bored. So mybe up the challenge a bit? Also nice and tight controls and feedback from the game, it feels very "juicy" when you fire carrots and defeats enemies.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great artwork, the mechanic was fun but I found the audio of throwing the carrot to got a little annoying once you were firing a lot of them. It drowned out the awesome music.

Felt good to play - nice job!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Well, we ha a pretty similar idea... kind of ;)
If you want to play another carrot defender, check out our game :)

Well done, mate!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Simple and fun. Nice audio and neat graphics!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Simple & solid game play, I really dug the sound track and the art style!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Not bad, pretty solid entry. There is some things that could be improved, like the gameplay could be more varied, and the throwing sound is too loud and gets very irritating fast. Also the game doesn't seem to get any harder.

oinariman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I like the music and the strange mood. Enemy indicators are cool.

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16pm

very cool animations!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Really an awesome end-less game! I never got bored, even at my death of 116 kills and 47 as my score!
The music is awesome, the art and fun was top notch!
XD
Play my game too, would ya? :3
YOU DESERVE 5 STARS FOR ALL!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Cool gameplay, amazing graphics. Sounds needs some adjustments on volume. Controls also need some work. Overall, a good game.

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

love the graphic but after few second i say too myself what i am doing .....

Anyway good entrie

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Pretty simple but I really like the art and animations. The game's a bit easy, and I think the enemys should be able to uproot the carrot a bit quicker. Well done though.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Well, that was definitely not what I expected from an arena shooter. Quite stylish in its own way, and I like the chiptunes.

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I laughed a bit out of suprisea when my first carrot hit an enemy, did not expect it to slice his head off. haha. Nice game! Love the little pause and shake when the carrot hit. Really nice detail! Well done

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I like this, it's a good bit of fun, but I think the attack sound effect should be a little quieter, and maybe the carrot attacks should collide with the larger carrot, just to force the player to move around a bit more. I love the art style! And the music is cool too.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:07am

Game is a lot of fun! Really wild art style, with a whole bunch of gore added to a cartoony world. Love the juxtaposition.

It's not clear to me how long the enemies will crowd around the carrot until you "lose". But either way, it's exciting. Great job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:17am

Awesome graphics! I like the concept ^^

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:35am

Awesome game ! It feels really good to play and the graphics are neat ! I love the music too. ;)

dunin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04am

nice start. need more features and a better rythm (more different moments: quiet, rush...).

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:11am

Wasn't a whole lot to the game in terms of content, but was polished.

InHelli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:21am

well done ) graphics is awesome)
i found some good ideas here for me)

waiting for your honest opinions)

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:25am

Cool! The audio levels ought to be tweaked, though. The sound effects were pretty loud for me.

Larzan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:47am

Beautiful splatterfest, great gfx, good sound, fun to play, just missing some power ups / level

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Gore! I like it, thank you. The dead animation is very nice.

rzuf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:34pm

It's so nice and juicy and... gory! :D Sadly, it gets old too quickly. I hope you add more variety and depth to this, game deserve's it!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice animations and action feedbacks.

Maybe more progression would be fine! :)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:04pm

5 for fun :)

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:42pm

frenetic fun gameplay and pretty graphics

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:51am

I got to 62!

I like the little slowdown mechanic when the enemies explode, nice touch. Also consider turning the music down a few notches, it's pretty loud at the moment.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19am

Great little game. Animations are good, audio is nice & the game concept is great fun.

I think ammo or cooldowns would have been a good idea. Finally stopped after 420 kills when I realised there wasn't a win condition haha :)

codeapparat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:46am

The graphics and music are great!
Some constructive criticism:
The difficulty ramps up WAY too slowly. You can't keep the excitement up when you do the same thing for 5+ minutes without much challenge. Also the ability to move seems pointless, because it doesn't give you any benefit over just standing in the middle. Collectible power-ups would have been a nice way to make it more interesting and make movement useful. Also the carrot throwing sound is way too loud for a sound that's playing pretty much constantly on loop.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:07am

Really liked the graphics, fun to play. But would be better if add more character animation

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Nice, gameplay would feel repetitive after a while but overall its a neat little game :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Wow, we played so many different games and got so much appreciation and constructive criticism from all of you. We really try to play all of the games of you guys, who comment here. It might have happened, that we skipped one or two and we are very sorry, if that's the case for your game. If you haven't received a comment from us, maybe you can remind us again. Thanks :)

Taldius says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Really cool game, I love the graphics and the animation.
It's like killing a lot of Krillin xD
Good job! :D

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:14pm

psychedelic

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Solid entry, well done!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:43pm

I laughed out loud at the animations when I lost. The game concept is a little simple, so elaborating on that with powerups or some extra flavor items would be cool.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Haha thanks @snickersnacks I actually had to laugh so hard myself, when I finished the dying animation ^^

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very nice and funny characters!It's fun to play too!Great work Trite Games!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Great graphics, nice audio. Very funny animations. Would have wanted something more besides killing carrot-stealers.

Others suggest collisions (like small carrot hitting bigger carrot and so on): that actually could be interesting improvement for this game.

Well done entry.

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:20pm

nice game, the sound effect on the shootingthingy made it so that I couldnt hear the music. Still liked it alot though ;)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:25pm

hey man, send me your twitter :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:58pm

@Kuupu I shared your game with our Twitter account @TriteGames. I linked you as @kuupudev in it, couldn't find the other member accounts of your game.

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Your website is down ?
Will be back later, looks beauty and fun

Trite Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:41am

@ponk Sorry for that. Unfortunately I can't check right now, what the problem is. Hope you can wait another day :)

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:55am

Damned, the music is so awesome ! The game is also really fun. Great entry. Congrats!

Johnro says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:43am

Fun game! Very hectic.

Alter says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:29am

awesome game!

camlang says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:58am

Nice art, i really love it. Simple and fun little game, nice done!

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Ah ah fun! I killed my mouse button!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:42pm

If shots couldn't pass throught the big carrot you would be making the player move around.

I'd probably put the camera a bit further and get off with the indicators. Make the heads only appear throught the forest some times, like flickering. That way you'd build a lot of tension and you'd have to move around towards where you think you've seen something coming for your carrot.

Really fun game, the graphics, the screenshake, and the continous clicking made it fun to play.

Lost of possibilities for it, good job!

Saf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Fun game! gets overwhelming quick though

ponk says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Bbeaaauuttyyy and fuuUUunn :) ...!

InToGames says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

Great presentation -- everything feels very satisfying, although like some other people I would've liked a bit more challenge. Lovely stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]